We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente Servicio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excelente Servicio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent a week from sept. 13 to 21 2012. Very convenient hotel located very close to Magic Kingdom. The ride in boat is awesome. People who help you with luggage and are more than helpful. Although it is being refurbished and some areas are not in service, they a very cool pool for small kids.

Room Tip: We got a room with balcony and a small living room. It is listed as a standard garden view room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    556
    244
    109
    58
See reviews for
1,305
357
16
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Pros:

- Monorail, boat, and bus service to Disney attractions
- Comfortable rooms
- Nice pool (not everyone would consider this a positive, but our kids loved having ducks land in the pool that they could chase). Kids also enjoyed the little lizards running around the pool.
- View of fireworks from the hotel dock
- Good, though expensive food

Cons
- No good coffee on the property (look forward to Starbucks / Disney cooperation)
- Breakfast buffet is only via the expensive character meal (1900 Park Fare)
- Gasparilla Grill has an arcade whose games you have to pay for separately (via arm and leg), and kids naturally want to play them instead of eating. Take the games away or make them free.
- Spa was closed during our stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The exterior of the hotel is breathtaking and so is the lobby. The staff is the best! However the room design was dated and not to my taste. I previously stayed there when I was a child and I can say that the design of the room has not changed. I really wish Disney would redesign their rooms into something classic, modern, and bright. After all it is a pricey hotel. Did I enjoy my stay their? Absolutely will I return? Only if they revamp their rooms... Sorry Floridian...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel is elegant both inside and out. Everyone goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Of course this is true throughout all of Disney. I stayed in the Garden View building and would stay there again. The inside of the main building is beautiful and has all the shops and restaurants. The other buildings are quieter and almost as pretty plus nearer the pool and beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the GF for 2 week commencing 27th August 2012 for our honeymoon. We decided to stay at the GF despite it being very expensive we wanted it to be special as we had waited and saved for over 2 years to get married and go on honeymoon. We were not disappointed. We booked a standard garden view room and upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a Magic Kingdom view room as it was our honeymoon. We were overwhelmed by this as the room they upgraded us to was the exact room we wanted, sago cay, room 5445. We were greeted by the friendly staff from the magical express when we arrived and were asked if we needed help with luggage. We walked into the grand lobby and the orchestra were playing Pachelbel's canon which I had walked down the aisle to only 2 days before, this was all so much to take in. Our room was large and clean and as soon as you enter the room you can see Cinderella's castle. My husband and I could not believe the upgrade which reduced me to tears! A lady called Renee checked us in & offered the upgrade, she was so kind and polite, could not have done enough for us. Her service could not have been any better. On the second day I dropped our new camera on the floor by the pool and found that it would not switch back on. As we had a reservation at Cinderella's royal table that night we really needed a camera, however we did have our i-phones as a back up. My husband went to concierge who were more than helpful and offered for one of their driver's to go to the nearest walmart and pick the same camera up at no extra cost and have this put in our room within 1 hour so that we had a camera in time for our reservation. In the end, my husband got the camera working so we informed concierge who advised that if we had any more problems with the camera to let them know and they will still arrange for a new one to be picked up and just charged to our room. All the staff, including housekeeping, always talked to us in the corridors, always smiled. We felt very welcome by everyone at the hotel and felt very special the whole 2 weeks we stayed there. We ate at 1900 Park Fare, Narcoossee's and the Grand Floridian cafe during our stay. All the restaurants were exceptional and in our opinion, faultless, especially Narcoossee's where we had the best restaurant meal we had ever had, the service was amazing too. There is a lot of maintenance being carried out at the hotel, however, we weren't really affected by it as the pool closed on our last day. This work has to be carried out at some point of the year and so the hotel cannot please everyone. All in all, we had the most memorable honeymoon and the hotel exceeded our expectations. It was worth every penny we spent and the long wait we had. We only hope that one day we can afford another 2 week stay here!!! :) Thank you so much to all the staff at the Grand Floridian, our stay could not have been better!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at Disney’s Grand Floridian hotel for business in late June 2012 for six nights. While it is not my favorite Disney property at Walt Disney World, it is Disney’s most elegant option at the Resort.

OVERALL
If you’ve got the dough, or you’re spending someone else’s liberally, staying at Disney’s Grand Floridian hotel is a pleasant, excellent experience. This is as close as you’ll get to Four Seasons quality service and ambience in Central Florida, at least until the new Four Seasons opens, and definitely worth the investment for hoteliers.

WHAT I LIKED:

LOCATION: If you’re a Magic Kingdom fan, this is a pretty great location—one monorail stop away from the entrance. It’s also on the Seven Seas Lagoon and has a beautiful view to the Magic Kingdom and Contemporary Resort. Also, being set on the water just seems nicer for some reason.

--Tip: Magic Kingdom fireworks can be viewed, with the music, at the water sprite (boat) area in front of Gaspirilla’s.

RELAXING FEEL: Despite it’s Victorian-inspired design, the Grand Floridian has a relaxed feel with a huge airy lobby, and breezy walkways between the buildings that house the rooms of the hotel. I think this is also aided by the slightly smaller proportion of kids vis-à-vis other WDW resorts. Don’t get me wrong, there will be kids running all over the place, but as a percentage of the total population it will be somewhat smaller than in other resorts.

--Tip: if possible ask for a dormer room (generally 5th floor at a corner). The ceilings are vaulted and they have ceiling fans that are great to keep air moving in the room when you’re in or out.

--Note: the bathroom amenities at the Grand Floridian are different from other places on property (they’re the spa amenities). Still H2O brand, but you can actually squeeze the bottles and the product inside is nicer. Great shampoo!

SHOPPING: The shopping here is more refined than almost anywhere else at WDW—Park or Hotel. My favorite shop (the men’s shop) is on the second floor where you will find Tommy Bahama, Kahala, Polo, Quicksilver and other non-Disney, higher-end brands. There is a companion store on the first floor for women. There is also a Basin White (which would make my allergies explode, so I’ve never been in) and a store with more child-oriented merchandise.

WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER:

SELF-PARKING: Can’t do much about this based on the property, but it sucked. The self-parking is across the street from the hotel. That means a 10-15 minute walk from your car to your hotel in Florida humidity (which in late June means bring your squeegee because you’re going to sweat).

--Tip: Valet is $12/night and includes in-and-out privileges. The Valet service is also great. I would totally do this if I stay there again.

ROOM INTERIORS: The Victorian-style is not my favorite, but that notwithstanding, the room interiors could be refreshed. The TV has been updated to a flat screen, which is nice, but everything else could use a bit of a refresh too.

SHEETS: This is a note about EVERY WDW property! The sheets are so crisp you could practically spread some pate on them and serve them as canapé. Now, every linen at WDW goes to a central plan for processing, I think they just need to either amp up the fabric softener or tone down the starch.

FINAL RECOMMENDATIONS
Valet park for sure. Avoid the boat launches to the Magic Kingdom at night, lest you get stuck behind a traveling water show that is like a very early version of the Electrical Parade. The Monorail can get you to the Magic Kingdom, Epcot, and other hotels on the loop.

Always make dining reservations—at hotels and in Parks, in advance! As early as possible!

Room Tip: Dormer rooms (5th Floor corners) have higher ceilings. If you're concerned about firework noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My family and I vacationed to Disney World in March and all I can say about the Grand Floridian is WOW! The grounds are stunning, and well maintained and the rooms were large and clean. The attention to detail here is impeccable and really put that Disney touch on our stay. The convenience of staying here was also a huge plus with the monorail running right though the hotel. Be sure to keep your eyes peeled for hidden mickey's/minnies etc. in the carpet and wallpaper.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#21 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#38 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa is a Victorian-style Disney Deluxe Resort distinguished as the flagship hotel of Walt Disney World Resort and offering world-class dining, entertainment and luxurious accommodations in its 6 striking red-gabled buildings. This magnificent hotel sits along the white-sand shores of Seven Seas Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.