We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Wonderous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Completely Wonderous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My family and I stayed for several days at the Wilderness Lodge, and what a great spot. From the amazing look and feel of the place (including the stunning lobby) to the great location to get to the parks (you must ride the boat to the Magic Kingdom), we loved it. The food was uniformly excellent, whether from the high end restaurant, which we loved, to the breakfast spot (mickey banana waffles!), all were quality and great. The customer service is what truly shines here: from the highly professional front desk, to the happy bartender by the pool, we could not have felt more cared for. A memorable place!

Room Tip: We loved being high up and facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    721
    214
    92
    35
See reviews for
1,636
328
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My family if four stayed at Wilderness Lodge for 5 days in June. It was a wonderful trip. We love the theming if the resort, and found the transportation to be convenient. We eat many if our meals in the parks, but appreciate the quick service restaurant at this resort. There are many affordable breakfast options, and we love using the refillable mugs that come with the meal plan. Mousekeeping kept our room tidy, and my children lived the towel animals left for them. We definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have visited Disney World thirteen times starting when I was a very small child and continuing today taking my young children to continue the tradition. We are DVC members and most recently stayed at the Grand Floridian and the Animal Kingdom Lodge for long weekends during 2012. While both of those properties are wonderful, the Wilderness Lodge is by far the premier property at the WDW Resort. I confirmed with the Concierge that the property underwent a complete renovation during the last year and a half. I asked because it was so obvious upon arrival. The public spaces and the rooms all felt new and clean.

The positives about this resort include the general theme, being a rustic lodge in the wilderness (kids love it), the location provides an escape from the parks, but you still know you are at Disney, and the facilities. The large pool area is great. Very convenient to the beach area, excellent bar, and daily activities for the kids every afternoon. The activities continue into the evening with a nightly movie on the beach and a fire pit for toasting marshmallows. There is also a smaller, more private pool located next to the Wilderness Lodge Villas. The Roaring Fork Cafe is very convenient to the large pool and is a great place to grab lunch and snacks.

The property is also home to one of the best restaurant in all of Disney World. My wife and I always dine at Artist Point during a visit to WDW. I love salmon and this restaurant has some of the best you will find anywhere. Artist Point is a beautiful restaurant. Quiet and relaxed, excellent food including game dishes, and great selections of wine.

One of the tricks to enjoying the WDW resort is to treat the property as a resort and not a theme park. Our family spent 7 nights at the Wilderness Lodge but only visited the parks on three days. There is so much else to do at WDW, and the Wilderness Lodge is one of the best places to spend your time. We never left the property on two different days. We took in the water sports, poolside activities and great dining.

The service and staff at this property are wonderful. in my opinion the Wilderness Lodge sets the standard that all properties at WDW should follow.

Room Tip: The only rooms you may want to avoid are those that face the parking lot. Most rooms face the woods...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 7 nights at the Wilderness Lodge in June 2013 for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved it. The grounds were beautiful, the boat to the Magic Kingdom was SO convenient, and the cast members were as polite and helpful as they come.
We were in a standard view room with a king-sized bed on the 1st floor. Disney does not guarantee bed sizes, so we were happy to get a king-size rather than two queens. However, we were a little disappointed being on the 1st floor. The advertised "balcony" was just an unenclosed cement patio. So, if possible, I would suggest requesting *not* 1st floor, if that's important to you.
We ate most of our meals in parks or restaurants at other hotels, but we did have breakfast at Whispering Canyon and some late night snacks at Roaring Fork. The Whispering Canyon breakfast was quick, delicious, and WAY more food than we could eat. But it was reasonably priced by Disney standards, so we have no complaints there. We didn't eat a full meal at Roaring Fork, but they always had a good late-night selection. We particularly enjoyed the chili and smores cupcake as bedtime snacks.
If you are looking for a great value, think twice about staying at the Wilderness Lodge. Compared to luxury hotels off of Disney property, the rooms at the Wilderness will fall short. But if you want the magic of Disney with more luxurious Disney details (and don't mind spending the money for it), you will LOVE the Wilderness Lodge.
The lobby is spectacular and the pool is expertly themed without feeling childish. We will certainly stay at the Wilderness again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had a great stay here middle of July. Beautiful reception area themed throughout with a Wild West feel. Five storeys high with lovely touches, for example the lights are made from indian teepes. Great breakfast at the whispering fork cafe- but beware if you ask for ketchup as you may get more than you bargained for, it's all good fun. A more adult orientated hotel than others available at disney. That suited us fine as we were an all adult party, but might be less attractive to you if you have smaller children. Lovely surroundings, very quiet. Bedrooms nicely spacious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Disney World is the best! We have stayed in Disney World around 4 times in different Resorts and they all are outstanding. Wilderness Lodge was fantastic. Loved that it did have children but not as much as the other Resorts. We are an older couple who wanted to have fun and peace and quiet. Wilderness Lodge provided that. Boat ride to Magic Kingdom was convenient. Rooms were fresh smelling and clean. Service is outstanding. Food was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am so happy we selected this hotel! I don't think I will stay anywhere else when visiting Disney! The entire facility and grounds is breathtaking! From the drive pulling up to the hotel to the grand 7-story lobby, you will be "wowed".

Service - Amazing! Barely off the Magical Express and had a Cast Member walking with me and assisting with check in.

Lobby - honestly, this speaks for itself! It was gorgeous and filled with totem poles, nooks and seating, floor to ceiling views to the pool and lake outside.

Pool - Peaceful and beautiful. There is not a lot of noise at the pool and you really feel as if you are in another world. The landscaping is stunning. It can get crowded but never overly noisy. Very relaxing.

Grounds - My son and I walked on the trails every morning before heading to the bus stop. There are so many walking trails as well as beach, it was worth taking the time to "smell the roses" before a busy day at the parks.

Rooms - Impeccable! Always cleaned and well taken care of. We stayed Club Level and that was a highlight of our stay too. This was great to supplement our dining plan. We ate a "free" continental breakfast each day, thus, not wasting our counter service meal on breakfast. The free access to the lounge refrigerator allowed us to put water, juice boxes and cans of pop along with chips, apples, bananas, etc. into our bags to take to the parks with us so we never had to purchase snacks or beverages at the parks. It is such a waste to use your snack point on the dining plan on pop or water. Save it for the fun snacks like the Dole Whips or the Mickey Ice Cream Bars! Before dinner, we always stopped in for our complementary happy hour and had some wine and/or beer, again cutting down on what we may have ordered at dinner which alcohol is not included in the dining plan.

Transportation - staying at this resort you have your typical bus transportation to and from the parks. For some reason, Animal Kingdom was always the longest wait! Do NOT take the bus to Magic Kingdom take the boat instead. Less people and a very scenic and enjoyable ride! We went to fireworks and the electrical parade and when everyone was stampeding out of the park, we laughed when we saw all the monorail lines and bus lines. We walked right onto the dock and had maybe 8 other people waiting to get on the boat. It came quickly and we had a great ride back. Did not have to deal with a crowded bus while being tired. And, an extra bonus was that there was water electrical parade happening on the lake and our boat went right by it!

Food - Roaring Forks had pretty good food for counter service but it is ALWAYS crowded at standard meal times. That was not fun.

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to everyone. While it is in the Deluxe category, it is on the less expensive end of the price scale for this category and not that much more than a moderate resort. We will definitely be coming back to this resort again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#11 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#25 Family Hotel in Orlando
#111 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.