We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This resort is absolutely beautiful! The design is simply gorgeous. An individual plays the piano at the center of the hotel, and leaves everyone memorized with beautiful music from Disney movies. The live band that plays there is amazing as well! This is such a romantic hotel, it has the Beauty and the Beast ambiance to it with beautiful fresh roses and flowers at every turn. This hotel will make you fall in love with love. Even if you are with family this hotel will make your heart melt. There is so much magic in this hotel, it will give you so many memorable moments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Whitehall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I spent a "girl's" week at this lovely hotel the week before Halloween 2012. My daughter is 24 years old, and our first visit to The Grand Floridian was when she was four years old. Our family loved it on our first visit, and we are never dissappointed after all these years. Our first step into the lobby when we arrive is still thrilling. And each evening as we return to the peace and quiet of our room we have that wonderful feeling of "being home", being safe and so very comfortable after a long day out and about Disney. We never have that "I can't sleep well" experience here. The beds are very comfy with snuggly bedding and the hotel is wonderfully quiet all around. The bathrooms have a vanity room with two sinks, a large vanity and even a hamper. Towels are abundant and very clean and absorbant. There is a modern two cup coffee maker and extra coffee is always available just by asking one of the housekeepers. No plastic glasses and the coffee mugs are a heavy ceramic. The toilet and bath/shower is a separate room with a door that closes and a fan the works!! The housekeepers are constantly busy. The hotel is immacculantly clean, and beautifully appointed with warm colors and comfortable furniture. There are huge vases of fresh flowers everywhere and on the tables in the restaurants. Every shop is neat and well stocked. The staff is very professional and always friendly. But most of all they are available to answer questions and give you a hand no matter what their position is in the hotel. They don't wait until you look lost or in need of something. They approach you and ask if you need help. The food in the restaurants and the cafe is wonderful. As with all of Disney, it is very smart to make reservations at sit down restaurants before you leave home. At the Grand Floridian you can eat cafe style, up scale dinning and even 5 star dinning at their exclusive Victoria and Alberts. Men need to take a pair of long pants and dress shoes to have meals in certain restaurants. It is a deluxe hotel so there is in-room dining and a salon, and while it is being refurbished at this point, there is a spa. One pool is being refurbished but the other pool has a fun childrens splash and play pool and a pool for swimming with cabanas and food service. Another wonderful treat is that there are little nooks and crannies and patios to sit with a drink or coffee or just a moment to sit with the kids. In fact, they even have small screens with cartoons playing in the main lobby for the kids if they need to be entertained while grown ups tend to reservations or activities. Each room also has a wonderful porch for a quiet moment with early morning coffee while the kids are still asleep. You really have to stay there more than once to take advantage of all the marvelous little aspects of this hotel. Being on the monorail that takes you to the Magic Kingdom is just a fantasitc feature that you will appreciate once you experience Disney. Finally, this is not a budget hotel. It also isn't a hotel for kids who enjoy racing around the halls or playing ball in the lobby. Most kids are too tired in the evening for that and are ready to head for the parks in the morning! It is a refined atmosphere, but it is always filled with kids who enjoy dinner with the family and don't mind sharing space with adults. I can assure you that little girls really, really love the Princess Tea they have in the tea room....and so do Moms!! And of course the character breakfasts are really fun and very filling. It is the perfect hotel for getting away with your family if you want an elegant but very comfortable home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonD1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Let me first start by saying that we had a good trip, and people at the parks and restaurants provided excellent customer service. Having attended 3 Disney Institute lectures over the past 10 years, this is what I expected.
Now on to the hotel. This is supposed to be the "crown jewel" of the Disney resort and a "five star" experience. This was not our experience at the Grand Floridian. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired. Several days they didn't come until 4pm. By that point, our 3 year old was napping after a long day at the park, and there was no way we were letting housekeeping in. The cleanliness of the rooms was marginal, and I have included a picture of the mold on the fire sprinkler in the bathroom. Rooms are dated, especially bathrooms.
Concierge service is weak at best. They cannot or are unwilling to help with park arrangements. Several times upon making requests, we were told "nothing we can do about it". In addition, they are doing a lot of renovations all at the same time(pool, arcade, spa) which we were not notified about in advance. Food is "institutional" at best at most of the restaurants, and expensive(as is everything else).
While this is not a terrible place, and in the grand scheme of things it is "fine", based on the price tag and the hype, it did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jafortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently booked a room at the Grand Floridian for a conference and it definitely met our expectations. The service was absolutely amazing as were the rooms and the grounds. Beautiful setting for the stay. We saw people every morning working on the grounds. The rooms were clean and very well appointed. The building was almost directly in between the marina and monorail, but we never heard any disruptive sounds. The lobby was an experience every time we went through. It was so much fun to so see the workers dressed in period clothing and they were extremely friendly to the kids. There were some pool issues while we were there but they were fixed pretty promptly. That was the only issue we had during our wonderful week!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsgaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Going to Disney is always an experience. I have heard all good things about the grand Floridian - my opinion, it is for an older crowd. It is very Victorian looking feel. Beautiful property and nothin to take away from Disney but if you do not like wall paper and floral looking rooms - stay at the contemporary or Polynesian.

Service was great food as well just the decor was not my style.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nydgnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are staying on Disney property, this is a great hotel. The rooms were clean, the service was great and the kids had a great time. There are currently some renovations in progress. The spa and one pool were closed. The self parking is about two blocks away. You can watch the fireworks from the location, and catch the mono-rail or bus to any Disney site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FastEddie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great service and wonderful rooms. I stay at this hotel when visiting Disney. The decor is beautiful. Easy to get to the magic kingdom and epcot via the mono rail. Disney buses were on time. The option of taking a boat over to the Magic Kingdom is very convenient as well. The grounds are beautiful and the staff at hotel was awesome. Food was great. New water park with an Alice in Wonderland theme installed. Very cut and fun for the little ones.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing