We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to parks but too much construction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 332 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Easy access to parks but too much construction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Floridian for a family trip. The rooms were very nice with nice finishes. The hotel has turn down service with a chocolate so the kids loved it. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The convienence of the monorail and boat to the magic kingdom was great. Right now, construction was everywhere making it not as nice as it could have been. The main pool is closed. The spa is closed. The convienence store is closed. The quick service restaurant was closed. the beach area was closed and at the pool that was open you got to watch the building of a huge tower of timeshares. Save your money and go elsewhere until the resort is completed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    664
    290
    128
    69
See reviews for
1,661
421
22
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We never stay anywhere else when we visit Disney World. (We have posted a couple of reviews regarding previous stays). The service is outstanding. It rivals resorts elsewhere in the world. The grounds and the decor are beautiful. You cannot stay any closer to the Magic Kingdom. You are just one monorail station away. The courtyard pool and Gasparilla's were closed when we visited in October, 2012; however, I understand they will re-open soon. The Grand is expensive, but it is worth every cent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here in late October for 4 days after leaving another Disney Resort that had a unacceptable room and no other rooms at that resort were available. Disney was excellent in moving us and our luggage by taxi to this resort.

We had a lagoon view room in the Boca Chica building. We were on the third floor in a room next to the ice machine, but I never heard anyone getting ice. The only thing we could hear were the family next door through the adjoining door, but we were out alot and it wasn't too bad. The rooms are beautifully decorated with touches of Disney. The beds are incredibly comfortable. The water pressure and the temperature of the shower were excellent.

The room was very spacious and very clean. The bathroom has double sinks with adequate storage for your items and the tub and toilet are behind a door for additional privacy. There is a lot of construction going on and the main pool was closed. Also, next to the hotel a large disney time share is being built and the fitness center has been relocated to a large permanent tent in the parking lot. We loved walking around this resort and we also walked to the polynesian resort next door. The grounds at the Grand Floridian are so beautiful and relaxing after being in the hustle of the parks.

I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Two great pools , one huge , the other is a medium with a cool water slide. The rooms are really nice too. It's really close to Magic Kingdom so it's convenient. The lobby is really big. When I went we got a view of of the seven seas lagoon and you could see the castle. It was a magical stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our family of 4 spent the first week of May 2012 at the Grand Floridian at Disney and loved it.

While it is no doubt an expensive hotel it was the most convenient location especially if you have two little girls (5 and 2) that get tired quite quickly. The monorail got to Magic Kingdom within 3 or 4 minutes on most occasions. Getting to the other parks was also very easy using the monorail and the complimentary bus service. The longest it took us to get anywhere was 30 to 40 minutes.

The room was not the biggest but adequate for our purposes. It was clean, neat and we did not have to wait for it to cleaned at any point. The only issue we had in the room was the intermittent wi-fi signal. Although it was free I would have paid a nominal fee for a more stable signal.

The service at the resort was very good and we did not have to wait very long for any request.

In short a great hotel for our first Disney experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This resort is absolutely beautiful! The design is simply gorgeous. An individual plays the piano at the center of the hotel, and leaves everyone memorized with beautiful music from Disney movies. The live band that plays there is amazing as well! This is such a romantic hotel, it has the Beauty and the Beast ambiance to it with beautiful fresh roses and flowers at every turn. This hotel will make you fall in love with love. Even if you are with family this hotel will make your heart melt. There is so much magic in this hotel, it will give you so many memorable moments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I spent a "girl's" week at this lovely hotel the week before Halloween 2012. My daughter is 24 years old, and our first visit to The Grand Floridian was when she was four years old. Our family loved it on our first visit, and we are never dissappointed after all these years. Our first step into the lobby when we arrive is still thrilling. And each evening as we return to the peace and quiet of our room we have that wonderful feeling of "being home", being safe and so very comfortable after a long day out and about Disney. We never have that "I can't sleep well" experience here. The beds are very comfy with snuggly bedding and the hotel is wonderfully quiet all around. The bathrooms have a vanity room with two sinks, a large vanity and even a hamper. Towels are abundant and very clean and absorbant. There is a modern two cup coffee maker and extra coffee is always available just by asking one of the housekeepers. No plastic glasses and the coffee mugs are a heavy ceramic. The toilet and bath/shower is a separate room with a door that closes and a fan the works!! The housekeepers are constantly busy. The hotel is immacculantly clean, and beautifully appointed with warm colors and comfortable furniture. There are huge vases of fresh flowers everywhere and on the tables in the restaurants. Every shop is neat and well stocked. The staff is very professional and always friendly. But most of all they are available to answer questions and give you a hand no matter what their position is in the hotel. They don't wait until you look lost or in need of something. They approach you and ask if you need help. The food in the restaurants and the cafe is wonderful. As with all of Disney, it is very smart to make reservations at sit down restaurants before you leave home. At the Grand Floridian you can eat cafe style, up scale dinning and even 5 star dinning at their exclusive Victoria and Alberts. Men need to take a pair of long pants and dress shoes to have meals in certain restaurants. It is a deluxe hotel so there is in-room dining and a salon, and while it is being refurbished at this point, there is a spa. One pool is being refurbished but the other pool has a fun childrens splash and play pool and a pool for swimming with cabanas and food service. Another wonderful treat is that there are little nooks and crannies and patios to sit with a drink or coffee or just a moment to sit with the kids. In fact, they even have small screens with cartoons playing in the main lobby for the kids if they need to be entertained while grown ups tend to reservations or activities. Each room also has a wonderful porch for a quiet moment with early morning coffee while the kids are still asleep. You really have to stay there more than once to take advantage of all the marvelous little aspects of this hotel. Being on the monorail that takes you to the Magic Kingdom is just a fantasitc feature that you will appreciate once you experience Disney. Finally, this is not a budget hotel. It also isn't a hotel for kids who enjoy racing around the halls or playing ball in the lobby. Most kids are too tired in the evening for that and are ready to head for the parks in the morning! It is a refined atmosphere, but it is always filled with kids who enjoy dinner with the family and don't mind sharing space with adults. I can assure you that little girls really, really love the Princess Tea they have in the tea room....and so do Moms!! And of course the character breakfasts are really fun and very filling. It is the perfect hotel for getting away with your family if you want an elegant but very comfortable home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#24 Family Hotel in Orlando
#26 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#37 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.