We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Freehold, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3/19/13 to 3/24/13. Except for ongoing construction that closed the pool nearest my room (building 5) and a somewhat cramped toilet space as bathroom door came within an inch of the front of the toilet seat when it opened, not much to complain about here. The rooms were otherwise spacious and clean. Grounds well kept and cleaned daily, beautiful main hotel area. Had breakfast at the hotels restaurant near the back entrance. Robert, our waiter, was marvellous. We had the slight misfortune of being seated nearby a family with a baby that vomited (significantly) on the floor near us shortly after we were seated. Baby's mother did a good job of covering it up with a cloth so that it was not widely noticed. We however had a front row seat to it. We quietly asked Robert if he could change our seating to the other side. Robert had not seen the baby's mishap and was not aware until we mentioned it and because it was visually well concealed, he probably thought at first we were customers that simply liked to be a problem. However he very graciously moved us to a table on the other side of the dining room that was outside of his station. It soon became clear to all the extent of the "mess" and afterwards Robert confided that he was at first skeptical but now understood why we wanted to change. He was very pleasant at all times and handled the situation remarkably well. We found all the individual's at the resort to be very good at customer service, but a big "hat's off" to Robert for making a great impression as to the "customer first" principle of service. This was a part business/part pleasure trip. Got a corporate rate but saw it on Expedia for over $700 per night. Paid less than half that. I consider this pricy and would generally rather find a better value. Would be reluctant to pay this if it was just pleasure and I did not need to be where the corporate symposium was. Company paid for two nights which made it acceptable. Didn't sleep too well. Pillows a bit thick for my liking but many like this. The gym has terrific equipment (Precor). Had a great workout. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,491
    625
    271
    119
    62
See reviews for
1,477
392
20
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Any Disney property comes at a premium but they are great resorts.. Clean. Helpful staff. You can check your luggage from your home city and it goes all the way to your guest room. Rooms here are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Building 5 if you have meetings etc and will be utilizing the convention center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed for a week at the Grand Floridian. Staff good, and helpful, and the rooms were spacious and clean, although tired. Location is very good, and the monorail is a real plus. Restaurants were a mixed experience, and expensive. Narcoosees was disappointing (the menu was a touch limited) but Citricos was fantastic. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We used credit card points to stay here during a recent visit to Disney. I honestly would never have paid the price of $400-$500 to stay at the Grand Floridian. The hotel is beautiful and the staff was helpful. The standard rooms were great because they have 2 queen beds and twin day bed that converts from a couch. Kids loved the arcade but was too cold for the pool which looked like fun. We were told by the concierge that all the restuarants were reservation only which we did not have and nothing was available. We walked up to Grand Floridian Cafe and it was 15-20% full. They sat us down right away with no reservation. That did not make sense to me.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful rooms were basic but spacious enough for a short period of time. We thought when we booked this hotel my kids would meet plenty of characters and there would be plenty for them to do of an evening after a busy day in the theme parks but there was nothing in fact my kids ended up sitting in the room watching there iPad as the tv didn't even have any decent tv channels, it has 1 disney cartoon Chanel that finished pretty early. We ate in the Buffett restraunte so my daughter could dine with the princess,s it cost over 200 dollars for 2 adults and 2 children the food was awful and she met 4 in an hour and a half... Awful.. The pools are not heated really cold and the pool bars shut at 8pm. We transferred from hard rock hotel which was fantastic should have stayed there. The grand Floridian is a poor hotel I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just got back from a week at the Grand Floridian Resort and Spa -- Stayed in the Club Building -- Sugar Loaf.

The hotel is fantastic in that unique Disney way.....grand, creative, cusotmer service oriented, well stocked and staffed but it is not perfect by any stretch.

The Great:
-- Customer Service is amazing - personal, fast, approachable - the staff is top notch
We arrived just in time for the new main pool to open - its perfect -- shallow enough for little kids, deep enough for big kids, ample seating, poolside bar and food -- staff for kids games and activities
-- Alice in Wonderland Pool -- Best splash pad I have ever seen -- our daughter loved it.
-- The Club Amenties are just right --- breakfast is healthy, the food throughout the day is varied and healthy, the dinner spread is great, good selection of booze and beer, and great evening cappers.
-- Candy scramble on Easter was a huge hit
-- Access to the parks is unparalled -- the flexibility to come and go from the parks is amazing
-- Tea with the princesses -- our Daughter loved every minute of it
-- The Spa -- great massage, very relaxing, excellent masseuse

The Good:
-- The customer service comes at a cost - the hotel is not cheap
-- The food is good but not great -- Gasparillas is open 24 hours and is good but by no means is it cuisine, the pool side food is the same
-- The rooms are nice -- well appointed but not spectacular -- the bathrooms need updating

The bad:
-- The rooms had no storage for clothes. 4 drawers and a closet is not enough for a family of 3 -- our clothes were strwen about the room becasue there was simply no where to put it
-- The Restaraunt 1900 Park Fare was AWFUL -- it is so out dated -- and not only that it is run down. The wait staff and their apparel looked like they were from the early 80s -- the room hasn't been updated in decades, the food was awful - bland, flavorless, unhealthy, the room is loud and chaotic and the cost is outrageuous. Definitely do not waste your money here not worth it even if the kids really want to meet some Disney characters -- there are other better, cheaper options.
-- The gym is new and nice but there are major flaws. The floor is made of some bizarre material and it is very slippery -- any excercise done that is not on a bench, machine or a ball is a danger. And there is no bathroom there so if you drinka lot of water you're in trouble. I went next door to the spa to use their bathroom but when no male attendant was available to escort me to the bathroom (why I needed escorting is beyond me) I had to go to the pool bathroom which is easily 150 yards away.

Room Tip: In the Sugar Loaf building make sure you're not next to or above the main area that serves the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went here back in June 2012 and had a wonderful time. Admittedly pricey, the room was very clean and our every need attended to. The grounds were extremely well kept and the pool very clean. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and cannot say enough about the experience. If you can afford to stay here while at Disney I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#21 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.