We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for Princess Half Marathon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stayed for Princess Half Marathon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very clean and tidy property. We stayed on the French Quarter side - which is much smaller than the other side of the property. Food options were typical disney - and they had live entertainment at the bar in the evenings. Rooms were a little tight but we did have connecting room for our party of 4 lady runners.

The resort was an oasis from the chaos off property- we waited an hour for a bus to take us to the expo then it took over 40 minutes to get there. Half Marathon morning, we caught the bus at 345 and arrived at epcot at 5am. Kind of a bummer since we were less than 2 miles away and could have walked it in less than 30 minutes...if there were sidewalks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,542
    1,133
    295
    103
    53
See reviews for
1850
616
41
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Loved this place!!! Very nice pool/spa area. Very friendly staff. Food options in the cafeteria were great! The hotel room was spacious, we had 4 girls in a room and didn't feel like it was to tight. When we picked up the buses for the 5k and half marathon in the front. Very convenient and easy to locate. Also very close to Epcot so the bus ride was short. =)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My mom and I stayed at the French Quarter for 3 nights, Feb. 18-21. This was our second time staying at this hotel, our first time being in Feb. 2007. We very much enjoyed this hotel during our previous trip so immediately chose this hotel again. The rooms have been refurbished since our last stay and now have very comfortable queen size beds. While the bathroom (including tub/shower and toilet only) is very small, the area outside the bathroom was spacious with 2 sinks. We never had an issue getting ready at the same time in the morning. I think the best part about this hotel is the smaller size compared to the other Disney hotels. Although we were there during school vacation week, the hotel never felt crowded and the lines for the park buses were never too long. I have stayed at All Star Music, Pop Century and Caribbean Beach in the past. The size of this hotel really makes the stay enjoyable. Each of the other hotels I have stayed at are very large in comparison to French Quarter. After long days at the parks it was nice to have a short walk to our room. We also took the boat over to Downtown Disney. It was a very convenient and relaxing ride. We ate lunch at the hotel on our first day and breakfast each day after. There was not too much variety for lunch but breakfast was always very good, I highly recommend the Mickey waffle! Overall, this hotel is an excellent choice in the “moderate” level and I plan on staying here again on any return trips to Disney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Port Orleans French Quarters for the 2013 Princess Half Marathon and Mickey and Minnie Royal Family 5k. Hotel was great as were the meals and transportation. Disney does it up right especially pleased as to the organization. As long as you are patient and realize the logistics of moving masses of people you will be fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about this resort! It's a moderate resort located near Downtown Disney. It's small as Disney resorts go and we loved that about it. No matter where you stay on the resort you don't have a far walk to the food court or the bus stop. There is only one bus stop so you don't have to waste your time stopping at a ton of other stops. Sometimes we shared buses with Riverside but that didn't happen all that often. The resort is simply beautiful with flowers and trees everywhere. It's set up to look like you are really in the French Quarter with cobblestone streets and everything. There are horse and carriage rides and a Mardi Gras parade that throws out beads and fake gold coins. The kidos love it! At night they set up a huge movie screen on the lawn and show Disney movies. The resort sits along a river and you can ride a boat to Downtown Disney. The food court is Mardi Gras themed with different props hanging from the ceiling. Some of them have actually been featured in the real Mardi Gras parade. The food selection is ok but somewhat limited. The beignets are amazingly delicious! The rooms are average. Pretty much the same as all the other moderate resorts. The pool is pretty but themed more for small children. The slide is small and runs down the tongue of a seaserpent with king Tritan riding it. The French Quarter is a sister resort to Riverside which is a short walk away down a pretty path that runs along the river. Riverside is a much larger resort. Riversides food court is much larger than the FQ's and has a lot more options. As long as you are staying at the FQ or Riverside you can use the amenities of both resorts. We walked over to Riverside several times to eat in their food court. We also used the pool at Riverside which is more set up for older kids and adults. The slide there is a lot longer and more fun. The water is also warmer in the Riverside pool. We plan on staying at the FQ in the future and I'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This resort was in tip top shape in every way. Convenient to ride bus or water taxi to Downtown Disney. Food was great and pool & hot tub outstanding. Great for adults with or without kids. We were there with our adult daughter for the 1/2 marthon this past weekend. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It truely is a Magic Place to be. They had movies at night on the lawn and campfire for marshmello cooking. Great!!!!

Room Tip: Building #3 was great, close to everything....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my second trip to the French Quarter and once it again it did not let me down. Like all Disney resorts, it is marginally overpriced compared to other off-site properties in the LBV or Orlando areas. The thing that separates the French Quarter from the other Disney resorts is what keeps me coming back.

The French Quarter is tremendously smaller that the other themed resorts. Trust me, after walking all day through the mega parks it is really nice to step off the single transportation stop and be within a few steps of your room, pool, food court, shop, lounge, etc. The scale of the hotel is perfect for those of us not wanting to be overwhelmed by multiple tools, restaurants, and other venues.

The hotel is tastefully themed and is really quite beautiful if you ignore the few garish character statues. Of course, that is true for the real New Orleans as well. The kids (at least my kids anyway), loved being close to the arcade (decent one) as well as the single super-sized pool (a very cool slide by the way), the play ground, and the food court restaurant.

Only Disney can continue to get away with exterior entrance rooms, but the resort design theming helps blunt this very outdated hotel design. The rooms had been recently remodeled and were pretty and clean. Somehow we were not bothered by noise in the rooms, even with the exterior access and a majority of rooms being filled. Thee interior facing rooms provide tranquility from avoiding looking out at the parking lot when you leave.

the Disney landscapers do a marvelous job with the tremendous amount of greens and flower beds. It is very beautifully matched with the hardscapes and trees and New Orleans' styled interior "streets" walking paths. The real NOLA could never attain this tranquil setting.

the food court is a hit with the kids but got old for us adults. The do serve a few interesting items (like the beignets and other baked goods) but it all runs together fairly soon. The lounge is really missing out on the theming and Disney could really beef up that area more. The live music is good.

This is a limited service property. The staff though is very friendly and accommodating. The bell services and airline luggage check are a God send.

Do not forget to take advantage of the water taxi service to Downtown Disney. It is a huge benefit for this property to not have to bus to that place.

Room Tip: Choose the interior views if you can. Take the boat to Downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#28 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter is inspired by the romance and pageantry of the historic French Quarter in New Orleans, and where every day is a celebration. Step through a wrought-iron portal into an alluring world of delicious Cajun food, jazz music and dazzling parades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.