We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

First impression of the property was Wow! The staff was great, and the property is beautiful. We had a woods view room, which was good for us, since the pool area tended to be a little loud when you walked through at night. Only complaint I had was that Roaring Forks was a little crazy at times, it could have had a larger area for getting your food, and it would have been lots easier. Loved that we could hop on a boat and be at Magic Kingdom quickly, however it took a little while to 1- get a bus and 2-get to Animal Kingdom and Hollywood studios. Overall, a great experience though.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, I would definitely choose a woods view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    677
    202
    87
    34
See reviews for
1,552
310
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fabulous, very clean, has a laundromat (so important!) and very attentive staff.
My only advice is: be sure to read Disney's Times Schedule outlining the hours of opening for the week of your stay. These hours change significantly, and you better plan in advance.
Also, make sure (ask the reception) there's no special event\party at the parks you'll be visiting in the evenings: we were stuck in traffic for 2 hours inside a Disney bus going to Hollywood Studios, because everyone was heading for a Friday the 13th party held there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just had my first stay at the WDW Wilderness Lodge, 4 nights with the kids. I have been to DW at least 25 times and my wife is an earmarked Agent, so I would consider ourselves Disney experts. Definitely understand why this is rated the best WDW property by Trip Advisor

Pros:

1) Best value for a Deluxe Property - we booked this as part of a "bounceback" offer from our last stay - check your guide book when you check in, they typically offer sometime of special if you book your next trip before checking out - so we got 35% of the rate so it ended up being $239 a night for a Woods view bunk bed - the current special is to lock in the free meal plan for a late Aug-Sep 2014 stay.

2) Bunk Beds were a must - two young kids and the idea of 2 double beds at that age is just not appealing to my family.

3) Location - boat ride to Magic Kingdom - not on the monorail - but also not paying $400-600+ to stay at the GF, Contemporary, or Polynesian

4) Pool was great - campfire, you could see the electrical parade every night.

5) Resort is compact - it was VERY NICE to walk into the lobby and go to the single elevator bank and be a few steps from the room. No 10-15 minute uncovered walk to the room like many resorts have.

6) Food was outstanding - ate at Roaring fork and Whispering Canyon a couple of times each, great service.

CONS - really not too many other than

1) Room size - smaller than other deluxe properties, but price certainly made up for it. Great for a family of 4 - but not any larger parties.

2) Bus transportation - expect some delays because Wilderness lodge shares the bus with either the Grand Floridian (Great for getting over for a character breakfast) or the Fort Wilderness CampGround - so factor that in. Getting to Downtown Disney is a hassle - took a cab each time, about $16 on the meter.

TIPS-

1) Use cabs for getting between resorts and Downtown Disney - for instance we went to the Luau at the Polynesian and it cost $5.40 versus two buses or a bus and monorail.

2) In Whispering Canyon - bring your own Ketchup or prepare for the consequences.

Would absolute stay there again - once we knock out the rest of the resorts, this is likely to become one of our normal places

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful properties I have seen at Disney. The entire grounds from the entrance to the lobby to the pool area are amazing. My kids spent several hours swimming and enjoying the pool with a cool slide. We had a bunk bed in the room for the kids which was nice. Overall the rooms have the look of a cheaper hotel and could be upgraded. We really enjoyed going to the Magic Kingdom by boat shuttle. It was over too soon and we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: The rooms with bunk beds are great for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th stay at the Wilderness Lodge. Why do we keep coming back to the same place? Because it is that nice. Rooms are wonderful. I recommend paying extra for access to the Old Faithful Club. The food & concierge make completely worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 13 nights from 17-30 August 2013. We had never stayed on site at a disney property and we were impressed from the moment walking through the lobby. It's not a huge hotel, very easy to get around and not get lost. We had a woods view room on the 4th floor, overlooking a small lake at the side of the hotel, with an alligator often swimming around, or stalking the deer of a morning! We could also see the top of the fireworks from magic kingdom above the trees from our balcony.
Room was very clean, and often came back to an animal made by the cleaners. It was our sons 6th birthday whilst we were there, and they made him a lovely cake made out of flannels/towels with little plastic animals on top with a happy birthday note.
We used roaring fork quite a bit with our disney dining plan, once we got the hang of what we could order and snacks we could get. Our son loved the pepperoni flatbread, and I loved the chocolate mickey waffles of a morning. The drink refills were very handy and made use of this whilst we were in the hotel. We had dinner at the whispering canyon cafe, that was a really nice meal and our son asked for ketchup!
The boat across to the magic kingdom was a nice change from the buses, and was quicker getting there via boat rather than bus. We also used the boat to get to Fort wilderness resort for the chip n dale singalong and boat to Contempary hotel.
The only downside with using disney buses and not hiring a car was that sometimes the wait for a bus to arrive was over 20 mins, but we managed to get to our breakfast reservations on time.
We used the pool quite a bit, and also the pool round by the villas, lovely and warm and our son enjoyed the slide. It was lovely coming back late evening from the parks and still being able to have a swim before bed.
If you buy anything from the parks or downtown disney (especially lego!) you can get it shipped back to the hotel and pick it up from the gift shop.
The gift shop had a lot of choice and had a fridge where you could get milk/butter/cold meats, and could use your snack credits in there.
After seeing other disney hotels, we definitely made the right choice in picking the Wilderness lodge and can't wait to return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here in the summer, which was our second time here. The resort is stunning! So convenient for Magic Kingdom, just a short boat ride away, no queuing or buses. Lovely restaurants there and a great shop for souvenirs. A main pool which has a poolside bar and the quick service restaurant beside it , and also a quiet pool surrounded by trees, lovely . Fantastic electric light show each night on the lake which you can sit on the beach and watch. Wonderful staff who are always willing to help with any questions you may have. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#12 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#102 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.