We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch on Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 328 hotels in Orlando
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top Notch on Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed at the GF in the past, then started to visit other monorail hotels. At the end of our cruise we decided to spend one more night in Orlando at the GF. We-- It was welcome home for us. Our teen aged boys loved the slide and the property and service can not be beat. The rooms are clean and the location is the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,094
    486
    223
    104
    53
See reviews for
1109
313
14
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Floridian in June 2012 on a family reunion trip. As a kid, my family went to Disney World every 2 years, and I remember the Grand Floridian when it was being built. Back then we stayed in the Contemporary, Polynesian or Beach Club. When the Grand Floridian opened, it was supposed to be the premier Disney Hotel. I was eagerly anticipating the chance to experience the Grand Floridian on this year's trip, but perhaps I put too much expectation on the hotel.

The Grand Floridian is a nice hotel, no doubt, but in my opinion there is nothing that really differentiates it from the other Disney properties. For starters, if you don't stay in the main building (as is the case for the large majority of guests) the outer buildings seem very ordinary, as if you were walking into a Courtyard by Marriott or Hampton Inn...not at all grand. The rooms were OK, but not overly large and with very small balconies. The room servicing was very questionable. We had three rooms on the same hall and all of us had servicing issues and eventually made complaints to management. These ranged from rooms not getting serviced at all during the day, towels not getting replaced, coffee not refilled (multiple times), service staff leaving the TV on after cleaning the room, and finally a broken toilet. Very "un-Disney like" service. Additionally, these days as the park has expanded there is more and more need to take buses to and from the different parks, and every time the Grand Floridian was the last stop on the route. Always you stopped at Contemporary, TTC, Polynesian first. To me it is a shame that Disney never expanded the monorail line further, but if you are going to make people take the bus, and you have people staying in your premier property, it seems they shouldn't always be "at the end of the line" for bus transport.

Finally....the Grand Floridian has some fantastic restaurants, but if you are on the Disney Dining Plan there is basically one restaurant you can use (and a fast food diner). The other restaurants are so good, they are either not on the plan at all, or require 2 credits...and why would I spend 2 credits each to take my 11 and 9 year old to Citricos? In addition, the breakfast buffet, while being good food, doesn't every change. By the last day, half our party skipped breakfast because they were bored of the food.

For me, the Grand Floridian is nice, but I won't go back. I didn't feel I got value for money. I love Disney and for me the only way to go is to stay in a Disney property, but next time I'll stay in Beach or Yacht Club, or perhaps Boardwalk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the grand Floridian a couple of times & it truly is a wonderful place to stay. The staff are all very friendly & helpful the room are clean & spacious. The spa is lovely and clean & great value for money. We booked for a meal on our anniversary & the menu came with our names printed on the top which was a nice keep sake. You can see the castle from the gardens & even watch the fireworks & boat show from your room.the monorail stops right outside which is great when you had a long day. There's buses & boats too to get you to the parks. I can't recommend enough. Enjoy your stay. :-)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

As a preface, we've stayed at POFQ, WDW Swan, Fort Wilderness, and most recently at the Grand Floridian (club level, main building). We stayed in one of the "pillar"/octagonal rooms off the main lobby, overlooking the monorail line and the pool (in the main building, of course).

As we exited the Magical Express, we were met by cast members who greeted us and walked us up to the concierge desk to check in, where we were offered cold drinks. Our room was immediately ready, and after a few moments we were walked there with our concierge.

The Room:

It was a large room, with a large bathroom area, a large walk-in closet, and just what we needed. The crib we requested was there as well. The decor of the room matched the resort's decor - Victorian. The amenities were spa quality and constantly replaced. Housekeeping didn't add the special touches as they did when we stayed at Wilderness Lodge, and that was noticed, but the room was cleaned and turndown service provided daily with no complaints. The (king) bed and pillows were very comfortable. It should be noted that our room was on the opposite end of the lobby from where the Grand Floridian Society Orchestra played, and I suspect that fact led to the noise factor. The noise - from the lobby when the GFSO isn't playing, or from the GFSO itself at night - is very loud and hard to overcome if you have small children who nap, or if you just value quiet. Consider this before you request this room.

Club Lounge:

The club lounge was a bit crowded at times in the morning, but we always found a seat, no matter when we went. The breakfast was great and a money saver each day, as were the canapes left out at designated times. The drinks (beer, wine, and select liquors/liqueurs) were welcomed by myself as well, after a long day of walking around with a toddler.

Dining:

Gasparilla's (Quick Service) was good - but very busy during peak times, which made us glad we paid a bit extra for the club level. It was very convenient to pop down there for a sandwich, but there still seems to be a bit of confusion as to what qualifies for certain Disney Dining Plan purchases. This seems to be a campus-wide issue though, and shouldn't factor in to your opinion of this resort.

We ate at the Grand Floridian Cafe. The food was hot and fresh and the service was excellent. We had a tired toddler with us at that point and the wait staff went out of their way to be quick and helpful so we could get back to the room for a nap.

We also ate at Citrico's, and it was incredibly busy. For the price (we were on the dining plan, as mentioned), we didn't think the value was there. The food was only average (on par, in my opinion with the California Grille at the Contemporary Resort), and we likely wouldn't recommend this restaurant when there are other great restaurants available.

Finally, we ate in the Queen Victoria's Room at Victoria & Albert's (the Chef's Table wasn't available when we wanted it). I cannot speak highly enough of our experience here, as we were one of two tables in the intimate room. Our menus were customized for our dietary wishes - please know this and let them know ahead of time if you have allergies or just don't like a certain type of food. Each of our courses were delicious and beautifully displayed, and I had the wine flight along with the meal. Dessert was also a treat, as well as the coffee service (using a unique vacuum/siphon method). Please - if you have time, please try this dining experience. We are still talking about it 10 months after!

The pool:

We only visited the main pool a couple of times, but each time we did, there was adequate, shaded seating, plenty of towels, plenty of staff, and it wasn't too crowded. The zero-entry pool was great to have with a toddler, and the waterfall feature was also nice.

The grounds, cast members, and miscellanea:

I noticed no issues with the grounds: they were very well maintained. All cast members we encountered were friendly and helpful if I had a question. We went to the Sugarloaf building once to see family, and that building (as well as our main building) was well maintained. I couldn't detect any signs of wear or lack of maintenance, but I wasn't looking with a magnifying glass. As we were leaving, they were renovating part of the carpeting, which made a bit of noise, as well as completely refurbishing the spa. We were "forced" (ha!) to go to Saratoga Springs for our spa, and we were a bit disappointed with the experience there, but it was still good. The convenience of the monorail is outstanding.

Overall, I recommend this resort to others for the reasons listed above. But remember: if you have a problem, raise it immediately. Don't wait until you get home to write a snarky, passive-aggressive review!

Room Tip: Rooms off the lobby are loudest during peak times and when the GFSO plays. The "pillar"/o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

My family and I spent almost a week here and it was delightful! It is a monorail ride into the Magic Kingdom and the fireworks can be enjoyed from the property. The room, I thought was small for the price but the grounds are stunning. Overall we do not intend to return here for a stay but the character dining, which are FABULOUS! There are more value for the money Disney properties and we intend to go with Wilderness Lodge the next time. We still love the Grand but it is pricey!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson,tn
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

What an awesome place. If you want to see the meaning of service and friendly atmosphere, this is the place. Beautiful surroundings, great food, smiling faces. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the bellhops then the lady at the desk ,it was amazing. We had driven through the rain bands of the tropical storm, it was pouring outside but inside it was like sunshine .
Rooms are greats,quiet and always clean and the smell, oh the smell of clean and fresh.
Had a great time ...so will you....stay here I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We recently spent five days at the Grand Floridian, and I found it quite adequate for our needs. The room was clean and spacious enough for the amount of time we spent there. The bathrooms are very small and showing their age. The lobby is opulent and fun, with a swing band setting the tone. We had breakfasts and lunches at the self-serve restaurant, which was surprisingly affordable (loved the salads!). The pool was adequate - the spa and beach area are under construction. The Disney monorail passes through the hotel, and there are regular buses to all the Disney sites, so transportation is easy. There is no-cost self-park (valet is $10) across the road - we had no problem finding parking. You can buy park tickets from the concierge desk; they are also very helpful in giving advice and directions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#26 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#46 Business Hotel in Orlando
#50 Family Hotel in Orlando
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa is a Victorian-style Disney Deluxe Resort distinguished as the flagship hotel of Walt Disney World Resort and offering world-class dining, entertainment and luxurious accommodations in its 6 striking red-gabled buildings. This magnificent hotel sits along the white-sand shores of Seven Seas Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.