We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Save Saved
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2004

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Wilderness Lodge. We had stayed at this resort 3 years ago, and decided to return based upon past experience.

I agree with the many suggestions that the resort is ready for an update. Although not bad, I don't think the resort is up to the standards of Disney Deluxe resort. The Wilderness Lodge is always priced as the least expense Deluxe resort, but I would expect a bit more. We were in king bed, courtyard view room. All king bed rooms are handicap accesible. We had no problem with this. We were on the first floor, which was certainly handy. The wallpaper in the room was showing it's age, peeling in areas and the tile in the bathroom had a touch of mold. There were no upgrades in the room besides space from a moderate resort. The bed was comfortable, and I appreciate that Disney uses Ivory soap as their standard.

Our most previous stay was at the Yacht club and it was certainly a few notches above the Wilderness Lodge. Again, I admit the price is not the same, but if Disney is calling this a deluxe resort, I expect Deluxe service.

It was a combination of many small things that added to our general feeling of "not the best." I still think the resort is a good option, but it would be much better if it went through a refurbishment. I would not be the least unhappy if this resort was catagorized at a moderate resort.

We only ate at Roaring Forks at the resort. The service was just fine for breakfast. I love the boat to the Magic Kingdom and the Contemporary. It was very crowded the weekend we were there, but the resort was able to manage the numbers of people with ease.

Overall, our stay at the Wilderness Lodge was fine. Disney magic is all around. Enjoy your trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,254
    589
    176
    84
    31
See reviews for
1367
285
21
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2004

We just spent 5 days at the Wilderness Lodge for Thanksgiving and was very disappointed at the quality of rooms and service of the hotel.

The rooms are not very big and the bathrooms were old, in need of updating and had some small bugs in one room. Staff was seemed overworked and not very frieldly as if they were doing you a favor by speaking to you.

Whispering Canyon Cafe is very over rated, expensive and quality of food not worth the money. Our waiter seemed to want to be anywhere but dealing with guests and children.

Best thing about the hotel was the pool and hot tub, but that ended up being closed one night b/c of an electrical malfunction....

My recommendation is to save the $$ and take a tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2004

Just returned on Saturday vacationed w/my daughter and her family, We were on the 4th floor they were a few doors away. Wilderness Lodge was not my choice I would have picked somewhere else to go (Beach Club or Grand Floridian) were my choices but my daughter picked this hotel for our grandson. It was a great choice! The beds were the best I have ever slept in so were the pillows. It is not for everyone but if you are going w/children it's great. The rooms were immaculate they even left little animals made from washcloths. The service was great every call to the front desk ended w/Have a magical day!!! We are not Disney World people we like to go tropical beaches and do nothing but this was absolutely great going w/our grandson he loved it and so did we. Of course I need another vacation to recover from this one but I am so glad we did it.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2004

My boyfriend and I have annual passes to Disney World and he surprised me with two nights at the Wilderness Lodge for my birthday in mid-October. It was such a pleasant stay. We had a room on the 5th floor toward the end of the hallway and it had a wonderful view of the pool, the lake and beyond. We were up early and watched the sunrise both mornings. The room was very comfortable and we really enjoyed staying there. It's just enough away from the hustle and bustle that you do feel that you are on vacation! Maybe a few more minutes to take a boat or bus than to be on the monorail line but I would definitely say it was worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2004

We just got back from a 4 day trip to Disney World and stayed at the Wilderness Lodge. My husband & I stayed there back in 1997 before we were married and it was the most beautiful resort I had ever stayed in. Coming back 7 years later, I have to say I was a bit dissapointed. Still has the gorgeous, cozy lobby, but our room was no better than your standard motel room. The knobs on the bathroom sinks looks old & cruddy and had pieces missing, the shower curtain had a mold spot on it and one of the rings was broken, the sinks looked like they were 20 years old, and some of the tiles in the shower were moldy. Our room was really small, too. They used to have lush landscaping out by the waterfall area, but not anymore. Just not what I remembered from our last trip to the lodge! The only luxury thing about this hotel is the lobby. We waited 35 minutes for a bus to Epcot before giving up and taking a boat to the Magic Kingdom. I love the boat service - we never waited more than 10 minutes. Roaring Forks is outrageously overpriced. It cost me over $10 for a cup of tea, 2 tiny boxes of cereal and a cup of milk. I will definitely come back to this resort once it has undergone some updated renovations. Next trip we will stay at the Grand Floridian or the Animal Kingdom Lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2004

Stayed here because we heard that this place is great.
I liked the theme but I did get alittle tired of it after a week. The resort is very themed and sometimes cheesy.
The resort is pricey and the rooms are pretty much basic
The pool is ok but nothing wonderful and the rooms are not sound proof. I could always here what was happening outside the room.
If you can stay at Wilderness Lodge Villas which do not cost much more and are much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford,ct
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2004

This was our 3rd trip to Disney as a family. We have gone when my children were 3 and 5, 5 and 7 and now when they are 7 and 9. We have stayed at the contemporary, the caribbean beach resort and now the wilderness lodge. We arrived early and got to choose from several available rooms in the courtyard view category room that we had booked. Our room was on the 4th floor with absolutley stunning views of the pool and bay lake. We were able to see the electric water pageant from our balcony perfectly, and even had a decent glimpse of the magic kingdom fireworks at night.
The lobby is the most architecturally beautiful one that I have ever seen. You really feel as if you are in a national park somewhere, not on disney property. The rooms are smaller than the other deluxe hotels, but are more than adequate. The resort has a boat launch to the magic kingdom and we never had a wait. We also enjoyed the whispering canyon cafe with the kids! It was a blast!
The pool was also beautiful and we got to rent a
canopy boat and cruise the lake.
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I will never stay anywhere else on Disney property again!! Just Go!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#10 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#26 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.