We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel overall was very nice. The grounds were beautiful with large oak trees and pretty flowerbeds. I especially liked the New Orleans style buildings!

We stayed in building 6 room 248 which was small, but adequate for 4 adults. There was a mini refrigerator and a coffee maker which was nice to have.

The toiletries were not replaced after the last guest and I would have liked the bathroom have been cleaner. We called housekeeping and they were very accommodating.

We didn't hear any outside noise while in our room and the beds were comfortable.

The lobby and gift shop were both nice and the staff was friendly. The Mardi Gras theme and christmas decorations were great!

We had beignets in the cafe which were quite tasty! We also had coffee a few times each day and it was always fresh & hot. It was very good!

I would definitely stay here again.

NOTE... If you are traveling with small kids request a ground floor room as the buildings are three stories with no elevators. Also, if you want to be close to the lobby, food court and gift shop request buildings 1- 4 it was a bit of a walk from the other buildings. We didn't mind the walk, but some might.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,652
    1,210
    314
    102
    52
See reviews for
1,977
651
44
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our family couldn't have asked for a better time. We loved it so much last year, we made it our second stay this year. We had an early flight and arrived at the resort around eleven am. and our online check in packet and room were ready. WOW. Let the magic begin. The holiday decorations were lovely as always. The staff was great as well. The reason we stay here during the winter is that everything within the resort is condensed and you don't spend more time walking alot after walking all day at the parks. Also you can utilize not only the bus line but the water taxi to downtown disney which is very nice. The pool is a hit with the kids and they have fun activities for them to participate in and win little prizes. This was a very nice and relaxing resort to stay at. And quiet I may add. The jazz themed christmas music playing was a nice touch to the holiday season. Our magical express information was left on our door prior to leaving and we were able to check our luggage and have our boarding passes for Southwest printed at the front desk. Very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our “new” home while we are at Disney World. We have always stayed at the Wilderness Lodge in the past and have loved it dearly. With $$$ being very tight we decided to give POFQ a try. What a great idea!
Pros:
Close location to all the Disney parks.
Wonderful boat ride to Downtown Disney
It is the smallest Resort at Disney. It gives you a very comfy feeling.
Customer service is outstanding
Gift shop has everything you need.
Rooms are very clean and beds are QUEEN size! That’s a major plus for us!
Pool has lifeguards on duty and they are wonderful!

Cons:
Sorry I can not think of any!
We travel to Disney at least once a year. I do lots of planning and research. This is by far my first choice. There are lots to do and see at the Port Orleans French Quarter. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have only stayed at the Value Resorts on Disney property before, but I can honestly say that I think POFQ is a hidden gem. It is small and well groomed, with very friendly staff and a great hot tub and pool with a slide. My boyfriend and I walked around one night and saw horse-drawn carraige rides, a fire with smores, and took a boatride to Downtown Disney.

The rooms were clean and comfortable (I actually got ill during my trip and spent quite a bit of time in them). Housekeeping was very good, and the buses seem to always stop at POFQ first if picking up any other resort guests, so there was always a seat. After taking a bus ride to Magic Kingdom one day and having to stop at at least 4 stops for Riverside, it made me very thankful I had chosen the much smaller resort!!

My only complaint is that my BF and I are both vegetarians, and had NO options besides pizza at our resort. This wouldn't have been an issue except I got sick and was stuck in the room for a day and a half with nothing to eat.

Room Tip: Building 4 is the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our first trip out to Disney World. Great staying in the resort area. Hotel was not bad, area was pretty nice, limited on what was there on the grounds. Dining area had 4 small different areas of food to choose from. To cold to swim while we were there. Short walk to a near by resort and a short boat ride to downtown Disney where there was plenty to do. Great staff, nice place.

Room Tip: We had a corner room so there was no issue of neighbors (just on one side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We debated whether to stay in Disney world and pay a bit extra or stay out. We are so glad we chose to stay at a Disney hotel the buses were so convenient and saved a lot on rental. Loved this hotel while not 5 star fancy it had a lot of character. The thing that made it stand out for us was the high quality of curtains and sound proofing. We are a family of 4 and we liked to stay out till the parks closed and sleep in. Some mornings we didn't wake till 9.30 which has never happened anywhere else due to noise,light etc. Pool was nice to come back to. The resort didn't seem crazy busy even though we were there in June. Food court had limited variety particularly for healthy options.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

When choosing an Hotel, I really like TA advice because I have an idea of what to expect from a hotel, five star reviews doesn´t mean luxury, just an idea of what would you expect to receive.

So in other visits I stayed at Windsor Hills, Vistana Resorts among others but this time we decided to stay by first time (my 12 visit to Orlando) in a Disney Hotel mainly because we I was traveling only with my wife and son.

Pros:
1) Its incredible how you breathe the Disney Atmosphere in their hotels no way to be compared with other accommodations.
2) Disney Transport: it's great, no worries for the luggage at the car or the parking at Disney hotels.
3) Extended hours: a great benefit
4) Disney Dinning Plan: great if it’s free, I ate in some restaurants that probably I never would go like T-Rex restaurant at Downtoown Disner ($30 for an hamburger!!!)
5) Hotel: unlike from a house you forget about making the bed or cleaning your house.
6) FQ Hotel was great, stayed in building 7 but was a short walk to any place in the hotel, also the boat to downtown it’s nice.

Cons
Not really bad things, maybe some things to have in mind when you make your decision
1) I really like that in a house when traveling with parents that don't live with me, we share time in a house rental, not the same in an hotel.
2) Probably if not taking the dinning plan for free you'll pay a lot more than staying in a house.
3) You have only a room, in a house you have a big kitchen, your private pool, living room.


Probably for a week I’ll choose again a Disney property room, for 2 weeks: one at Disney and the other in a house.

Hope helps!!!

Thanks

Room Tip: Any building in FQ seems to be a great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#31 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter is inspired by the romance and pageantry of the historic French Quarter in New Orleans, and where every day is a celebration. Step through a wrought-iron portal into an alluring world of delicious Cajun food, jazz music and dazzling parades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.