We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful nights after hectic days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful nights after hectic days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Wilderness Lodge March 18 - 23 for my daughter's 5th birthday. We were greeted as we walked in the door and by checking in online prior to the trip, we didn't stand in line. We were able to sit down and relax and the very polite check in person brought everything to us. The rooms are nice and roomy. The floors were newer in our room - the tile looks like the "wood" tile. The room was very clean. The "woods" view wasn't too exciting for the extra cost. While we were not looking at parking or a dumpster, it was a holding pond and just Florida "woods". Not sure it was worth the upgrade for this. Our housekeeper did an excellent job and left my daughter's toys arranged differently each day. She was so excited each night to come back and see what was happening with her horses. This was the first time we have not stayed on the monorail loop. I actually preferred taking the boat from Wilderness Lodge to MK. It was quicker, closer walk to the entrance of the park, no lines, and the boat came very frequently. It was restful being in the open air and quieter than the monorail. Nice way to end the day. The buses came frequently to the other parks. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants except the quick service for breakfast. It was OK. Think the quick service at the Contemporary has slightly better breakfast quick service but for what we needed it worked fine. We were in room 1010 which was very convenient to get to the boat dock, swimming pool, lobby, quick service, etc. Location of the room couldn't have been better. The children's club had a fun art project every afternoon from 2:30 to 4:00 that my daughter enjoyed doing when we were there. We have stayed at Contemporary, Polynesian and Grand Floridian in the past 16 months (we have a Disney problem - I know), and for the price difference I think the Wilderness Lodge is a great value for the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    676
    201
    87
    34
See reviews for
1,545
309
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The title might not indicate that I would give Wilderness Lodge an "Excellent" rating, but the few problems I had were overshadowed by the amazing resort that it is. I'll start by getting the negatives out of the way. When walking up to the entrance there were a few things that were a little....off. We did not get a greeting from the group of at least five cast members who were standing outside of the lobby doors laughing amongst themselves. That's not a big deal, I honestly wouldn't have thought twice if I didn't realize that not only did they ignore us, but also a family struggling with their bags, did I mention these cast members were bellmen? Anyways, we went to to the front desk to check in and went to the only available agent. I hate to comment negatively on someones appearance, so I'll just say she was not in Disney look. She greeted us nicely, but when she called to check on our rooms it became a personal conversation with the person on the other end. She then randomly disappeared to the back without a warning and was gone for at least five minutes. We got our room after right after she returned, when we walked in the room it was obvious the housekeepers didn't put much effort into cleaning the room. It wasn't necessarily dirty, but it was far from tidy. On to the positives. The entire resort is beautiful. They have a huuuuuge, open lobby, the pool area is stunning, the beach feels very private,both restaurants (Whispering Canyon and Artist Point) are fantastic, it's proximity to Magic Kingdom is a huge plus, and the patio of our room looked out to a secluded pond and wooded area. Apart from the first 30 minutes of our stay, I couldn't have enjoyed my time there more. I'll just chalk the poor service up as an off day and I would assume it would be much better any other day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Staying at a Disney hotel can be pricey, but it is worth it, especially at the Wilderness Lodge. The hotel is beautiful. The check in is quick and the service is generally very good and very fast. The rooms are great. Pretty spacious with beautiful views of the lake. Fireworks from magic kingdom can be seen from some rooms. Boat to magic kingdom is very nice. Bit far from rest of WDW though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed 3/20-3/23 and had a great time. Check-in was a breeze with no waiting, the only thing I would suggest Disney do a better job of is explaining the options during check-in for the dining plan, park tickets, etc - the cast member who checked me in just wanted to give me my room key.

There are two places to eat right on site. Whispering Forks is the quick service cafe - it's good but not somewhere we'd want to eat everyday. The other restaurant (table service) in the resort was excellent - we had the BBQ dinner and it was fantastic. Our son has a gluten allergy and they chef took very good care of him.

If you have a gluten free family member - do the breakfast at the Whispering Canyon Cafe - they made our son gluten free pancakes and could have done the waffles as well. They were the best tasting gluten free pancakes we've tried!

Pool area was great - no less than 4-5 lifeguards on duty at any given time. There were also plenty of activities for the kids. The pool bar is very nice.

We had a wood view bunk bed room and it was clean and well equipped with a fridge, safe, 32" flat screen TV, more then enough towels. We could clearly see the fireworks from our balcony on the 5th floor - some obstruction from the trees.

We really enjoyed the boat transportation to the Magic Kingdom and/or The Contemporary but would have preferred staying at a resort right on the monorail - not complaining though by any means.

Free Wi-Fi throughout the resort and Disney - once you leave the room though it's pretty spotty as to whether or not it works.

We will definitely stay at Wilderness again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brasil
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Wilderness Lodge si a superb hotel for a family while at Disney. The ambience is terrific, making you feel confortable, as it was a huge cabin on the woods. The scale of the lobby is mind blowing. Decorations on social areas as in the rooms are flawless. Service is Disney standard: nice staff, always trying to help and making you feel at home. Towels in the shape of animals or mickey' ear and promptness in any of the request we made was a nice treat. Rooms are quiet and confortable, maily if they are facing the woods, as ours was., Shower has good pressure for a nice bath after the parks and there is a cmplimemtary coffe machine in the room. The pool and the gardens behinf the hotel are beutyfull and definitely worth enjoying after a day in the parks. Magic kingdom acess in made by boat, accessible from a dock behind the hotel. We never waited too much for the boat, no matter if we were going to or coming from the park. Other Disney parks are acessable from buses after a short walk from the lobby and buses were always empty, as this seems to be the first hotel to be picked in the intinerary. We never gir a packed bus coming from the parks, even after fireworks at Epcot (February 16th,2013).
One must keep in mind that the Wilderness lodge is a huge hotel and some room require a fairly long walk to be reached. Another thing to be noted is that some rooms may face service areas or ice/vending machines and it may be troblessome. Roaring forks, the self service restaurant at the hotel has a nice food, Disney stile, but may be full of people during busy times of the day (breakfast, dinner).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here with my family and extended family last year. We splashed out a bit to get a better hotel.
The rooms are very basic, but they do the job and are perfectly clean. But realisticly when you are in Walt Disney world Florida who wants to spend alot of time in their room!!!
The hotel is amazing, down to every little detail. The staff were very friendly too.
The restaurant in the hotel is nice, again, very themed but its great fun!
Id reccomend this hotel to a family or couple who are older, you will enjoy this hotel alot more if you have older children, rather than younger. Having stayed in other hotels id say there are others which are more child friendly, but again you could argue that why would you really need a child friendly hotel when your in walt disney world!!!

Only negative was the pool was used as more of a duck pond than a pool. It was full of atleast 20 ducks just swimming around so we used the smaller pool which was fine for splashing.

Overall a very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay here many times over the years as our children have grown up. The facilities, staff, & rooms are all excellent. The only downside in the past was the charge for in-room internet which only covered one device. That has all changed! We were pleasantly surprised to find that there is now FREE wireless internet in your room for as many devices as needed. We got a very strong signal in our room (we were on the 'Woods View' side of the hotel with views of the fireworks at Magic Kingdom in the evening).
Some suggestions: Hire a 'Sea Raycer' boat and explore Bay Lake, it's amazing. Take the boat to Magic Kingdom from the resort, it's quicker & less hassle than driving. They run every 10 minutes. If you have a meal reservation at The Contemporary resort ('The Wave' is excellent for the price), allow plenty of time to get there on the boat as it can go to Wilderness Camp ground first....Make time to walk along the edge of the lake, (trail starts behind the boat/bike hire building), there are Deer in the woods close to the lodge, and other wildlife too, but you need to be fairly quiet so not to frighten them. We usually walk down to Wilderness campground and take the boat back from there, or hire bikes and explore the woods on good trails/paths. 'Fire Rock' geyser erupts every hour on the hour until 10pm. Breakfast can be very busy at Roaring forks, we take our breakfast(continental choices) back to our room(on a tray) and enjoy them on our balcony in relative peace & quiet! If you are a family that likes toast, buy a loaf from the store in the lobby, there are toasters at Roaring forks and butter/jam etc, this is much cheaper than buying slices at the food counter! Do get the mugs...they really are worth it if you are staying for longer than 3 nights. If you want to eat at either Artists Point or Whispering Canyon (both excellent, the first is fine dining & $$$, the second is noisy fun & $$) you should make a reservation in well advance, especially at school holidays. If you use the laundry (near Roaring forks) the driers only give you about 30mins drying time, and the washing machines take about 40mins. Yes this is an expensive hotel, but the facilities and atmosphere are second to none. I believe it to be the best hotel on Disney property, and I've looked/stayed at others. Try to upgrade to a Woods/Pool view. The bunk bed rooms are great for kids and can take teenagers so long as they are not too heavy. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try to get a 'Woods View' room on the 4th/5th floor. You can see/hear the fireworks at Magic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#12 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#24 Family Hotel in Orlando
#99 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.