We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being in New Orleans.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 329 hotels in Orlando
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Like being in New Orleans.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful landscapes and city streets, ala the French Quarter, and a lovely pool. The cafeteria was good, especially the Beignets. Ferry services to downtown disney, and bus services to all the parks. They do a campfire every night with smores and all the guests are welcome, it is a wonderful hotel.
Get your beads when you arrive..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,453
    1,047
    284
    102
    53
See reviews for
1736
579
39
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is the first Disney resort we have stayed at personally but my husband and I thought it was fantastic. We stayed in September, which is off season, so there was no trouble requesting a corner room away from the bustle of the food court and pool. The grounds are immaculate and the whole resort is so quiet compared to other places we visited. Each time we needed to talk to the front desk or concierge, we were helped immediately (again, this could have been because it was off season and slow). We used the Sassagoula River boat as a great, and different, way to travel to Downtown Disney, even in the pouring rain! The food in the food court was great, especially the beignets. I highly recommend this resort to families look for some peace and quiet while visiting Disney World!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We chose Port Orleans Resort and were not disappointed. A tasteful resort beside the river which provided transports to other attractions. Disney attention to customer care without rival.

Room was always spotless and cleaned immediately we went for breakfast.

Busses always on hand to take one to the multi Disney Worlds.

Food? Well, plenty of it - but no cuisine - buy hey, we are in the USA for a good time!

If one wants a day away from the attractions there is an open air swimming pool and even in January it was in use!

Highly recommend a trip to Nasa.

Room Tip: One near to the dining area as the resort is well spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If your looking to save a little money (It is Disney) then the selection of a moderate resort is the way to go. The French Quarter is a small Disney resort in a great location. There are three floors per building so if you have a problem with stairs then ask to be on the bottom floor. The size of the rooms are the same as all the other resorts. There is one main building for food located right across from the check in desk and is easy walking distance from every facility within the resort. Of course you can get to every Disney park via the bus service but you also have the option to take a relaxing boat ride from the rear of the resort to Downtown Disney (That was alot of fun). Check the seasonal rates on the Disney web site and book in advance but not to far in advance as they release the discounted seasonal rates about 4 months ahead of time or so. On a moderate resort the normal nightly rate is about $189 but with the discount you can generally get it for about $129-159 a night not a bad deal considering its a Disney resort, the main advantage of staying onsite is the early entry to the parks or the late nights for resort guests only and the bus service (Some people tend to complain about the service but it really is a very well run service). September used to be a great time to visit but it has become a very busy time of year suddenly with Disney adding events. Over all a moderate resort is great as your generally not in the rooms too long and it is Disney.

Room Tip: The building near the front check in is the best option for those that want quick access to the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Over the past 5 years we have stayed at many of the resorts at WDW, including several of the deluxe resorts, and this was our first stay at the French quarter. For the money (with the free dining plan included) this is my favorite resort of the bunch. After staying here it would be very difficult to shell out the extra money for a deluxe resort. The rooms are very nice (although on the small side), the grounds and theme are beautiful, and it is very nice being at a smaller resort where the the food court and bus access are only a short walk away. Speaking of the bus service, it is by far the best of all of the WDW resorts. We never waited more than a few minutes for a bus, and the trip to the Magic Kingdow is non-stop. The kids loved the pool, and unlike most pools at WDW was kept quite warm for February. The hot tub was great. If you are looking to stay at a Disney property to take advantage of the free dining plan, the French Quarter cannot be beat.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We travelled here as a group in early November 2012. 3 adults and 2 children aged 9. We asked for a standard room with garden view as was part of our package with the dining option. It all sounded lovely when we made the reservation and everyone was excited for our trip to come.
We arrived early and checked into our rooms. We found out that they had upgraded us to the River View rooms. Side by side. Excellent!!
So right from the start we noticed some things that made us cringe. First the only really cheerful Disney person was the gentleman at the front door opening the door and handing doubloons to the children. All the other workers were busy socializing among each other and we had to wait in line for a group of older ladies to finish their conversation. I personally lucked out by getting an older gentleman who was a little quicker than the women. Only he had to wait for the other 3 to finish their chatting (while checking my friends in I might add) to ask which room that they had checked my friends into.
The grounds were lovely and well kept and the gift shop from first glance appeared to be well equipped for our needs.
We went to our room to wait for our luggage to be delivered. When we spoke with the bell desk we were informed that it could be up to 4 hours for us to receive our bags. As 1 of us had an appointment to go pick up a car rental at 4pm the others decided to head to MK for a few hours to do some rides. This was at noon. At 3:45 our bags showed up. There was barely enough time to get to the car rental now thanks to the delay.
Room pluses: close to pool, food court area, gift shops, front entrance, was clean.
Room minuses: extremely dark, noisy (can hear neighbors above and below you using the washroom) and the boat that goes by every 15 minutes to Downtown Disney blows its horn right outside these rooms. Very loud. Goes on from 7am to 11pm.
Waiting for buses was another nightmare here. The waits are long and it is the first of five stops because they also go to the Riverside resort before heading to the parks. If you have dinner reservations anywhere other than here make sure you leave at least an hour and a half beforehand.
My friends room had several housekeeping and maintenance issues that took several phone calls to rectify.
The food court area was horrible. The tables every time we went in were dirty and the center drink area was disgustingly dirty. I didn't bother using it at all after seeing it and chose to go to Walmart outside of Disney to pick up bottles of water and Diet Coke to put into my mug. There was no way I would trust those areas to be sanitary. The food was horrible and way over priced. I'm very glad that we had meal plans so that it didn't actually come out of our spending cash. It would not have been worth it.
The pool was cold (not heated in November?) so the only choice was the hot tub to relax our tired feet after wandering through the parks all day. There are strictly enforced pool hours that just seems unreasonable. I've stayed at other Disney properties that did not have any pool hours. Only playground hours and waterslide hours. Even those went until midnight.
We approached a supervisor about all of our complaints and we were very disappointed in not only her attitude but her choice of resolution (none). Not looking for compensation in any way however a little respect is definitely in order.
We had to check out in a hurry because we had a car rental and had to make 2 separate trips. We made sure to let the front desk and housekeeping know that if there were any items forgotten in either of the rooms to contact us at our next hotel.
The evening of our second night at the next hotel we noticed we were missing some momentos from another trip that we had brought along for the Pirates of the Caribbean ride. Also a piece of jewelry that could not be replaced. Several calls to the hotel that evening ended up getting us no where. We ended up having to forgo our plans for the morning of our departure to fight with housekeeping and lost and found from the resort. The items could not be found. Are you kidding me? How could you MISS 2 lime green squid hats with giant eyeballs on them????? Several phone calls (on my dime I might add) and my son is without his momentos. Thank goodness we have pictures of it because it might never have existed at all.
Very very very disappointed with this hotel and their responses. Never doing this resort ever again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room pick the garden rooms in the center. Stay away from the river view and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a wonderful trip! Room was clean and beds were very comfortable. Only problem we had was the showerhead was a little low for my 6'2" fiancee and the water pressure wasn't that great. We were in building 5, 3rd floor room 5307. My daughter loved that we were just a trip down the stairs to the pool! And we were just a quick walk down the "hall" and down the other stairs and we were in the food court. Be advised there is only one set of elevators in each building and some of the rooms are a bit of a walk, but nothing unmanagable for us. If you have mobility issues you might want to request a room closer to the elevators. It was very quiet and relaxing to come back to the hotel after all the crazyness of the parks. Mousekeeping did a wonderful job and our room was very clean. Having stayed in everything from a value resort to a deluxe, I have to say this is my new favorite resort!

Room Tip: If you are in building 5 and you have a car, park in the area marked for building 4. You will actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Port Orleans
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
#44 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter is inspired by the romance and pageantry of the historic French Quarter in New Orleans, and where every day is a celebration. Step through a wrought-iron portal into an alluring world of delicious Cajun food, jazz music and dazzling parades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.