We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two room suites worth the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“two room suites worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My five year old son loved this hotel. The log cabin feel was so fun for him and all of the staff made him feel right at home. In fact he is still asking when we will go back to our "disney home." It was definitely extra money to stay on property but the convenience of getting to and from the parks and the fact taht everything is heared toward children made it woth the price. The food at every restaurant on site was great. Unfortunatly it was 60 degrees with 20 mph winds so we didn't use the pool but my little guy really wanted to because they looked so fun. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: the rooms are small, but well done
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    665
    195
    87
    34
See reviews for
1,524
303
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In early October of 2012 my wife and I, along with two of our grandsons, stayed at the Wilderness Lodge for nine days. We live in California and come to WDW every few years as our eighteen grandchildren turn nine or ten years old. We usually bring them to WDW in groups of two or three at a time. We have stayed at the Grand Floridian once, and the Polynesian four times. This was our first visit to the Wilderness Lodge. We found the Wilderness Lodge to be a quite restful place. The pool and spas are a fun family place. The water slide was broken the entire time we were there. The marshmallow roast on the beach was a nice touch. Our room had a queen bed and bunk beds. The boys enjoyed the bunk beds and the room was a bit smaller than other rooms we have stayed in at WDW. However, we had a lagoon view that offered open spaces when we needed a quiet place. In all fairness, we didn't spend much time in the room with all there is to do at the Hotel and at the parks.
Overall we enjoyed the Wilderness Lodge- restaurants are available and offer very good food. We enjoy being on the monorail loop that the Polynesian and Floridian offer and wished that it could have been extended to the Lodge, but a short boat ride offers much of the same convenience to the Magic Kingdom and other hotels on the lagoon. We will stay at the Wilderness Lodge again.

Room Tip: Choose an upgrade to at least a lagoon view- it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just got back from a quick three day stay in Florida. We stayed at the Polynesian and the Wilderness Lodge. Thinking the Polynesian would be my favorite, I was so wrong. I want to stay at the Wilderness Lodge for all future trips. The Whispering Canyon Restaurant is GREAT experience and the food was delicious. The rooms, lobby, and grounds really take you away to another place. I could have stayed for another three weeks and feel as though I didn't have enough time to appreciated it the way I should. Every time I walked into the lobby, I would marvel at the walls, chairs, fireplace, and lighting. It gives such a feeling of warmth and coziness that I want to return to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the W.L. in the past but this was the first time that we've stayed in a club level room. Our room was on the top floor of the lodge and if we looked through the trees we could see the Magic Kingdom. Had a very nice view of the nightly fireworks. Room was recently remodeled and was a nice size. Bathroom was quite large and always clean. Our only disappointment on this trip was a slightly dirty pool area. Pool was dirty and the hot tub area smelled of dirty feet. The grounds are beautiful and very well themed. The boat to the Magic Kingdom and near by resorts is very convenient.

Club level perks...continental breakfast served from 7-10am. Fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffee, cappuccino and tea. Always fresh and the staff was constantly replenishing items that were low. During the day they have a small selection of snack foods. Goldfish crackers, homemade potato chips and dip, gummy bears, water and pop. Evening wine and cheese time was by far the best selection of food that they offered. It is served 4-6? During our stay they served bison chili, Babaganoush, a wide variety of cheese and dips, wine and beer. We could have made a meal out of the evening wine and cheese time. And in the future we will be making lunch our largest meal and eating our dinner at the lodge. Cordial's are served from 7-10pm and included berry or peach cobbler, magic bars, cookies and the like. The selection of wine and cordials was impressive. The kitchen area was always kept clean and items were constantly being replenished by cast members. The cast members were exceptionally friendly and made a point of stopping to ask us what our plans were for the day or what we had done that day. They were very informative and went out of their way to offer helpful tips. One of the other perks of staying club level was the quiet sitting areas that looked down at the beautiful lobby. We did not get to see the lobby decorated for Christmas but it must be impressive to look at from the 7th floor.

The club level stay was a little pricey but worth every penny. Any of our future Disney stays will be club level. We may even consider not purchasing the dining plan on future trips. The food that was offered was that good. Highly recommend staying at the Wilderness Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent a week at Disney’s Wilderness Lodge in November, in a woods view room. Having moved across from Disney’s Saratoga Springs that morning, we arrived before the official check-in time of 1500 and our room was not ready. We did all the paperwork and it was suggested we try again around 1330. If we had left a mobile number they would have sent a text when the room was ready. But we left the bags with Bell Services and headed out for lunch. We got back just on 1330 and the room was ready, so we went up then called for the bags to be brought up.

At check-in if your room isn’t ready they, understandably, don’t tell you the room number. I mentioned that I’d made a request for a particular area of the hotel and was simply told it shouldn’t be a problem. In the event, we were given exactly the same room as on our last visit – at the very end of the north wing, looking out over the boat dock. As it’s a long way from the restaurants and other facilities it wouldn’t suit many people, but we love it.

The rooms at Wilderness Lodge are the smallest of any of the Disney deluxe hotels but they are functional and comfortable. It seemed small to me after a week in a Saratoga Springs studio and I particularly missed the sofa, but being in Wilderness Lodge more than makes up for that.

It was a standard hotel room; as you come through the door there was small area on the right with a high countertop, 2 drawers below, and the fridge below that. The ice bucket and glasses were on the countertop and there wasn’t much room for anything else. Next to that was a decent sized closet with shelf, hanging rail and floor storage, and with the safe set into one wall.

On the left was the bathroom area. There were 2 sinks set into the countertop, with a shelf at the back along the width of the vanity. This shelf has been added since our last visit; it is handy but makes access to the taps (faucets) a bit awkward. The coffeemaker was on this shelf. Another welcome addition is a shelf below the vanity; the handheld hairdryer was stored there (in a bag), plus spare towels, and it also had space we could use. Facing the sinks, to the left was the door (with full-length mirror) to the room containing the toilet and bath/shower.

In the main bedroom area were 2 queen sized beds on the left with a nightstand between them. Opposite was the dresser with the flatscreen TV above and drawers below and, close to the window, a small table and 2 chairs with a mirror on the wall above. The large window/French doors opened on to a small balcony with a small table and 2 chairs. On that wall, to the left of the large window, was also a small window which is completely covered by the curtains, and the curtains are so heavy there’s no way of keeping the small window uncovered. The only purpose for that window seems to be how it looks from the outside, which is very Disney.

To the left of the closet was a connecting door to the junior suite next door. We used this space for storing our suitcases. On the wall above, ie the side wall of the closet, were some handy coat hooks.

The most recent refurbishment has lightened the rooms up, with lighter coloured walls, carpet and bedding, but hasn’t detracted from the wilderness theme.

Wilderness Lodge has 2 table service restaurants and a small counter service café. There is a bar next to one of the table service restaurants, plus a pool bar. Although the seating area for the café, Roaring Forks, has been expanded over the years, the serving area remains far too small for the size of the hotel and gets very busy. It also doesn’t function very well, having 2 separate serving areas for different types of food where you have to order and wait for your food before joining yet another queue to pay for it.

The lobby area of the Lodge is spectacular with many different areas on different levels to find a seat and watch the world go by. One night during our stay the Lodge was decorated for Christmas, so overnight a 6-storey Christmas tree appeared in the lobby along with many other decorations. It was a special treat that we saw the hotel both with its usual wonderful décor and then with the amazing Christmas decorations during our stay.

Wilderness Lodge remains our favourite Disney resort, whether we stay in the main Lodge or in the Villas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We started to talk about a Disney vacation as a general need to get away. The last trip was eight years ago with our then couple of teens. We researched and researched all the resorts and once again picked the Wilderness Lodge.

From the time we were met at the entrance until we had to depart, we were treated with all the special care we could want.

We booked this vacation, the first in eight years, to celebrate several important phases in our lives.
• Thirtieth Wedding Anniversary
• Twenty Fifth Anniversary of our first trip to Disney World
• My Birthday
• A trip to Disney World without kids in tow

We were given a room that met our requests exactly. The room overlooked the lake with a balcony where we could see the geyser erupt and see the parade of lights on the lake.

The service was just outstanding. We had the happy travel dates that put us in the Lodge when Santa and the elves made a magical appearance over night, transforming the Lodge into a Christnmas delight.

Eat at Artist Point at least once. This is very fine dining. Ask for Izzy's table. Everything on the menu is perfect. Ask the wait staff for a recommendation.

Whispering Canyon is right off the lobby for normal fare. Don't ask for catsup until you see what happens at another table first.

Explore the areas around the floors. We would take dessert and wine up to a nook with a fireplace above the entry just to relax.

In 2014 the Lodge will be 20 years old and we will be there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed there during the slow season in late September with our 5 and 2 year olds and we had a great time. The hotel was very clean and kid friendly of course. The lobby was magnificent. The pool is very nice and the slide is pretty good but nowhere near as nice as the Beach Club. Neither is the price I guess though. Can't beat the transportation to Magic Kingdom on the boat so if you're planning on spending most your time there like we did then this hotel is a good bet. My biggest complaint would be the size of the rooms. They're a little undersized for a family of 4. Ok a lot undersized. But they're very clean and very quiet. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying with little ones. Just be prepared to not be able to stretch out in your room.

Room Tip: Outside rooms give view of magic kingdom. Inside rooms give view of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#13 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#107 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.