We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 328 Hotels in Orlando
Wien, Österreich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend and I (both in our late twenties) spent 4 nights at Disney's Wilderness Lodge at the beginning of May. We had a woods view room on the 4th floor, which was immaculately clean and had a very cozy feel to it. The balcony was another perk - we loved sitting outside hearing the birds sing - we even saw a tiny African bunny on the lawn outside our window once - perfect serenity! Another positive attribute of our room was the extremely quiet AC - we stayed in quite a few hotels during our 3 week Florida trip and never experienced a quieter (but still very effective) air condition in any of the other (also high end) hotels we stayed at.
The hotel itself is stunning, the lobby breathtakingly beautiful, the grounds very well maintained, everything was clean and all the cast members were extremely friendly. I recommend getting a woods view room to everybody who likes to have some quiet time, as the lobby and pool area do get loud at certain times.
We ate at the hotel 2 times: once for dinner at the bar, which was of an extremely high quality (food comes from the Artist Pointe kitchen) - loved the truffle fries and mushroom soup!!! On another occasion we had breakfast at Whispering Canyon Cafe, which was good as well. You can choose if you want to be part of the shenanigans or not (just turn your button to red and you'll be safe).
Another thing we thoroughly enjoyed was the boat ride to Magic Kingdom and the Contemporary Ressort. I cannot stress enough how nice it was to start the day with a serene 10 minute boat ride to the park - we loved it! (Tried the monorail two times and found it dirty and smelling..) The boats ran often, we never had to wait longer than 5 minutes, even at night.
All in all, it was an extremely pleasant stay and we were so happy with our choice for this hotel. If we ever visit WDW again, we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,539
    767
    223
    95
    35
See reviews for
1,729
346
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just returned from a one week stay at Wilderness Lodge and it was great! The lobby is amazing, the staff was helpful, food was tasty and the boat services was speedy and relaxing. The only time we really had to wait long for anything was for a bus to Animal Kingdom (which unfortunately took a lot longer than we had anticipated, which made us miss a fast pass time, but the CMs at the ride let us on anyway). We enjoyed the pool everyday as well. I highly recommend this hotel if you want something close to Magic Kingdom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first experience at Wilderness Lodge. We split our stay between here and Animal Kingdom Lodge – Kidani Village. AKL wasn’t available for all our dates (our home resort), so we reserved a cash room at WL.

Pros:
- Proximity to Magic Kingdom. We found the water taxi to be easiest way to get to MK. For everywhere else, we took Disney buses.
- Beautiful lobby. Even if you don’t stay here, it’s worth a look.
- Room was fairly close to the lobby.
- Check-in was efficient. Little issue with Magic Bands, but it was easily fixed.
- Beds are extremely comfortable.
- We had a great view of the fireworks at Magic Kingdom.
- Large store for gifts and groceries.
- Beautiful pool and outside décor.
- Geyser that erupts ever hour on the hour. Very cool.
- Easy walk to transportation.
- Kids activities and a campfire for roasting marshmallows (bring your own chocolate and graham crackers).
- Since it’s located by the water, there are boat rentals. You can fish, parasail, etc.
- Bike rentals – fairly inexpensive and fun.
- DVC rooms (studios and larger) have a separate pool which is nice.

Cons:
- Inside décor is a bit dated.
- As with all of Disney’s resorts (value, moderate, and deluxe), the rooms are way over-priced. You’re paying for the experience and convenience. A $300/night room here is a $100/night elsewhere.
- While we had a view of the fireworks, our actual view was “standard,” which meant service vehicles and a smokehouse. That was the cheapest category and for 2 nights, it was over $500.
- Very busy inside and out.
- Not all of the bus waiting areas are covered.
- Shared buses with Fort Wilderness, the Contemporary, and Blizzard Beach. Do not plan on getting anywhere quick.
- Florida water – it was pretty potent on this trip.
- Coffee pot is actually a two, individual coffee mug brewing system using little pods. You only receive 2. We’d prefer an actual coffee post that are in the villas.

Overall, it was a nice visit. We were really trying it out to see if we wanted to purchase points for this Disney Vacation Club resort. We were underwhelmed and it was just a little too busy. We probably will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family has been going to Walt Disney World for many years and have found our favorite resort to be Disney's Wilderness Lodge. This resort gives the men in our group a chance to fish together while giving the ladies a beautiful little beach area to lay out. The pool is gorgeous and the view of the lake is spectacular, day or night. The sleeping accommodations are very comfortable and our grandchildren love the bunk beds.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We (one couple) stayed at WDW's Wilderness Lodge for four nights at the beginning of May and couldn't have been happier.

The resort is in the group of places to stay near Magic Kingdom, but because it doesn't have access to the Monorail, the rates tend to be slightly cheaper for the area.

Even though you have to take a bus to access all the other parks, you can take a ferry over to MK, which was extremely convenient and never got too crowded. The boat ride seemed to only take five minutes.

Another cool thing about Wilderness Lodge is that it has small boats for rent. We took one out on the lake for 45 minutes and had a blast. I would highly recommend doing this if you have time and want to take a break from the parks.

Most of the time we grabbed food at Roaring Fork, this resort's quick service option. They have very friendly cast members who were willing to go above and beyond for us a few times.

We also ate at Whispering Canyon twice and though we heard stories about how fun the service was, we didn't experience anything particularly unique, so that was a let down.

The resort itself is gorgeous and it was very relaxing being nestled in the woods. Our room was on the 6th floor so we had an awesome view of Cinderella's Castle in Magic Kingdom. They had a nice pool with a slide and two good-sized hot tubs.

We appreciated all the great details at Wilderness Lodge that made our stay extra special.

My advice is, if you'll be visiting Magic Kingdom multiple times throughout your trip, but don't want to spend the extra cash for the Monorail, Wilderness Lodge is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Have stayed at most of the Disney properties but this remains one of my favorites (my husband loves Animal Kingdom Lodge). Rooms is beautifully decorated and comfortable, easy to get to Magic Kingdom by boat, restaurants are good, staff is friendly, great place to stay especially with smaller children as you can take the boat back in the afternoon and chill your over-stimulated kids at the pool and then a quick nap. We continue to go there even though our kids are grown both for the nostalgia and because IT IS JUST FUN! Great restaurants in the Parks and Hotels for adults...

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise and views of fireworks/lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york state
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic! From the moment one enters the magnificent lobby to the spouting geyser, your Disney dreams are about to come true. The "cast members" are courteous and attentive. We stayed on the club level. If anyone is traveling with children, this is the way to go. No rushing the kiddos out the door for breakfast in the am. Just toddle down to the Old Faithful Club where you will find coffee, croissants, cereal, juices, pastry and fruit. As anyone would suspect, the prices of food in the parks is high. On the Club level you will enjoy a continental breakfast each morning, snacks in the afternoon, and, they call it appetizers, but it is truly enough for dinner.... beer, wine and soda included. Between the hours of 7pm to 10 pm desserts are served. The ambiance of this resort is comfortable and quiet. The pool is not huge but big enough for everyone in the family to enjoy a fun day. They now have a splash fun area for the kids to spend hours playing under the bucket of water that fills and dumps periodically.. The rooms are large,clean and contain unique features such as animal carvings on the beds, Bambi and Chip and Dale in the shower in tile. with a balcony. If you ask for a room facing the Magic Kingdom, you will be able to see the fireworks at night over the castle. GREAT, GREAT place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Magic Kingdom to see the nightly fireworks over the castle. t
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#25 Family Hotel in Orlando
#115 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.