We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Small and Intimate Disney Hotel, Clean, Pretty, Efficient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bensalem, PA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“GREAT Small and Intimate Disney Hotel, Clean, Pretty, Efficient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My companion and I recently visited Disney's Port Orleans French Quarter hotel (Nov 15-19th), and we were quite pleased (overall) with all aspects of our stay! Our check-in was smooth, the room faced the river and was clean, and the staff was adequately polite.

Pros: The room was spacious, the hotel was quiet, and the rooms have small fridges. The location (all rooms) are close to the pool/bus stop. This is a small property, which is amazing because everything is pretty convenient. The grounds were well kept and pretty. The whole place has a very tranquil vibe. It's great for families, solo guests, and couples. Very fun and romantic! The Disney bus service ran smoothly, and bus service came every 15-20 mins. There is only one bus stop and it is in front of the main entrance. Since the hotel is so small, there is no need for multiple bus stops (as other hotels have them).

Cons: Housekeeping did a minimal job each day. They did not provide us with a towel animal (as Disney advertises) at all, and did not give us new soap/shampoo each day. The service seemed skimpy and minimal at best. Note to guests: you have to call the desk to request a linen change as they will only change bed sheets after a 4 day stay. Also, the beds were firmer than we recalled, so they were less comfy to sleep on. The staff was polite, but...very perfunctory. Not as bend-over-backwards nice as in previous years.

The hotel has a small gift shop on property, and the pool is great for kids. They have a hot tub as well, which looked awesome. The food court has lots of options for all meals, and we enjoyed eating there multiple times. Buy a refill mug as this saves a lot of cash on soft drinks and soda during your stay!

This was a great hotel, and we would stay there again. Not too many complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a River View as it is peaceful and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    1,201
    311
    101
    52
See reviews for
1,958
642
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Room was clean, spacious and well appointed. Room was ready when we checked in. Given a first floor room as requested. Housekeeping was fine. Small resort so never too far to walk. Never waited too long for buses. One night we were going to Port Orleans Riverside and a bus driver went off his route and drove us over there so we didn't have to wait for another bus. Front desk was friendly and informative. Food court offered good variety and food was good. Very quiet. Only issue was when we tried to book a fishing trip through the concierge desk. They advised it was all booked. We called the 800 number instead and were able to make the reservation. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks with husband and 2 children. Had an amazing time and could find very little fault.
Arrival and check in was easy, plenty of staff on duty so seen to immediately.
We were in block 1 as i had requested a quiet room. It was probably the furthest walk from reception but still only 5 minutes so great to pop to the restaurant for a quick drink fill up and also to carry tired children from the bus at night.
There was very little external noise in the room however we could hear other people flushing the toilet and the fridge hummed a bit!
The room was fine for our needs, we were hardly in there anyway, the fridge and coffee machine were a bonus and they were cleaned to a good standard.
The pool was good and kids loved having a late evening swim in the dark while mum and dad had a sneaky beer from the pool bar!
We had the free dining plan which worked well for us. The food wasn't the best ever but was edible and we are not the type to let food rule our holiday, we found there to be enough choice for both us and the children for the few times we were around at meal times to eat there, we mostly had a snack for breakfast such as a bagle as this was better use of the dining plan rather than using a meal credit credit. The resort mug was great and meant that we could get plenty of bottles of water to take to the parks for the daytime as we would have the free refills with our meal and the water as the drink with the meal plan. The pizza's were particularly good and fed 3 of us.
We didn't have a car and the buses were fine never had to wait 20 minutes, we mostly had a bus just for french quarter, on the occassions we did share with riverside it was a pain having to drop them off first as they have 4 stops and we just wanted to get home, but we still would rather this than hiring a car. we did go off disney and used lynx bus, mears or taxi's.
The dressed up door man made our childrens stay at this hotel, he would give them a coin each day and really made a fuss of them.
The grounds were lovely, we visited animal kingdom lodge as this would be my dream hotel if money were no object, and although it was lovely i didn't return to fq feeling like we were the poor neighbours, I am no longer bothered about staying at akl.
We did visit riverside and although it is a nicer looking hotel, especially the restaurant and outside by the river i would rather stay stay at fq due to the smaller size.
All in all had a wonderful stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it for a very relaxing holiday, especially for a first visit where you will mostly be staying fairly local.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went for a week to spend my daughter's 4th birthday. The resort grounds were very nice with lots of areas to sit and enjoy the weather. My little girl enjoyed the pool. They show movies each night on a grassy area between some of the buildings and have a campfire for Smores. Our room was in Building 4 on the top floor, which was very close to the bus transportation and food court. I'm glad we got this building as we had about a minute walk to each. If I'd have been further, I think the longest walk may have been 5 minutes. The room was fine, although I prefer rooms that the doors are on the hallway and not the outdoors. Mousekeeping was good throughout the week and left us a few towel animals. The food court was loud, but when you have a large number of people in a place, I don't know how it could be much quieter. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in building 7, top floor, with a river view. We stayed for 10 days.

The resort has a food court called Sassagoula's and they accommodated our gluten free dietary needs. For each meal, we asked to speak with the chef and he would make something for us from the back. We had pancakes, sausage, bacon, with syrup. Chicken strips and fries (our favorite) with the honey mustard sauce. Plus, pizza and hot dogs. They could use some more GF snacks and desserts though. There are only potato chips, brownies and cookies.

There is no sit down restaurant at this resort. However, Riverside has one.

Good
*our room was very quiet
*flat screen TV
*liked the curtain vs. a door to separates the sink area to the sleeping area.
*liked tile in the shower and it was clean
*we slept in a couple of days in order to take in Magic Kingdom being open until 1am, because of this we missed having our room cleaned. However, they left us a bag of towels, soap, Kleenex etc. We really appreciated this.
*bus service worked very well for us
*laundry facilities are right by the pool and were very good.
*Sassagoula's had a very good food court with a drink island that was awesome!
*all staff were great!
*good location to all of the parks and Downtown Disney
*souvenir shop had a good selection of Disney memorabilia.

Poor
*dusty- there was a layer of dust on the rod and on the shelf in the open sink area, in all of the corners of the room
*stain- there was a white stain on one of the bedspreads. This should have been changed out and it never was.
* mattress - uncomfortable, you can feel the springs, and you can hear them when you move.
* bedspread - would prefer a simple white duvet and duvet cover that get changed on regular bases.
*decor- was updated but it was poorly done and doesn't fit with the style of the resort. The room felt dark and dingy.
*pool - slide is cool but its slow. The kids preferred the one at Riverside.
*smelly room- might have been from the river. Air fresher was used but it didn't work
*coffee - was the worst we have ever had!!!
*tv channels - very few channels to watch
*food court- wished that the beverage station stayed open past midnight on the nights when the park was open late.
*boat service-the boats were always full of guests from Riverside. We took the bus instead.
*Resort grounds and decor - needs to be updated. The grounds are well maintained. However, it looks like it did in the 80's.

Overall, we wouldn't stay here again. This isn't our type of resort. We prefer a room that is a bit bigger with a brighter decor. In addition, we learned that we would like to be closer to Magic Kingdom.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed at this resort 5 times. Each experience has been better than the last. As with most Disney Hotels the staff consists of the absolute best. The resort itself is like a small town and is designed and decorated to resemble the French Quarter in New Orleans and it does. It is very quiet at nite and it sits on a man made river. There are boats that will take you to Downtown Disney and back. The cafeteria is casual style and seat yourself . The food although not 5 star is very good. The pool is huge and has a water slide that looks like a dragon and of course the kids love it.

Room Tip: When you make your reservations ask for a room facing the river. It's very peaceful sitting out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My entire family (all 15 of us) just returned from a 5 night stay at Disney's Port Orleans, French Quarter. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and it was pretty equi-distant to all of the parks. It is a bit smaller than the other Disney resorts, which was nice! We requested to have 4 rooms close together and they placed us all in a row, which was great! We had a very good experience with the transportation. We particularly liked the option of taking a bus to Downtown Disney and taking the boat to the French Quarter if there was not a direct route home (i.e., from other hotels/resorts where we had dinner) since the buses from Downtown Disney were often quite crowded late at night. Also a benefit, having access to the Port Orleans, Riverside dining and other amentiies.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#37 Family Hotel in Orlando
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter is inspired by the romance and pageantry of the historic French Quarter in New Orleans, and where every day is a celebration. Step through a wrought-iron portal into an alluring world of delicious Cajun food, jazz music and dazzling parades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;