We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just got back from this resort and is my 5th time staying here.I love this resort and even better at Christmas time!!! The rooms have been updated and are very nice.The resort is a little pricey but being a Florida resident i was able to get a good rate.Staff was very polite and helpful the whole stay. The rooms were very clean and cant say anything bad about the room.Disney it self was busy the resort was quiet.My son"11" loves this resort.The restaurants were a little pricey but
food was great! We always love the electrical parade they have every night. We definitely will be going back in February!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    665
    195
    87
    34
See reviews for
1,524
303
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Yes, the restaurants are great, the staff is friendly and helpful, the view is amazing and everything you could want is nearby. I can tell you all that about many places. But the thing this resort has that few places can claim is the most comfortable beds ever!

Whispering Canyon restaurant is anything but "whispering." The gimmick here is noise. Yes, the food is great. Yes, the service is acceptable and the staff is friendly. Yes, there is an "all you care to enjoy" option at every meal. . . including milk shakes! But the thing that makes the Whispering Canyon unforgetable is the pony rides, the "catsup call," and the noise. If you are looking for peace and quiet, order from the ample menu offered by room service. Or visit . . .

Artists' Point. I'm told the food here is also excellent. The menu includes some "regular" choices and some wild game type choices. The service is 5-star and the atmosphere is awesome.

There is also a small foodcourt type dining choice with fresh fruit, milk, water, juice and soda, very good coffee, and several "prepared to order" dishes at each meal time. Open early and late, this is the place to grab a quick bite before hitting the park, or after a long day of sight seeing. I suggest you buy the refillable mug and drink to your heart's content for one low price for your entire visit.

And last but certainly not least there are groceries available in the gift shop. Milk, ham, bread, and canned goods can be purchased right alongside those coveted Disney collectibles.

The 6-story-tall lobby is a showcase of American west culture and geography. Not only are there authentic totems, but lessons on how to read them. There is an authentic rock formation column and a lesson about why it looks that way. There is a functional geyser that goes off every hour, and a rocky mountain river that empties into the heated swimming pool.

Situated on the shores of Bay Lake, The Wilderness Lodge is a short boat ride from the Magic Kingdom, but busses run from early morning until very late at night to take you to any Disney park or entertainment.

But at night when you are tired and ready for rest, the bed is soft and beckoning. One of the best I have ever had the joy of lying on.

Of the many Disney resorts we have visited, The Wilderness Lodge is my current favorite.

Room Tip: I personally love the woods/lake view rooms, but they are all comfortable and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Really beautifly structure.. looks just like you're in the Pacific Northwest, which is exactly what you want. Food is decent too.. can be downright good! However lots of technical snafu's. After check in, the key didn't work. However, they won't just make a new key (since they want you to use the key to charge things to your room with the key), instead it takes them 30 minutes to figure out the problem while you're standing in the hallway with your luggage. Also the transportation to the actual amusement park can be slower than if you're just driving in.. (that's likely because they already have you as a customer.. so they know you'll head to the park..)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tioga, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned from this amazing resort last week. We spent seven magical nights here for our Christmas present from my husbands wonderful parents. We could not have asked for a better more friendly place for all of us. I looked on this site before we left for vacation and seen a lot of mixed reviews from different people. As soon as we walked into the lobby it was nothing short of spectacular! We ate at all of the restaurants and all the food was wonderful. If your not sure about the dining plan it is definitely the way to go, it will save you lots of many! The staff was always willing to help in any way they can, and were polite and went out of their way to make us feel at home. And every where we went my girls were called princess which made them feel special. My kids were tickled the the marshmallow roasting and movies on the beach. We saw fire works and the electrical water parade every night. I just don't have enough words for how much we loved this hotel. It was everything we could have asked for and so much more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Disney decorates this lodge in a spectacular way. Even if you are not staying here, you should visit the lodge. (They have 2 very good restaurants to choose from.)The Christmas tree decorations will surely put anyone into the holiday mood.

We stayed on the Club Level. Probably the nicest club level in terms of view of the 3 that I have stayed at- Boardwalk, Beach and Yacht, and the Fort Wilderness. The 7th floor view overlooking the main entrance is beautiful. The concierge staff was great. Helped with tickets, and anything else that I needed. Truly excellent service. We had been staying at Loews (Universal) for awhile because we felt Disney was falling behind, but they proved to be up to par with guest services.

(TIP) The drawbacks, the beds and rooms are smaller. They are small queens, so dont expect much. They are definitely a lower quality mattress than the Loews Resorts.The resort is older, so the rooms are a little tighter than they should be- especially considering we are on the club level. But, they were extremely clean and the daily service did a fantastic job cleaning the room and finishing with turn down service. I would not recommend this room for 4 adults, but 2 adults and 2 children would work well.

Location- easy access to the Magic Kingdom- by boat. It works well, about every 20 minutes. Everything else is by bus. I will be definitely be back to enjoy the holidays next year.

Room Tip: One side has views of the Magic Kingdom fireworks, we stayed on the inside room that overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you are going to Disney, you have to figure the rooms are going to be tiny and the price will likely be high. However, if you stay at the wilderness lodge, you wont really care about the rinkadink size of your room, because this place is awesome. If I could hang out and sleep in the lobby I would. It is like a lodge feel with pine trees everywhere. You feel like you are at a warm ski resort! The restaurant in the lobby was great, my kids said that was one of the funnest places they went to. The waitstaff are hilarious and make it really fun. The pool outside is great, with a waterslide. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Tell them its your anniversary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We visited the Wilderness Lodge Thanksgiving week. This is a great time to go as the decorations are quite spectacular. It's a beautiful hotel to begin with but even more so during the holidays. The pool is beautiful and nicely heated! We watched a movie on the beach under the stars. You can sit on the beach and take in the fresh air and sights. The staff was amazingly hospitable. Would definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: If you are staying with Disney Vacation Club, the villas are a bit of a walk from the main hotel. Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#13 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#107 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.