We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service at its best PLUS a comfy bed in a quiet room?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
home
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Customer Service at its best PLUS a comfy bed in a quiet room?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

What started out as a problem turned out to have a happy ending. We arrived at the hotel at 1:30 PM and were promptly greeted by Darin who was ready to check us in to our 3 rooms which were ready for us. Unfortunately, one of the rooms was very far away from the others and the one room that was supposed to be a king was a double. Darin told us that their system was down and sent us off to one of the rooms to await word. Within minutes, the room phone rang, it was Darin, who had switched the rooms around to perfection and had updated our magic bands. Very impressive.

Room was spotlessly clean, well-appointed and had the most comfy hotel bed I've ever slept in. We were in room 5140, 5th floor overlooking the woods and the quiet pool, away from the elevator, all as requested. It's true that you occasionally hear a toilet flush through the wall but, overall, it was very quiet. We did not eat at the restaurants but did have a drink at the lovely lobby bar. The pool is a bit small given the scope of the resort but maybe upcoming renovations will enlarge it.
All staff were polite and helpful, especially the front desk where they could answer every question.
We found the transportation to run smoothly and promptly, both the boats and the buses.

Maybe because a lot of schools are back in sessions, we were surprised at the reasonable crowds in the parks, except Magic Kingdom which was packed. The magic band system seems to work quite well and, since we made our fast pass selections months ahead, we got to do everything on our must-do list. A couple of rides did shut down due to those pesky afternoon storms. We ate dinner at Portobello, Chefs de France, Kona and the Marrakech, all were very good.

Over the last 30 years we've stayed at all level of resorts. Wilderness Lodge isn't cheap but it's
so well-themed, so comfy and convenient with the boats and I'd recommend it for couples and families.

Room Tip: 5th floor, woods view, 5140
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    649
    189
    86
    32
See reviews for
1,498
296
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Another amazing Disney resort! Who could ask for a better pool? My children loved the waterside and being able to watch the light parade from our balcony. We also tried all of the food options at the resort, all were great.

The only downfall was the transportation, especially the boats. They weren't running large boats, so we still have to fold our stroller.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Wilderness lodge is awesome. We love it here. ask for a ground floor room facing the pool for the villas. We never had a crowd and we could get right to the pool from our slider. Also, call the week before you get there and ask about being the flag family one morning. You get an unreal view of the heart of WDW. If you can get it it is not to be missed.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Whats not love about this resort,The resort grounds are beautiful,waterfalls,flowers,Geyser,pools,rabbits hopping around,big tall trees and you get a woodsy outdoorsy kind of feeling,right in the heart of Disney!! The lodge is beautiful inside, relax next to the fireplace,you can have breakfast or dinner at the sit down restaurant, hint:dont forget to ask for ketchup!! Or Roaring Forks has a nice selection,they have great, large pecan cinnamon rolls!Yum!The rooms are nice and clean,beds are pillowtop and very comfortable!! The courtyard view rooms overlooks the big pool and waterfall and maybe the lake depending on your location of your room. You can take the boat to Magic Kingdom,and to Fort Wilderness,or the bus to the parks! You can also view the nightime water electrical parade on the lake! Dont forget to ask for the Hidden mickey game while your there!! This is our favorite resort and will definitly stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were there in late July. It is a beautiful resort, with very helpful Disney staff. The quick service dining area was efficient, and had polite, helpful cast members each time we visited. We really enjoyed being able to ride the boat over to the Magic Kingdom, as it seemed to be more relaxing than the bus rides. The room had cool furnishings, and was very clean, as one would expect at a WDW resort. We loved this place!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Beautiful Deluxe Disney Resort.
Pros
1. Setting - Gorgeous setting which makes you feel you are in a lodge set in a national park. The grounds are kept up and full of flowers, pine trees and creeks. There is a trail that goes to Fort Wilderness and along the beach. Lovely beach and one of the best pools at a Disney Hotel. This resort satisfies couples and families. The lobby is huge with a huge fireplace and outside there is a geyser which erupts each hour. Lots of photo opps.
2. Food - Counter service has variety for all ages and places to sit (although I will say Disney's new coffee choice, Joffrey's, was poor. Taste is worse than previous and often out of coffee leading to long waits). Resort has 2 other restaurants, Whispering Canyon which is casual, yet you should have a resv - super fun for families and Artists Point, which is more formal but kid friendly. Resort has 2 bars, 1 inside next to Artist Point and 1 outside next to pool. Both are top notch.
3. Value. This is the best value for Disney Deluxe resorts. Everything you need is on site or within walking distance. Certain rooms offer bunk beds with plenty of other pool/resort activities which are included including movie on beach and campfires.
Cons
1. Transportation. This is always a con when staying at non-monorail resort. You need a bus to go anywhere, and we all know the buses take a long time. You can take a boat to Magic Kingdom, but the boats do not come often and are usually full.
2. Size of room. Some of the smaller rooms at Deluxe resorts, that's why they are less expensive, but do not let that deter you. They offer bunk bed rooms which kids love. I have stayed at all Disney Deluxe resorts and the size difference is not that big of a deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We loved the Wilderness Lodge!! Family of four with kids age 8 and 5 and we all loved the pool area, beach, and geyser! The absolutely best was the boat to Magic Kingdom!!! We focused most of our days MK and it was a dream to quickly come back to WL for a pool break midday! Roaring Forks had simple food selections, but adequate. The breakfast waffles are yummy with strawberry, chocolate, or bananas foster toppings! Whispering Canyon was hilarious and a different, fun place to eat with BBQ and the fixins. The lobby is awesome and interesting! So many neat things to experience! Our room faced out on the pool/lake area and it was a bit loud at night until 11:00. My husband and kids still fell asleep early enough to get up happy the next morning for rope drop. But ask for a room away from pool side to get a more quiet room. We are definitely coming back to WL again! It felt like home!!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#13 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#22 Family Hotel in Orlando
#111 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.