We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel but concierge level not worth added expense” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Save Saved
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel but concierge level not worth added expense”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay in Disney's Wilderness Lodge concierge level. Having stayed one night last summer in a concierge level room at Disney's Contemporary resort, I was really looking forward to this longer stay in the same luxury. It wasn't the same....the room was much smaller, lacking the room amenities I expected (and received at the Contemporary) the concierge lounge area was minimal, and my excitement re the concierge level room was short lived. Don't get me wrong, it is a very nice hotel but the actual room and lounge area size is lacking compared to the Contemporary resort concierge level. The Old Faithful room was well stocked with delicious treats and libations throughout the day. The staff was always helpful and available. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation but do not feel the extra cost for concierge level is justified. You may enjoy the beautiful lobby with it's massive fireplace, excellent restaurants, delightful pool area, boat and bicycle rental,and Electrical Water Pageant on the Seven Seas Lagoon each night all for the cost of a standard room and save the additional cost of the concierge level.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,174
    549
    166
    79
    27
See reviews for
1279
262
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmes, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our family absolutely loved staying here! Everything from the outside to the inside is beautiful. The decor of the hotel is what really made me stay there. It's like a huge log cabin. There is a stream going through the lodges lobby. There is also a huge fireplace in the lobby. The pool is beautiful and very big, everyday they have a pool dance party. It's also on the lake, you can take the ferry directly over to Magic Kingdom, it's about 5 minutes away. The hotel room is not that big, but it is very nice and it also has a balcony with a table and chairs. They have a cleaner that cleans the room every day. The kids couldn't wait to get back to the hotel because the maid would make different animals out of towels. It was very great and creative! If your hungry, all you have to do is walk out your room and on the main floor you have 3 restaurants to choose from. If I had to choose again, I would definitely stay here. I would love to stay here every time I go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Don't expect a luxury hotel, despite what you are paying. This is an average hotel but located just 10-minute away by boat from the Magic Kingdom. The rooms are small and dark; the restaurants are very expensive. But I did not visit Orlando to enjoy a luxury hotel but to visit the parks. And In order to enjoy the parks, this hotel is just perfectly located, the service is great, the transportations to the park are also very good. So, I'm pretty satisfied with my choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had two nights in this place after our visit to Contemporary and I would say we definately preferred the Contemporary.

The room seemed a little tired and not as well equipped, the bathroom was very dated. Cleaning seemed to miss the beer bottle top left on the floor in a strategic position on both days we were there.

The pool is quite nice and the view is pleasant. It was nicely decorated for Christmas. Make sure that is you have a courtyard room you get one that is further out from the centre (i.e. towards the end of the wings) otherwise you just end up looking into the room opposite (the downside of taking the first room you are given experienced by us once again!).

As you would expect, this will hammer your credit car, perhaps if you are looking for a lower priced alternative you can find a hotel near Downtown Disney, it is not too far away and from Downtown Disney you can easily access the restaurants outside the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Family stayed here and loved it. The rooms are really clean, everything is done meticulously by Disney and its staff and the pool and slide are great! There is a geyser like old faithful that was fun for the little ones. Also, it's on the lake and you are taken by boat to the Magic Kingdom, which takes about 10 minutes but keeps the kids entertained. Of course, Disney's shuttles run continuously to Epcot and Animal Kingdom. The meal plan is the way to go and make sure to eat at Whispering Canyons and ask for ketchup!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Its 30% Yellowstone, 10% Yosemite, and 60% Disney. The Lobby especially will not disappoint for any fan of our national parks. The architecture is fantastic. During a large rainstorm, the way the building holds and dumps water was very unique. Staying here allows you to use the boat to and from Magic Kingdom. It was also a quick and convenient water ride over to the Polynesian and/or Contemporary resorts for meals.
The only disappointment was in the size of the rooms. The seems the same or smaller than the value resort we stayed in two years earlier. For the difference in price I did expect more. If budget is not an issue for you, the Wilderness Lodge is a great choice!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellep4
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stay here each time we visit Disney; 3 years running now.

Service is outstanding, atmosphere is great, and the rooms are spacious and clean. The pool and grounds are phenomenal.. and the location is close to everything.

The boat ride over to the Magic Kingdom is always Magical..and something we really enjoy.

I can't think of one negative thing to say about this resort.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Wilderness Lodge
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Wilderness Lodge Disney
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#17 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#18 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.