We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club-level worth the extra!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Yacht Club Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Yacht Club Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Club-level worth the extra!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and two teenagers headed to the Yacht Club after the Hard Rock Hotel and Universal/Islands of Adventure, and we were in for a treat! I am not a big Disney person, and I normally wouldn't give this 5-stars, but the kind of trip we were seeking - it fit the bill! The pool is big and shares with neighboring Beach Club Resort. It wasn't as tropical-feeling as The Hard Rock Hotel pool, but it was still top-notch. If you have older kids, it's a great choice because you are within walking distance to Epcot and the Boardwalk; offering great dining choices and ambiance.

We opted to upgrade to the Club level at both hotels (Hard Rock and Yacht Club). Comparing the two, Yacht Club was 1000 times better than Hard Rock (maybe we just hit the wrong week at HRH, but it didn't measure up to what YC offered on the menu). With the Club level, you have access to a dining lounge, with free food... and there was a lot of it! It was by no means a full buffet at each dining time, but it certainly filled us up with great options of hot and cold food.. so much so, that we didn't need to eat out. We did eat out one night at The Flying Fish, and we should have saved our money - the food at the hotel was great, not to mention the free wine, beer, aperitifs, cordials, soda, etc. The Flying Fish seemed like flying money... the food wasn't as good as the reviews said, and it was $$$ for a family of four.

Our first trip to Disney was all about the parks, and we did the Deluxe Dining Plan, which was awesome and well worth it (we stayed at one of the economy hotels, and put our money to the Dining plan). This trip was more about spending time at the nicer hotel, with the added upgrade and access to all-you-can eat/drink breakfast, lunch (just snacks), dinner apps, and dessert. The club-level is well worth considering if you have a limited budget, but want to stay in one of the luxury hotels at Disney. Enjoy!
PS: the Service/staff was over the top excellent too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    457
    157
    63
    30
See reviews for
732
262
16
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We are Disney Vacation Club Members and we visit Disney at least once/year with our two boys who are 9 and 10. This was our first stay at Yacht Club and we really liked it. The room had two queen beds and a day bed which was great. We had a good location (room 1163). We were greeted upon arrival and all staff was great (as usually is with Disney). The pool area is fun but actually a bit too large for us. We like to keep an eye on the boys from one location and you can't do that here. That said.....it was an amazing pool with great service. Lots of dining options between the resorts nearby and the Boardwalk and an easy walk to Epcot. If we were looking for a standard room on Disney property I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Room 1163 is close to lobby, shops and transportation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This was the 3rd time staying at this lovely hotel. As usual we were not disappointed. The staff was friendly. The rooms spotless. Ours was located on concierge floor, overlooking the lake and pool. We could see the fireworks from Epcot. Beds were comfortable. The concierge room had snacks during the day, with hot food at night, which were delicious. The sandy bottom pool was beautiful. Eating here is expensive. Fast food restaurants took a while to get in. We ate a quick lunch at pool side. The lobster shrimp roll was good, but the kids chicken fingers were cold and dried out. There are movies on the beach at night at 9pm. The hotel has lots of rocking chairs to just sit and take in the sights. We got caught in a quick rainfall, to find a large basket of towels waiting at the door to dry off with. Special touches from a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having been to Disney before we selected this year to stay at the Yacht Club Hotel in the disney park.
This is the place to stay for the best location, 4 minute walk into Epcot, best swimming pool in the park resorts and good accomodation within the hotel.
Look at the alternatives, but they will not beat this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

You can't go wrong at this hotel. Every time we stay, the service is fantastic, the food is amazing and the location is well worth the price. So much to do and the kids love the pool. My children vote for this hotel even though I try to sway them towards new experiences each time we go. They love the waterslides and the friendly atmosphere.

Book a fireworks pontoon ride at Epcot and leave from this hotel.

Walk to boardwalk.

Boat into either Epcot or the Studios -- or walk. Beautiful.

Always 5 star treatment from the staff even when you book through Expedia. Absolutely love it there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel itself Iowa very nicely decorated. The walking area was beautiful and it faced the breathtaking boardwalk area and the lagoon. The hotel was conveniently located and was a short boat trip away from Epcot and Hollywood studios(you can also walk there if you want!). My gf absolutely loved the theme - everything in the hotel reminisced the yacht. There were also lots of dining options and entertainments, if you stay there be sure to check out the Kouzzina by cat Cora in boardwalk, it's hands down the best restaurant in disney.

Room Tip: Choose the water view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed here many times in the past and have always loved the Yacht Club and the Regatta Club (giving it 5 stars always). This last visit left a little to be desired and I think some of it was because of a change in health status for 1 of the family members. Our last trip here was in May of 2013 and my husband had injured his leg severely enough prior to our arrival that he needed to use a scooter while we were at Disney World. Unfortunately, most of the rooms at the hotel are not handicap accessible and we were unable to get one at the last minute on the Club level. While his scooter did fit through the door to get into the room, it just barely fit and there really was no place to park it that didn't block either access to a sink in the bathroom area or the doors to the balcony area. It was difficult for him to hobble around in the room and especially the bathroom. I can only imagine how difficult it would be for someone who was not young and otherwise healthy to have to get in and out of the bathroom. The bathroom is so small that it would be difficult for someone with a walker to get into the bathroom, turn around, and then close the door. I think Disney should look at putting a pocket door into the wall between the sink area and bathroom- although it wouldn't make the bathroom bigger it would look a little bigger to not have the door scraping the front of the toilet when it is opened and closed and make it easier for someone with a walker, cane, or crutches to use the room.
We also ended up at the end of the hall and had a long ride down the corridors with the scooter. It was very difficult at times to get past the housekeeping carts in the hallways to get to our room. And at times there was another scooter parked in the hallway that obviously was not able to get into the room it was assigned to so it was plugged in outside the room and it took up additional space . Lastly, to add to the hallway trouble, there were dishes outside every other room placed as land mines to further narrow the hallways. I think between housekeeping and the concierge staff on the 5th floor someone needs to be picking dishes up outside of rooms every hour from sun up to sun down. Sometimes I would see the same dishes from 8am outside someones door later around 10pm.
There was also very little room for my husband to use the scooter in the Regatta Club- he would have to park it in the hall, much to the Cast Members disapprovement, and hobble into the Regatta Club to get food or drinks. The desks and chairs used by the concierge cast members on the 5th floor were large and stuck out enough into the hall space that it was difficult to get by them and get into the elevator with the scooter, especially if any other visitors were sitting in the chairs and had their luggage with them. And the elevators were only just big enough for him to drive in and have the doors close behind him and the 2 of use traveling with him squished off to the sides.
Now, what about using the pool area with a scooter. Forget it. He would have to enter the Stormalong Bay and stay in one area only or he would have to leave the pool area, go all the way around using the large sidewalk/boardwalk areas or using the porches and hallways into and out of the Yacht and Beach Clubs to get from one side of the pool to the other, to go from the kids pool to the poolside restaurant, or even from kids pool to larger pool. And don't get me started on the lounge chairs and tables that also were moved around by patrons and blocked what little path he had even more. We ended up having to use the quiet pool whenever he decided to come to the pool because of the hassle.
And what to say about the bus and water taxis when it comes to a scooter. Oh my gosh. The buses are difficult to get these large scooters onto and the same goes with the water taxis. There is space inside but it is difficult to maneuver these devices in tighter quarters. And there is not many spaces on the buses or water taxis. So if more than 2 people are using a scooter or wheel chair you have to wait for the next bus or water taxi. One morning we had to wait over 45 minutes before a bus was able to take my husbands scooter because others would already be on board and there was no room for him (frustrating because the bus stop is the 3rd stop right after the Swan and Dolphin- heaven help anyone waiting at the stops following this such as Beach or Boardwalk). I believe when they purchased the buses and water taxis and designed the buildings, elevators, etc. the scooter devices people used were much smaller or they just used wheel chairs. But these larger devices need more room to maneuver in and I know that the design of these devices is not Disney's fault but if they are going to claim to be accessible they need to make some changes.
Our other observations were also ones regarding upkeep of the property. Many of the walls going down the hallways have tears in the wallpaper and banged up molding around the doors and floors. And since our room was past the housekeeping closets and service elevators we saw lots of damage to walls and doorways down in that area. The Mouse may want to look at getting different housekeeping carts and Valet/Luggage carts to prevent some of this damage. It looked horrible. They also may want to look into the flooring in the bathrooms at this resort. The Marble, although beautiful when it was first put in I'm sure, looks not so good. If you look on the floor by the toilet/commode, you will see that it has stained yellow. It always looks like someone has just peed on the floor. Yuck.
Despite all of this, we still had a good time at this hotel and at the Disney Parks. We just saw things from a different perspective this time and hope some improvements can and will be made. Also hoping we won't have to use a scooter the next time we come to the park but if we do we will make different arrangements and maybe stay at a hotel on the monorail line instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Yacht Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Address: 1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#24 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#37 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#50 Business Hotel in Orlando
#65 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Yacht Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the formal grace of a grand New England-style yacht club at this lakeside hotel. Relax in the inviting elegance of a plush lobby replete with nautical touches, explore the whimsical Stormalong Bay and rent a variety of watercraft from Bayside Marina. Sharing many amenities with its pastel-toned sister, Disney's Beach Club Resort, Disney's Yacht Club Resort is walking distance to Epcot and a convenient boat ride to Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Disney's Yacht Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Yacht Club Hotel Orlando
Disneys Yacht Hotel
Disneys Yacht Resort
Yacht Club Disney
Disney Yacht And Beach Club
Yacht Club Orlando
Disney Yacht Club Resort
Disneys Yacht Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Yacht Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.