We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab disney adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 328 hotels in Orlando
cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fab disney adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very nice hotel very clean great location October 12 14night vacation
If its available to you then use meal paln we had basic but ample meals snacks for 14 days for our party of 3
You can use quick service plan throught the Disney resort
River boats are a must when travelling downtown disnry from french or riverside resorts
Food at Riverside we found better than at the French quarters but you can use your quick service plan in dozens of places so try asa many as possible
Downtown Disney has some great eating places on your plan
Tipa
MAKE SURE YOU PICK UP PARK OPENING TIMES
GET IN EARLY OR VISIT LATE TO AVOID OVERCROWDING
USE FREE DISNEY TRANSPORTATION fun way to get around
IF ANY SNACKS LEFT ON DINING PLAN buy cookie souvenirs
MAKE SURE YOU HAVE SOME CHILL DAYS as can be a very tiring holiday
FINALLY FAST PASSES ARE A MUST ON CERTAIN ATTRACTIONS

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,577
    1,165
    306
    101
    52
See reviews for
1903
627
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks over Xmas & New Year in French Quarter, lovely hotel! Grounds are beautiful and so relaxing after busy days in the parks. Room was well serviced and spacious for 2 adults and 1 child. All staff were very helpful, although if you are using dining plan and want to vary off the set menu for breakfast different staff had different ideas about what was included, not too much of a problem though. Small enough to be near everything you needed but felt very spacious and not crowded though it was full at this time of year. Food was the same as any other quick service places we used, ok for breakfast and lunch but wouldn't fancy it for dinner, we didn't use it as we had booked table service restaurants. Pool and hot tub were great, luckily we had a few nice days to use them, loads of lifeguards even in the evening. the whole place just felt safe, relaxing and welcoming. We stayed in building 2 which was ideal, quiet but close to restaurant (great to nip down for a cup of tea or coffee when you wake up), reception, pool, boat to downtown disney, shop, arcade (for son), all were 2 minutes walk, lovely little park with fountain in front of the block. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham nc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We found this to be the quiet after the storm of multitudes of people in the parks. Beautiful decor, friendly staff and well appointed rooms. Wait times for bus and boat were very short and overall we were very impressed. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Here's a quick review of our stay on December 10 - 15, 2012.

We were placed in room 1142, facing the garden, with two queen beds. My one request of a ground floor room was granted. One of the main things to love about French Quarter is the size. Even though our building was one of the farthest from the front, the resort itself is so compact that it was no problem at all.

The beds were a bit hard, but fairly standard for a hotel bed; we brought our own pillows. The bathroom vanity has a convenient shelf above the sink to place toiletries on, and the double sinks came in handy. I brought a night light and was glad I had, as it was a bit dark in the bathroom without one once the lights were off.

There is one table placed between the beds with a convenient drawer, and the dresser had plenty of space. The fridge was so cold that it was actually too cold for some of the meds we needed to store, so that’s something to check on if you’ve got temperature sensitive medications. It was heaven for water and other beverages though.

Coffee was good (use filtered water, the Florida water is nasty). The coffee maker is the kind that uses the small individual coffee pods.

AC worked just fine. It wasn't overly noisy and did a good job cooling the room.

Housekeeping was great. We had clean towels (tons of 'em!) and emptied trash every day. We also had soap and shampoo replaced daily, and towel animals were left on a few days.

The food court was more than adequate (the beignets are to die for), and we did not miss the lack of a table service restaurant.

Overall I think this is my favorite of the Disney Moderate Resorts, just because of the size and theming. I stayed at Coronado Springs last year, and I think I would choose French Quarter in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the French Quarter for Christmas. We loved the hotel, it felt cozy and comfortable and the bus and riverboat system to travel around Disney World was fantastic. I didn't feel like a large resort where you could get lost -- everything was close and accessible. Our family loved this resort. We liked the hotel and the service we received. Everyone was helpful and we found it was really easy to get around the hotel and over to the Riverside as well. We had to wait pretty long for the bus to Hollywood Studios one morning (about 40 minutes), but otherwise, we never waited long for a bus to Magic Kingdom or a river boat to Downtown Disney. Highly recommend this hotel!

Be sure to check out the nighttime movies -- we did this one night and wished we planned to do it another, and we didn't find out about the fire pit until our final night. I wish we'd known about that sooner too so we could have participated in that as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This resort is smaller than many other disney resorts which means that the cafetaria and the property is not overflowing with people. The room was comfortable.We had paid extra for a river view room which you could easily avoid since firstly you do not really spend much time in the room, secondaly the river is not really a river (some kind of the canal) and thirdly the view is from a shared balcony; so no need to waste money. The cafetaria food is very reasonably priced; food quality is good and there is adequate seating available to find a table easily.

The resort supplied us some coupons (worthless really) on our last evening at the resort which left me scratching my head about the purpose of the whole exercise.

We spent additional night at one of cheaper disney resorts and the hotel tranferred our bags to the other property without losing anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Love, love this hotel. I have stayed at the Pop Century and Polynesian and for the price and what you get, this has become my favorite. Love the fact that you can take the river boat the Riverside Hotel and to Downtown Disney and just the cruise alone is wonderful and relaxing. You don't have to walk a mile to get to the main part of the hotel and the only drawback that it has is that it doesn't have a restaurant but a quick service cafe. Now granted, you can get a lood of food at the cafe but sometimes you want a nice restaurant. BUT,, the good thing is, you hop on one of the ferries and ride to the neighboring hotel, the Riverside. Both hotels have wonderful late night entertainment and at the Riverside it is geared for both adults and kids. The French Quarter is great for people who don't have kids and seems to maintain more of an adult feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#41 Family Hotel in Orlando
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter is inspired by the romance and pageantry of the historic French Quarter in New Orleans, and where every day is a celebration. Step through a wrought-iron portal into an alluring world of delicious Cajun food, jazz music and dazzling parades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.