We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Everything you want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Every year we stay at the Port Orleans, French Quarter. We have always booked with Travel City because it automaticaaly puts you in the French Quarter. The Riverside we found was too large. This year we had a River view room which was lovely. Just around the corner they roaster marshmellows for the kids and set up a hugh screen for the kids to watch a popular film every night. The restauant is great because it is help yourself and not waitress which we like because my husband moans about always having to tip which is a USA thing. I love the breakfast I always have Oatmeal (porridge) and biscuits which is very similar to our scones but very salty and I love them. The location is great for all the Disney parks, you have transport just outside the hotel which is free to all disney locations. After walking all day in the parks it's great to go to the Jacuzzi which is just near the swimming pool. You get chatting to lots of different people about the day you have had and they have experienced. You can also walk by the river up to the Riverside hotel if you wanted to where they have carriage rides and other activities going on. Also there is a boat which will take you to Downtown Disney as well as a free bus. Very good value for money and after having tried three other ways of staying in Disney this has been my favourite and I wouldm't now try anywhere else.

Room Tip: As close to the swimming pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,862
    1,356
    372
    114
    54
See reviews for
2,200
768
47
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My family of four did the crazy Disney vacation from Dec. 24th thru Jan 2, 2013. The crowds were so thick, but we managed to have a super magical time and enjoyed the fabulous perks of the Disney deluxe dining package which I highly recommend for everyone. We had dinner in Cinderellas Castle (book it 180 days ahead of time) and excellent meals in the Animal Kingdom, downtown Disney, Disney Boardwalk and in the parks as well. MGM has a great restaurant called The Brown Derby which I can't say enough about! The characters were out in full force and everyone at our hotel was perfect! Our youngest daughter was sick for a full day and a half, but that didn't stop the magic as we just had to slow it down for a bit. Everyone at the hotel was very kind and did their best to help us with extra towel and linens during her illness. NOBODY does it like DISNEY!!!! This was a five star trip and although it was super crowded and it was a little colder than I expected, it was really wonderful.

Room Tip: If you have small children try and request a room that is close to the cafeteria. We had to walk qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here Dec. 30th-Jan. 7th. Magical express was wonderful. We checked in online a few days before therefore check in at the resort was easy and fast. All our room request were honored and the staff was very friendly. The pool area was large and the water was warm while we were there. It did help that we had 75-80 degree weather most of the days of our stay. Our only complaint about the pool was during the afternoons they had a staff member play pool games with the kids so it was a bit loud especially while we were laying out hoping for a quieter atmosphere. We also liked that the resort was small and therefore fairly quiet at night. For the most part the bus transportation to the theme parks and back was better than expected. Food court was adequate. Overall we had a wonderful experience. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor corner room in building 4. Very quiet, next to bus stop and close to food court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Love love! Won't stay anywhere else, this was our first time at this resort and it by FAR exceeded our expectations. After long days in the parks I always looked forward to coming back, it was so relaxing and peaceful! The scenery makes you feel like you're in a "whole new world." Staff is amazing everyone greeted me and took care of anything and everything I needed.....and may I mention CLEAN CLEAN AND CLEAN! I had to leave extra money for the cleaning staff because the room was in tip top shape when we came back everyday!!! Oh and the ARCADE, the kids loved coming back because of the cool,clean arcade...the ONLY flaw is they need an update in laundry room, but it did the job so I shouldn't even be complaining! Did I mention we LOVE LOVE this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were assigned a room which was very close to lobby, food court and bus stops. We were on Disney dining plan and we often bought from the food court and get free drinks with the souvenir cups. Food from the food court was average and they use the same menu everyday. The pool was not crowded and plenty of available washing machines and dryers to use. Buses to parks were not crowded but you need to wait for 15-20 mins. We liked the boat ride to Downtown Disney too. One night, we dined at Boatwright's dining hall at the Riverside and took a nice boat ride back to the French Quarter.

The room I stayed was recently refurbished and it has 2 queen beds. The air-conditioner was a bit noisy and it blew directly over my face while I was sleeping. Free Wi-Fi was available in the rooms but the signal was too weak.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I loved the hotel. Very charming and beautiful landscaping. Rooms were great and very clean. Very helpful staff. it truly was a magically stay. We had the room by the river the best views ever. There was a long walkway through the resort that connected to the bigger resort Riverside. We would go on these amazing walks every morning. Also, the convenience of the shuttle service to the parks is so worth it. This resort also has the option of taking a boat ride on the river to downtown disney. Very nice! This resort is perfect, not to big that you can walk to the main lobby pool area, and shuttle service without getting lost. I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Think about Disney Dining plan. I found it very useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the WDW Marathon weekend. The property is centrally located and the service meets and, in most cases, exceeds the Disney standard. Check in was smooth and quick, and our room was spacious and wonderfully bappointed. We really appreciated the tranquility of the site. The Disney transportation system here was on time. Be sure to take the boat when going to and from Downtown Disney, it is far quicker than a bus. If you are looking for a quieter setting, this is the perfect choice!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#41 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.