We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel For The Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel For The Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed there during the slow season in late September with our 5 and 2 year olds and we had a great time. The hotel was very clean and kid friendly of course. The lobby was magnificent. The pool is very nice and the slide is pretty good but nowhere near as nice as the Beach Club. Neither is the price I guess though. Can't beat the transportation to Magic Kingdom on the boat so if you're planning on spending most your time there like we did then this hotel is a good bet. My biggest complaint would be the size of the rooms. They're a little undersized for a family of 4. Ok a lot undersized. But they're very clean and very quiet. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying with little ones. Just be prepared to not be able to stretch out in your room.

Room Tip: Outside rooms give view of magic kingdom. Inside rooms give view of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,642
    798
    227
    97
    36
See reviews for
1,833
362
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have to say that value stands out the most here. You are talking a deluxe resort for, at times, not much more than a moderate resort.
You have direct boat access to not only the magic kingdom, but to fort wilderness and the contemporary resort as well.
There are no words to describe the grand lobby as you first enter the resort. It is like a giant ski lodge, with a huge fire place, comfortable chairs.....seriously, review is not doing it justice. Try and look on disney web site for pics.
A fun family restaurant and a more fancy one with a cozy bar area in the middle that you would swear teddy roosevelt hung out at.
The pool area looks straight out of Yosemite, complete with an old faithful geyser.
this resort will transport you to a different place and a different time.
Disney A+

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at the Wilderness Lodge for a pre-Christmas vacation. I can't think of a nicer Disney resort to stay at during the holidays, given the festive Lodge atmosphere and the towering Christmas tree in the lobby.

The Wilderness Lodge rooms were updated this year, and it's brought this resort squarely into the 21st century. Gone are the old tacky bedspreads, replaced by modern white duvets. The carpet and soft goods have been nicely updated as well. The rooms at the Wilderness Lodge are a bit smaller than other Disney deluxe hotels, so I wouldn't try to put more than 3 adults in one of these rooms. For two of us, though, it was just right.

My favorite things about the Wilderness Lodge - besides the charming themeing and beautiful grounds - are the close proximity to the Magic Kingdom, and the many on-site amenities. You can indulge in everything from fine dining to fast food without leaving the main building. The pool and beach area are spacious and quite beautiful, and the walk to the boat dock is especially lovely. If you want a break from kids - yours or everyone else's - the Territory Lounge is a cozy place to get a drink in a nice adult space. Dana the bartender made me an excellent Manhattan, and the price wasn't even too high, Disney or no.

In general the staff members were very friendly and I truly felt welcomed each time I returned to the resort at night. While I thought the Lodge might be a nice place for a Christmas trip, it will likely be the Disney resort I choose on most if not all future trips.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Splurged by staying at deluxe with our kids, ages 6 & 8. Worth every penny. Really felt like we were on vacation in the Colorado Rockies with the beautiful mountain lodge. Only other place we may consider next time is Animal Kingdom but it's probably not as convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have just returned from here (Dec 21st) after a weeks stay. Three of us really enjoyed our time here. Our son aged 12 loved the pool, hot tub and, as an added bonus the very timid deer in the grounds. Very well located for the parks but the actual hotel itself is awesome. As soon as we walked into the lobby we felt at home. The Christmas tree, fireplace and the whole set up is outstanding. We have stayed on several Disney properties but have to say we would definitely return here. The only drawback is the transport. We would usually pick up at a different hotel before getting to the parks. Not a major problem as this occurs with all hotels. Return journey is direct to Wilderness Lodge. We also had a Woods view which was lovely. Food was good, we had the quick service dining plan which was more than enough for us. Feel free to inbox me.

Room Tip: I can only comment on our room, 6114. Found it quiet and good location with a woods view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I and our two kids (3 year old daughter, 3 month old son) all stayed at the Wilderness lodge and had a great time. We stayed in a bunk bed room, which accomodated us quite well. Although we didn't use the top bunk, it seemed like we had more space in our room because of this, which helped accomodate the pack and play.

We only had a view of the front entrance which seemed like a disappointment until we realized that we could watch for our busses and time our room departure to minimize wait times. The only downside to this room location would be that the shuttle that dropped off the luggage was right by our room. It was very loud.

This was our first trip to Disney so we were in awe for the most part. We chose the Lodge as it was the closest non monorail resort to the Magic Kingdom. It was great taking the boat service back and forth between nap times and fireworks!

It took us a few days trying to figure out how to maximize our meal plan, but once we did we really enjoyed it.

We would return to this resort again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wow this resort is soooooo beautiful!!! So much detail in every corner of the hotel. It is a must stay for the Christmas season at Disney!!! The lobby is so big and overwhelming in a good way. The whole grounds are scenic and gorgeous!!! We could not have been any happier with our choice to stay at the Wilderness Lodge. Our last night we sat on the beach and watched a movie on their blowup big screen. Then we sat on our balcony to watch the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom( room 4004 woods view). It was the perfect way to end our perfect Disney trip. The food at the quick service Roaring forks was very good for a quick meal. I recommend the strawberry pancakes and the chocolate caramel cupcakes. The boat to the Magic Kingdom is very cool and usually not a long wait at all. The beds were so comfortable the room was a nice size with a nice balcony. Very pleased with every aspect of this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.1 mi away
Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.3 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.0 mi away
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
2.8 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
0.7 mi away
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#21 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.