We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Yacht Club Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Yacht Club Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Girona, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Let me start off by saying, I worked here for a short period of time. I do not work there now and Please do not consider this as a promotion of the Yacht club. This place is great, starting with the service at the front desk, to the small details, they try take care of it for you. You just have to let them know if you need anything. The hotel is connected to the beach club next door and you will use the pool there and it has a sand bottom. It feels great to feel sand on the bottom of your feet. Oh! did I mention there is great ice cream at beaches and cream and one of my favorite restaurants the Yachtsmans steak house !!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    414
    140
    59
    27
See reviews for
665
228
15
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

There are any number of nice resorts @ Disneyworld, but we chose The Yacht Club resort for our recent stay for of its location. It's easy walking distance to Epcot... 10 minutes if you stroll. It's also a quick boat ride away from HollyWood Studios... 12 minutes tops, and the boats come every 12 minutes. In true Disney style, the logistics work beautifully. As for the hotel itself, its great if you have kids. They have an enormous pool and waterside... the largest @ DisneyWorld. The rooms are fine, nothing special. And ours had a couple annoying quirks: several fixtures did not have working lightbulbs, and our bathroom door banged into the base of the toilet.

On the positive side, we were surprised by the high quality of the food at the restaurants. The Captain's Grille was great for breakfast and dinner, and we especially enjoyed the Lemon Hotcakes.

In all likelihood, you're not going to spend a great deal of time in your hotel room @ Disney. If you're looking for a central location from which to begin your adventures, this is a good one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have stayed at many of the Disney resorts and this is at the top of the list! The resort and grounds are beautiful. The location can't be beat, you have a choice of taking a boat or walking to both Epcot or Hollywood Studios. HS is probably better by boat since you are so close to the dock. The room was extremely clean and crisp looking. We were in the wing closest to the boardwalk so we were a little far from the lobby but we rarely had a need to go to the lobby. One drawback, if you are thirsty and want to refill your mug, it's a far walk and the one time I decided to go to the lobby for a refill, the place had already closed. I did not use the pool as it was a little cool and windy, but we have used the pool complex when staying at the Beach Club and it was very crowded. You can take a 5 minute stroll over to the boardwalk area and have many food options. It's a bit pricey, but for a special trip, I would highly recommend staying at the Yacht Club. I would describe it as a more adult feel, rather than with little kids. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: We did pay to have an upgraded garden view room and I felt that put us in a a better, quieter locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

First time at Disney's Yacht Club! At check in, I was greeted promptly and courteously after a long, grueling day of travel. Guest services was able to accommodate my request for a King room as opposed to two queens on the ground floor. The room faced the marina and Disney's Boardwalk and provided a lovely view. The bathroom was adequate, but lacked in shower pressure for my taste, but offered a nice assortment of Disney's H20 facial soap, grapefruit and bergamot shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and lotions. The hair dryer provided was 1875 watts and worked adequately. There are plenty of towels & washcloths provided. There were two closets, one with a keyed safe to store small valuables. There was a Cuisinart cup by cup coffee maker with pods and the coffee was fabulous! There is a small sink, and a small refrigerator in the room as well. The wireless worked flawlessly and is free to all guests. The king size bed was comfortable with lots of pillows, but I would have enjoyed a heavier cover in the cooler weather. If you plan on nodding off early, don't be surprised to be awakened by Epcot's fireworks at 9 p.m. which you can see from the resort. If you're too weary to travel off site and want to eat outside, Hurricane Hannah's serves food and drinks by the pool. The service there was excellent! Have Noel, Mark or Tom make one of your favorite drinks! Beaches and Cream boasts the best malts, shakes and burgers, in fact, the best burger I had was the Angus with blue cheese, an onion ring, bacon and lettuce and tomato on freshly baked buns. Cost was $15 USD. Julie cooked me the perfect burger there and service again was quick and courteous! I also enjoyed a new york strip at the Captain's Grill which was 10 oz and ran about $30 USD. Pedro was our server and was attentive and responsive. The pool area is heated, and there is a waterslide for children. There is a quieter pool on premises as well, although I did not use it. The Crew Lounge also has limited seating, but great for after work happy hour or convention wrap up - Sheila was our server and was superfast at keeping the drinks flowing :) Laundry runs about $2.00 a load for washing & drying, but if traveling with children for long periods of time, you'll enjoy having the service. Bring your walking shoes and a sweatshirt or jacket in the spring - a souvenier hoodie will set you back $60. If using Disney's Magical Express Shuttle Service, plan on 1 hr or so to arrive at the Yacht Club from MCO. Upon checkout the staff will print your boarding pass, take care of your luggage and ensure you are booked on a shuttle or assist with a cab. Overall, this hotel is a very nice stay for a convention or family vacation because of it's service, and location. Disney definitely prioritzes catering to its guests first and will accommodate your requests if they are able. Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7days the facility is ok could use some updates, got to the resort at 9:30pm on a Saturday night, all the restaurants were closed except the bar, we shared a table with someone else and the serving staff just couldn't keep up. I had to clean off the table from previous patrons and later had to find plates & cutlery for us to use. Next morning for breakfast we had to Waite 20 minutes for a table, only to find lots of empty tables in the restaurant the same thing later in the week. I believe they don't staff well enough to handle the volume. You are somewhat trapped once you are on the resort. As there aren't many options near by, the board walk is near but many of the restaurants are open limited hours.
We noticed room service dished in the hallways for up to 24 hours before being picked up and garbage in the stairwell for 48 hours before being picked up. Not what I expected for the price and from Disney.

A good experience most of the time but they need to get the details right

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This Deluxe Resort it’s in closest proximity to both Epcot and Disney’s Hollywood Studios.
It’s right beside sister hotel, the Beach Club, and designed and decorated to remind guests of New England’s Yacht Club.

As soon as you walk into the lobby, cast members are dressed in nautical theme and always with a smile and helping hand. One of the things I will always remember about Disney’s Yacht Club is the distinct sweet scent of the lobby. Each time we entered the building, I couldn’t help but smile and take a huge breath, inhaling my surroundings and taking pleasure in where I was.

The resort was one fabulous place to stay, one which I wouldn’t hesitate to stay again. It has a wonderful pool area called Stormalong Bay, complete with pirate ship with a waterslide down the mast and real soft white sand surrounding the main pool.

There are also smaller/quieter pools and kiddie pools, with a pool-side snack shop and lifeguards.

Restaurants, shops and many other amenities are right there, offering guests anything they could ever need. For kids, there’s something to see at every turn from the Disney Classic movies shown on the Lobby TV to the super-fun huge globe that was made just for this resort. Indeed the kids felt at home just as much as the adults.

Walk toward the beautiful lighthouse and there is boat transortation right there on the dock. Leaving every 10 minutes, guests can travel to Epcot, the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin hotels, Disney’s Hollywood Studios, and Disney’s Boardwalk resort {bus transortation is available just as often, to the other areas of Walt Disney World}.

The rooms themselves are spectacular. For our family of 5, we had more than enough room and the beds and linens were so very comfortable. Notice the hidden Mickey heads in my room photos? ‘Finding Mickey’ is always a fun game to play with the kids, as they are hidden all over the property.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family and I just had the opportunity to spend a week at Disney's Yacht Club Resort in Orlando Florida. We had an amazing time and I will do my best to touch on all aspects of what made it great and what could potentially use some improvement.

When we arrived it was quite late in the evening but we were handled courteously and efficiently by desk and concierge staff. Our room was sized nicely for a family of four and we had a gorgeous view of the property from our balcony. We were staying on the Regatta Club floor which means that we had access to snacks and beverages at certain times of the day and a light breakfast each morning which helped cut down on food costs during our stay.
The grounds were immaculate and the pool area was kid paradise with a small wading area with sand for the little guys, and several other pool sections of various depths that wound their way through the grounds. They even have a couple of decent waterslides (2) for various age groups. Group activities for the kids were held at the pool on several days and our youngest son (9) had a blast making friends all over the place.
The resort is located on a boardwalk that connects you to the other resorts in the area and to attractions such as Epcot. There is also a water taxi that runs to the resort that will take you to many other locations as well. Food was not all that memorable but it was priced within reason and you could always venture out on the boardwalk for something different if you felt the need. The overall ambiance was that of a family friendly location but the demographic represented at the hotel was wide with older couples and younger 20 somethings in equal proportions.
The concierge desk on our floor was extremely helpful and were invaluable for helping organize trips to various Disney attractions, though they were less versed on other offsite non-Disney options, but this I suppose could be expected.

Room for improvement?

There wasn't much I would really complain about but if I were to make a few suggestions they would be as follows:

The cost of the Regatta Club was not really represented in the access or offerings to the lounge.
The breakfast offerings were bagels for toasting, cereal, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs and yogurt.
-This was satisfying to a certain extent but got repetitive after a few days.
Lunch consisted of homemade chips, trail mix, yogurt covered pretzels and candy fish.
-Not really a lunch alternative here and nothing that was unprocessed in some fashion.
Dinner had a decent amount of hot options as well as access to wine and beer (unlimited between 5-7pm)
-This was the best time slot not only for the varied hot food options, but they had vegetables to choose from and the free flowing beer and wine didn't hurt either IF we were around during that time slot which can be challenging if you are out seeing theme parks during the day.

Later evening had dessert offering and aperitifs’

We would have loved to had more access to healthier options like vegetables as opposed to sugar based or deep-fried/processed but the kids enjoyed the offerings for the most part. Just don't expect Regatta Club to be a true meal replacement option.

The other observation we had was that a few concierge staff lacked decorum in regards to talking about guests when they though no one was listening. We overheard a few select staff on a couple of occasions commenting about the attire of other guests or making comments that would have not been made in their presence and we felt this was a bit distasteful when we did by chance overhear it.

All told though we had an amazing time and would recommend this hotel to anyone. We would love to go back should we ever get the opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Yacht Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Address: 1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#25 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
#63 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#77 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Yacht Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Yacht Club Resort is a lakeside Disney Deluxe Resort featuring lush landscaping and the formal grace of a grand New England yacht club. Designed by architect Robert A.M. Stern—known for his East Coast beach houses—this splendid 5-story Resort transports Guests to the summertime Shingle Style hotels of Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Yacht Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Yacht Club Hotel Orlando
Disneys Yacht Hotel
Disneys Yacht Resort
Yacht Club Disney
Disney Yacht And Beach Club
Yacht Club Orlando
Disney Yacht Club Resort
Disneys Yacht Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Yacht Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.