We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and elegant resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Yacht Club Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Yacht Club Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 328 hotels in Orlando
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Romantic and elegant resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel itself Iowa very nicely decorated. The walking area was beautiful and it faced the breathtaking boardwalk area and the lagoon. The hotel was conveniently located and was a short boat trip away from Epcot and Hollywood studios(you can also walk there if you want!). My gf absolutely loved the theme - everything in the hotel reminisced the yacht. There were also lots of dining options and entertainments, if you stay there be sure to check out the Kouzzina by cat Cora in boardwalk, it's hands down the best restaurant in disney.

Room Tip: Choose the water view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    630
    340
    119
    54
    27
See reviews for
570
196
13
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed here many times in the past and have always loved the Yacht Club and the Regatta Club (giving it 5 stars always). This last visit left a little to be desired and I think some of it was because of a change in health status for 1 of the family members. Our last trip here was in May of 2013 and my husband had injured his leg severely enough prior to our arrival that he needed to use a scooter while we were at Disney World. Unfortunately, most of the rooms at the hotel are not handicap accessible and we were unable to get one at the last minute on the Club level. While his scooter did fit through the door to get into the room, it just barely fit and there really was no place to park it that didn't block either access to a sink in the bathroom area or the doors to the balcony area. It was difficult for him to hobble around in the room and especially the bathroom. I can only imagine how difficult it would be for someone who was not young and otherwise healthy to have to get in and out of the bathroom. The bathroom is so small that it would be difficult for someone with a walker to get into the bathroom, turn around, and then close the door. I think Disney should look at putting a pocket door into the wall between the sink area and bathroom- although it wouldn't make the bathroom bigger it would look a little bigger to not have the door scraping the front of the toilet when it is opened and closed and make it easier for someone with a walker, cane, or crutches to use the room.
We also ended up at the end of the hall and had a long ride down the corridors with the scooter. It was very difficult at times to get past the housekeeping carts in the hallways to get to our room. And at times there was another scooter parked in the hallway that obviously was not able to get into the room it was assigned to so it was plugged in outside the room and it took up additional space . Lastly, to add to the hallway trouble, there were dishes outside every other room placed as land mines to further narrow the hallways. I think between housekeeping and the concierge staff on the 5th floor someone needs to be picking dishes up outside of rooms every hour from sun up to sun down. Sometimes I would see the same dishes from 8am outside someones door later around 10pm.
There was also very little room for my husband to use the scooter in the Regatta Club- he would have to park it in the hall, much to the Cast Members disapprovement, and hobble into the Regatta Club to get food or drinks. The desks and chairs used by the concierge cast members on the 5th floor were large and stuck out enough into the hall space that it was difficult to get by them and get into the elevator with the scooter, especially if any other visitors were sitting in the chairs and had their luggage with them. And the elevators were only just big enough for him to drive in and have the doors close behind him and the 2 of use traveling with him squished off to the sides.
Now, what about using the pool area with a scooter. Forget it. He would have to enter the Stormalong Bay and stay in one area only or he would have to leave the pool area, go all the way around using the large sidewalk/boardwalk areas or using the porches and hallways into and out of the Yacht and Beach Clubs to get from one side of the pool to the other, to go from the kids pool to the poolside restaurant, or even from kids pool to larger pool. And don't get me started on the lounge chairs and tables that also were moved around by patrons and blocked what little path he had even more. We ended up having to use the quiet pool whenever he decided to come to the pool because of the hassle.
And what to say about the bus and water taxis when it comes to a scooter. Oh my gosh. The buses are difficult to get these large scooters onto and the same goes with the water taxis. There is space inside but it is difficult to maneuver these devices in tighter quarters. And there is not many spaces on the buses or water taxis. So if more than 2 people are using a scooter or wheel chair you have to wait for the next bus or water taxi. One morning we had to wait over 45 minutes before a bus was able to take my husbands scooter because others would already be on board and there was no room for him (frustrating because the bus stop is the 3rd stop right after the Swan and Dolphin- heaven help anyone waiting at the stops following this such as Beach or Boardwalk). I believe when they purchased the buses and water taxis and designed the buildings, elevators, etc. the scooter devices people used were much smaller or they just used wheel chairs. But these larger devices need more room to maneuver in and I know that the design of these devices is not Disney's fault but if they are going to claim to be accessible they need to make some changes.
Our other observations were also ones regarding upkeep of the property. Many of the walls going down the hallways have tears in the wallpaper and banged up molding around the doors and floors. And since our room was past the housekeeping closets and service elevators we saw lots of damage to walls and doorways down in that area. The Mouse may want to look at getting different housekeeping carts and Valet/Luggage carts to prevent some of this damage. It looked horrible. They also may want to look into the flooring in the bathrooms at this resort. The Marble, although beautiful when it was first put in I'm sure, looks not so good. If you look on the floor by the toilet/commode, you will see that it has stained yellow. It always looks like someone has just peed on the floor. Yuck.
Despite all of this, we still had a good time at this hotel and at the Disney Parks. We just saw things from a different perspective this time and hope some improvements can and will be made. Also hoping we won't have to use a scooter the next time we come to the park but if we do we will make different arrangements and maybe stay at a hotel on the monorail line instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at the Yacht Club resort and had an outstanding experience. The accommodations were lovely...we stayed on the Club Level with a view of the pool and the lagoon. The club level offers a great continental breakfast, snacks, heavy hors-d'oeuvres at dinner, wine and beer and other non-alcoholic beverages, wonderful desserts and after-dinner drinks later in the evening. The pool is spectacular and the transportation system easy and convenient. Campfires on the beach at night and movies, too. Excellent health club with great equipment. Staff is excellent throughout the resort and very accommodating. Nice selection of restaurants and convenient to other Disney resorts.

Room Tip: Club level room facing the lagoon...Room 5221...close enough to the lounge for convenience but away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we loved this place. my husband and i stayed and one room and we got a second room for our adult children (adjoining). the rooms were beautiful and clean, they looked out to the lake/pier area. we saw fireworks every nite from our patio @ 9 pm from epcot. the cast members were are very friendly and the lobby was always quiet (the beach club lobby was always noisey) you could have a cup of coffee and relax in the lobby waiting for the rest of your party to wake up! the outside valets helped us get a cab since we were late leaving for a dinner reservation and could'nt take the bus. this was our second visit to this resort and i think this will be the only one we will go to.we have stayed at other disney resorts,(they were fine) this was best!! housekeeping,lifeguard,wait staff,desk staff were great and tentive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at the Disney Yacht Club for a conference. Taking the Magical Express transportation option was worthwhile (just remember your luggage will arrive later than you do, so pack shorts or bathing suit in your carry on). I was fortunate to get a room near the elevator so didn't have the misfortune of long walks as other reviewers had. The resort only has 5 floors (5th floor is concierge level) so there's no issue waiting for elevators. My king room was very clean and spacious. No negative or 'gotchas' to pass along. Disney service was impressive. Fitness room was great but could've use some air circulation (aka fans..). Property was immaculate. Conference center is attached and ideally suited for conferences.

Room Tip: Room 3148 is a king room with balcony. Right around corner from elevator and is in a quiet location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We came back one week ago from our disney vacation and stayed at the Yacht Club hotel and had a great time. It has a New England feel about the place with a nautical theme. It had a very calm and elegant ambience to it. The rooms were very clean, the beds comfortble, and very quiet at night. I had some of the best sleeps in a while. The hotel is one of the Epcot resorts and is a five minute walk away. It also has a separate entrance so you can avoid the major crowds of the main epcot entrance. The bus service to the other parks was very frequent. I don't think we waited more than 5 minutes on any day. The pools are awesome, especially if you have small children. There is a kids beach pool with sand. Pails and shovels were provided as well as life jackets if you wanted for swimming. There was also a small lazy river pool and a quiet pool for adults. Our Five year old was looking forward to going to the pool more than to the parks! We had a club level room which provided the extra access to separate check in, free breakfast items in the fifth floor concierge room in the morning, snacks and drinks during the day, and desserts and aperitifs in the evening. I have to say, we never needed to breakfast anywhere else. The staff were very courteous, helpful, and very contientious. I had forgotten $50 in one of the drawers in my room. I had forgotten all about it until I got a package in the mail from the hotel with the money in it! I was very impressed. Would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The best feature of the hotel is the pool area. The lazy river was nice and the kids in the area seemed to love the sand. The kids meals at the snack bar were served in a bright sand bucket, so there was no shortage of buckets.
Only guests of the Beach Club and Yacht Club were allowed, so that kept the crowd size manageable.

The room was fine, but the view from the balcony was of the roof. There were many rooms sharing the same view, so if the view is important you might want to pay extra for a better view.

The restaurants were excellent. I loved the buffet breakfast at the Captain's Grille. We were able to purchase refillable mugs, which allowed unlimited drink refills for the duration of our stay, but only at the pool area and the hours for the drink station were not very early or late. We had to go to the snack area located at the Beach Club to fill them on several occasions. If you're traveling with kids and/or doing the dining plan, the Beach Club is more convenient.

The transportation is nice, especially the friendship boats to Hollywood Studios and to Epcot. A bus is the only option for the water parks, Magic Kingdom and Animal Kingdom.

Overall, we enjoyed our visit and would recommend it as a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Yacht Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Address: 1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#25 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#62 Business Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Yacht Club Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Yacht Club Resort is a lakeside Disney Deluxe Resort featuring lush landscaping and the formal grace of a grand New England yacht club. Designed by architect Robert A.M. Stern—known for his East Coast beach houses—this splendid 5-story Resort transports Guests to the summertime Shingle Style hotels of Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Disney's Yacht Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Yacht Club Hotel Orlando
Disneys Yacht Hotel
Disneys Yacht Resort
Yacht Club Disney
Disney Yacht And Beach Club
Yacht Club Orlando
Disney Yacht Club Resort
Disneys Yacht Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Yacht Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.