We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great ambience, rooms and food could be a little better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great ambience, rooms and food could be a little better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed with my family of 4 at Disney's Wilderness Lodge in April 2014 for 4 nights. We were able to book a good rate for Annual Passholders, otherwise I would say it is definitely overpriced.
The hotel itself and the surrounding grounds are beautiful, and you do get all conveniences given by Disney to its clients, such as transportation to all parks, movie night under the stars, pool, and many other amenities.
A few things that could be improved include the rooms, which are starting to look a little worn out, and I think it would help to have a small stepping stool for children in the bathroom sink area, so they do not need to be held while washing and brushing teeth. Also, food at the Roaring Fork and Whispering Canyon Cafe was average at best. We did not try Artist Point where food would have probably been best.
Overall a good to great experience, but I would only go back if you can find significantly discounted rates.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,521
    757
    222
    95
    35
See reviews for
1,712
341
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

General Overview- WOW fantastic hotel, facilities, service,rooms and pool areas.
We stayed October 2014 for two weeks. We had travelled to orlando many times before having our children but never stayed at a WDW property. We used the new magic bands which were mainly great (new technology so slight teething probs but nothing major and Disney always sort it immediately). The bands mean you dont need to carry a key, money etc as the band lets you into your room, allows you to make purchases and buy food. We had a room on the first floor which overlooked the atrium /interior of the hotel. We didnt have a view of anything but had a balcony. The rooms were well equipped with hairdryer, fridge, coffee maker and air con. As with most orlando hotels the air con does not switch off. The beds were very comfy- 2 x queen size. We are in the Roaring Forks restaurant a lot which is situated near the pool on the ground floor. Its a quick service outlet but good food. We ate in the Whispering Canyon restaurant too which was great and as always you must book well in advance to be sure of a reservation. the pool area was lovely, water temp always warm as disney heat their pools. There was a walk in area suitable for our children 7 and 6 yrs and a small slide which entertained them. The boat service runs from the hotels dock and takes you to magic kingdom which is very handy. Car parking was always ok for us to find a space in october though may be an issue at peak times. We were always asked for our magic bands/key cards as we entered the grounds of the hotel at the checkpoint - great for security. The staff were excellent throughout and always took time to speak to the children.
We would definitely return to the Wilderness Lodge in the future although we did have the free disney dining travelling in october which gave us a massive saving and was an excellent service.We were unsure how it worked before travelling but found it to be very easy. Pre book restauarantes you really want and then change them whilst there either by your mobile phone app and disney free wi fi in the hotels/parks or ask the hotel to do it for you. You can choose any main course off the menu and a dessert too and non alco beverage. Two of us are veggies and it wasnt a problem anywhere.
overall comment- Excellent, thanks Disney

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Disney's Wilderness Lodge is a lovely hotel and convenient to every location near the Magic Kingdom. We felt in another time zone as the theme of the Lodge transports you to the upper Northwest!
Out room was quiet and overlooked the tall wooded surroundings.
It's a little pricey even with a good discount but worth every penny for relaxing after a super busy day touring theme parks.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Was extremely overwhelmed by the wilderness Lodge not just the hotel but the access to everything within the lodge. The pools, the jacuzzi, and the lake behind it. It really did give the feel of staying in the wilderness. At night the view by the lake is breath taking.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Staff all very friendly , food was good, pool area was great. Only thing I can fault is that the corridors are slightly dated and the elevator was out of service for the duration of our stay. Park transportation is excellent and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here as a family of four (all adults) during the last week of March2014.

The hotel lobby is breath-taking when you first walk in, which makes check-in easy. The lady at check-in was very helpful, our room was ready straight away, and she gave us our magic bands for room access. She explained how to use them and made it sound very easy.

Rooms are fine - nothing special. They have a double bed and a bunk bed in each. I would say they are a little too dark for my liking but this was our second stay and both times we have been facing the woods. Maybe the rooms are a little brighter if you are facing the pool. They are still very clean, big enough, and have all the basic amenities. The Disney touches everywhere are lovely - with squirrels carved into the wood of the bed frames, and towels twisted into the shape of Mickey Mouse.

The hotel itself is brilliant. The pool is huge and well themed with waterfalls and bridges. There is also a small lap pool and jacuzzi in a quieter area if, like us, you aren't there with children. There isn't a lifeguard present at this pool with signs stating this - but there are several present at the main pool.

The pool bar is great and fully stocked. They serve every cocktail imaginable - be sure to bring your ID, at 26 years old I had to show it every time. Rightly so too! They make a gorgeous white sangria. The views from the bar are beautiful - you overlook the boats coming in from the theme parks and surrounding Disney hotels - and they have a huge geyser that erupts every 15 minutes or so. They also have a beach area nearby that shows films of a night time. Plenty of loungers around the beach and all pool areas.

The help desk at Wilderness Lodge was brilliant. On our first morning we wanted to purchase Disney tickets so we spoke to Kirk and he was fantastic. He loaded our week long tickets onto our magic bands and told us exactly how to use them, and they were instantly ready to use. He also told me to download the Disney My Experience app which was fantastic - from the comfort of your hotel room you could book your fast pass tickets for the whole week, dinner reservations, you could check queue and parade times, park opening hours. It was great! We also asked Kirk if we could possibly dine at Be Our Guest restaurant in Magic Kingdom that night, he laughed! Apparently there's an 8 week wait. But after a few minutes he had booked us an 8:30pm table there for the next night! I think we were very lucky on that occasion!

We ate at the Roaring Forks restaurant for breakfast on the first day and, whilst it may have been a little too themed for us, it was still great. If you want ketchup you have to shout right across the restaurant, and the previous guests who asked for it bring about 15 bottles over to you. As we were all adults, and just off a 10-hour flight it might have been a little too fun for our first morning but I imagine great for kids.

The sports bar is lovely and open pretty late. The food is amazing - try the truffle fries and the flat breads, they are some of the best food we ate all holiday.

The restaurant, Artiste Point, was nice. We went one night during bad weather to save leaving the hotel and it was pretty good. Maybe a little too pretentious for a Disney hotel - seemed more formal that when we dined in Disney's Floridian which was a surprise. Very expensive - nice for a celebration but definitely an adult restaurant more than anything.

The location of Wilderness Lodge is amazing. It is situated in the Magic Kingdom resort (I think) and is a short boat or bus ride away from everything. The buses are so regular to all theme parks, making it easy to nip over to a park for a dinner reservation. Thanks to the bus system we were sometimes visiting two or three parks per day.

Finally, it was our 20th visit and my dad asked the front desk if they could think of anything special we could do to celebrate as a family. What they did was fantastic. They gave us a tour of the lodge, including the concierge floor which we had considered upgrading to (looked pretty good) and then they took us on the roof of the Wilderness Lodge to watch the 'Wishes' fireworks at Magic Kingdom. What an experience!

Overall, fantastic hotel that I would recommend to anyone. If you are a family of young and not-so young adults like us then I think it is the ideal Disney hotel to stay in. We will be returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We enjoyed our time here last October! The grounds were gorgeous, and the staff was overly nice and accommodating. They helped us many times. We did not do the dining package, and it worked well for us. One night my husband wanted to order pizza from Papa Johns, and the front desk staff not only provided the number, but offered to call it in for us and bring it to our room.

The room was quiet, comfortable, and clean. Had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#11 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#29 Family Hotel in Orlando
#110 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.