We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney World” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Clovis
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Disney World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our first trip out to Disney World. Great staying in the resort area. Hotel was not bad, area was pretty nice, limited on what was there on the grounds. Dining area had 4 small different areas of food to choose from. To cold to swim while we were there. Short walk to a near by resort and a short boat ride to downtown Disney where there was plenty to do. Great staff, nice place.

Room Tip: We had a corner room so there was no issue of neighbors (just on one side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,576
    1,163
    306
    101
    52
See reviews for
1900
627
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We debated whether to stay in Disney world and pay a bit extra or stay out. We are so glad we chose to stay at a Disney hotel the buses were so convenient and saved a lot on rental. Loved this hotel while not 5 star fancy it had a lot of character. The thing that made it stand out for us was the high quality of curtains and sound proofing. We are a family of 4 and we liked to stay out till the parks closed and sleep in. Some mornings we didn't wake till 9.30 which has never happened anywhere else due to noise,light etc. Pool was nice to come back to. The resort didn't seem crazy busy even though we were there in June. Food court had limited variety particularly for healthy options.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

When choosing an Hotel, I really like TA advice because I have an idea of what to expect from a hotel, five star reviews doesn´t mean luxury, just an idea of what would you expect to receive.

So in other visits I stayed at Windsor Hills, Vistana Resorts among others but this time we decided to stay by first time (my 12 visit to Orlando) in a Disney Hotel mainly because we I was traveling only with my wife and son.

Pros:
1) Its incredible how you breathe the Disney Atmosphere in their hotels no way to be compared with other accommodations.
2) Disney Transport: it's great, no worries for the luggage at the car or the parking at Disney hotels.
3) Extended hours: a great benefit
4) Disney Dinning Plan: great if it’s free, I ate in some restaurants that probably I never would go like T-Rex restaurant at Downtoown Disner ($30 for an hamburger!!!)
5) Hotel: unlike from a house you forget about making the bed or cleaning your house.
6) FQ Hotel was great, stayed in building 7 but was a short walk to any place in the hotel, also the boat to downtown it’s nice.

Cons
Not really bad things, maybe some things to have in mind when you make your decision
1) I really like that in a house when traveling with parents that don't live with me, we share time in a house rental, not the same in an hotel.
2) Probably if not taking the dinning plan for free you'll pay a lot more than staying in a house.
3) You have only a room, in a house you have a big kitchen, your private pool, living room.


Probably for a week I’ll choose again a Disney property room, for 2 weeks: one at Disney and the other in a house.

Hope helps!!!

Thanks

Room Tip: Any building in FQ seems to be a great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We chose this resort based on reviews at Trip Advisor and in other guide books and it was everything other reviewers said -- a smaller, convenient property with good amenities and more reasonable prices than the Disney luxury resorts.

We were part of a group of three families with six small children among us and found the grounds to be peaceful and not busy, the food court always seemed to have enough room to accommodate our group at adjacent tables, and the transportation to the parks by bus and by boat to Downtown Disney was quick and reliable.

Unfortunately the weather was too cold for swimming but the pool area looked amazing and I know the kids would have loved it. The playground was a nice touch although our kids loved exploring the streets and squares of the French Quarter and seeing the horse drawn carriages at night.

Our room in building 1 faced away from the water and was very peaceful and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I thought the beds could have been more comfortable. They also creaked and groaned a bit. Otherwise everything was great...I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the water where the boats pass by and off the carriage route. You pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

When I arrived, I requested a top floor room for a quieter setting. I was issued a 2nd floor room in building 7. The carpet and walls appeared quite dated and worn, even though the resort advertises as "newly remodeled." The walls had stains on them, as well as the carpeting. I returned to guest services and requested a different room. They were very polite and eager to accommodate. I was granted my third floor room in the same building at this time. Room still appeared "old" looking, but was very clean. Good housekeeping services throughout the trip. Front desk/guest help desk employees very attentive to my needs and often personally came up to me to to answer any questions when they saw me get in line, so I wouldn't have to wait with all the other guests checking in/out. The pool is open til 11 pm, but the slide closed by 7 every day due to a lack of lifeguard on duty, which disappointed my kids since we were at the parks all day and looked forward to playing in the pool in the evening. So, they only slid down the slide one day out of 7. Bus services from the hotel was great. Very short waits, and minimal extra stops on the way to the destination. Quick service restaurant on site was adequate. Unfortunate that leftover quick service meal credits could not be used to purchase snacks for the trip home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed at several different WDW resorts, from Value to Deluxe and Port Orlenas French Quarter is our favourite. The resort is small so not overly busy and crowded. The Mardi Gras and New Orleans themes are great. Pool has a waterslide perfedt for kids. The food court doesn't have as many choices as other Disney property resorts but the food is great. Since the resort is small and laid out well, nothing to is to far away. Requested a building next to the main building and it was granted. That also put us right by the main pool and laundry facilities. The boat to downtown Disney is a beautiful ride and the boats run often. The longest wait we had to any of the theme parks was 20 minutes. We would definitely stay at this resort again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I love this resort. It has lovely rooms, with all the little details you expect from Disney. It has a helpful and courteous staff. I loved the atmosphere, it was perfect for every age group. It was much quieter then other Disney resorts I've stayed at. So young and old will love it with its themed pool and large hot tub. It also had a boat service to downtown Disney. The bus service was quick and easy to use, and it seemed to be really close to the magic kingdom, Epcot and Hollywood studios. I am a big fan of this resort, if money was not an issue, I am pretty sure I would still choose this resort over many of the deluxe resorts at Disney. Great value and atmosphere!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#41 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter is inspired by the romance and pageantry of the historic French Quarter in New Orleans, and where every day is a celebration. Step through a wrought-iron portal into an alluring world of delicious Cajun food, jazz music and dazzling parades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.