We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laissez les bon temps rouler!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Laissez les bon temps rouler!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Port Orleans is the resort at Disney that you want to come to if you want more of an adult Disney experience. Although we were here during an off-season, it was relatively quiet. Of course like the rest of Disney everyone here is almost saccharine friendly and almost unnaturally happy. The setting of the French Quarter of Port Orleans is more of a motel feel. Don't take that to mean that it's cheap or gives you less of an experience. The room is big comfortable and clean. One nice feature I liked was that in addition to the air conditioner/heater there was also a controllable ceiling fan. In addition to two queen size beds, there are also dual sinks outside of the bathroom.
The grounds are very nice to walk around and even saw a little bunny hopping around happily. There's even a video game arcade that's open 24 hours. You can even get fried-to-order begniets at the Sassagula Floatworks food court.
Besides a swimming pool with slides there's also a Jacuzzi.
If you're going to stay at Disney this is not a bad way to do it as well as getting a flavor of New Orleans.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,652
    1,210
    314
    102
    52
See reviews for
1,977
651
44
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mar Del Plata, Argentina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Fast check-in. Friendly staff: he showed me in a map where the room was when I asked. We bought the 5 days park tickets right there, at online prices.
Epcot is the nearest park.

Room: Building 3. Small, but we spent all day at the Parks so no drama about it. Clean and plenty of towels and toiletries.
The door and windows face to outdoor corridor. We had no problems, but I don’t know how it could be in peak season, late at night (i.e. noises and loud talking)

Food: We use to have light breakfast so we bought wheat bread and some packed pastries at the shop in front of Sassagoula, the food court. At Sassagoula we filled the hotel mugs with coffee, cocoa, milk or tea and bought some orange juice or fruit salads and made our toasts: there are toastmakers, butter and honey there.
We had a light lunch at the parks and dinner at Downtown Disney. We don’t like to make reservations so we ate whenever we were hungry and wherever we found a nice place with a free table and a short wait time….

Transport: The boat to Downtown Disney and the shuttles to the parks had good timming

Magical Express: we took the Magical Express plenty of time ahead our flight departure, just in case. The trip was great with an excellent driver.

Room Tip: Building 3: close to lobby, shop, food court, bus stop and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Port Orleans French Quarter is the smallest moderate resort in Walt Disney World and this is a good thing. All the other moderate level resorts and very large and spread out, making it quite a trek from most rooms to the resort amenities such as the food court/restaurants, feature pools and bus stops. French Quarter is very compact and you aren't far from anything which building your room is located. We stayed in a river view room, overlooking the Sassagoula River, from which you can take a shuttle boat to Downtown Disney. These rooms are a premium over the regular rooms but in my opinion are worth the extra for the view of the water and the relative quiet as you are facing away from the pool area. We have stayed at all levels of resort at Disney World and this has become one of our favourites because of the size and it's relative central location.

Room Tip: Rooms are either 2 queen beds or one king so if it is just for a couple, request a king room, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the end of October for one week, taking our 8-year old son on his first trip to Disney. My wife and I hadn't been in over 27 years, so it was basically our first time as well. The convenience of staying on a Disney resort cannot be overstated.

The Disney Magical Express was very convenient and check-in was a breeze. We knew our luggage wouldn't arrive with us, so we packed swimsuits in our carry-ons. Once we arrived at our room (Block 3), we went to the pool for a quick dip and after about an hour at the pool we went back to our room to find that our luggage had arrived. Where our room was in Block 3 was closer to the parking lot, so we had no view to speak of but it was very quiet and since we were really only there to sleep, we were perfectly fine with it. The room itself was a good size, but more than 3 people in it would have been a pretty tight squeeze. The bathroom was a good size, and the double sinks were fantastic. The in-room safe is quite small, and you won't be able to fit much more than passports and few hand-held electronic devices in there. The safe isn't electronic, so you do have to carry the key with you. The on-room coffee is adequate, but not really good. In fact, unless you go to one of the specialty coffee shops at Disney, you can't find a good cup of coffee anywhere.

House keeping did an adequate job, but when I was looking for something my son dropped I saw a few food wrappers under both beds, which was a little off-putting. When we did need new soap, shampoo or conditioner, they were replaced. We got one towel animal while we were there, but I'm not going to Disney for towel animals.

Nothing was longer than a 3-5 minute walk from our room and the Disney bus service was great. We didn't really get to take advantage of the boat service as one night there was a dragon boat race that stopped the boats from running and the other night we wanted to use the boats the weather caused them to stop running. This was completely out of our control so it didn't bother us in the least. The one night we were able to take the boat back to POFQ from Downtown Disney was a bit faster and generally nicer than taking the bus.

Sassagoula Floatworks is good. The beignets were always fresh and made to order, and the gumbo was very tasty. Breakfasts were good, but we tended to just get bagels for most of our stay since all the portions were quite big for our other meals. Before going I read on here that the lady at the waffle station wasn't the most pleasant and I can confirm this. She was never downright rude, but my son was a little indecisive making his order one morning and saw her sigh and roll her eyes. Other times I ordered from her she just seemed to be going through the motions, rather than trying hard to please you. We really only ate breakfast there, aside from the one day we had the gumbo, so I can't vouch for the quality of any other meals.

We did eat at Boatwrights on the Riverside one night and the meal was quite good. The walk was less than 10 minutes and very pretty along the river pathway.

My son really enjoyed the pool and hot tub, but as others mentioned trying to find a lounger was a little difficult as many had towels on them, but no people in sight. We weren't at the pool enough for this to be a huge inconvenience, but if I was at the pool everday, I'd get pretty annoyed. The lifeguards at the pool were always patrolling and always had an eye on people in the pool.

Overall the staff was very pleasant, but I never really felt like they were going out of their way or bending over backwards for us. Perhaps we just didn't need very much.

One thing to note if you're traveling from Canada or any other international destination is that you can take the Magical Express back to the airport, but you can't check your bags at the hotel and not see them until you get home like you do on the way there. Not a huge inconvenience for me, but it would have been good to know from the beginning.

The size and price combo for this resort is most appealing and the fact that's it's pretty central to all parks makes it that much more convenient. I timed our trips to and from each park and nothing was longer than 20 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wonderful stay at Disney's Port Orleans French Quarter. Stayed the week of Thanksgiving. Had a kind size bed which was firm but comfy. Room was nice and very clean.Our room was on the second floor and faced the river which was a beautiful view. Only con....heard toilets that was flushed. First night there, I woke up at 5:30 am to someone going to the bathroom and each morning after that. Other than that, room was quiet and pleasant.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the little animals that were maked and left for me each day. Nice touch! Check in was easy and quick and check out even better. Hotel had printed our boarding pass with our airlines and left under the door the morning of our flight. To catch a buss to the parks was easy and quick. Didn't eat any meals other than breakfast which was very good with lots to pick from. Free refills on drinks throughout our stay which was a nice touch. Overall our stay was great and would come back but would stay on the third floor so I wouldn't hear the toilets flushing all night long.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at the Pop Century resort twice before, and we wanted to find somewhere smaller and quieter, with a more relaxed atmosphere. We found it at this resort! Beautifully decorated for Christmas, it was just the type of resort we hoped for. The rooms were bigger, and the setting was much more quaint, with fewer guests and kids running around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Loved everything about it. The rooms were very comfortable and roomy. We had a connecting door with my daughter and her family which was a great help.
The food court was OK but we didn't really use it that often being on the free meal plan which was such fun. We usually stayed at the swan but this is the resort we will come to again and again.

Room Tip: I think any room is great. We were in building 2 on 2nd floor with garden view. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter is inspired by the romance and pageantry of the historic French Quarter in New Orleans, and where every day is a celebration. Step through a wrought-iron portal into an alluring world of delicious Cajun food, jazz music and dazzling parades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.