We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Save Saved
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here from 11/20 - 11/25 (Thanksgiving week). Arrived in Orlando at 2:00 pm caught the Disney shuttle to the hotel. Check-in was very fast, plenty of desk people to get everyone
checked-in in an orderly manner. The lobby is very impressive and has a warm inviting feeling. It was nice that it was decorated for the holidays. Our room was on the sixth floor and overlooked the lobby. The rooms are large and the one we were in had a very comfortable king size bed.
The bathroom had a separate toilet/bath room with duel sinks in their own nook. The room had a safe, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. There was a balcony with 2 chairs and a small table, also the room had a large flat screen tv, free wifi, and hookups in the radio for your iPod. etc.
The hotel staff were always courteous, and helpful. The hotel has a nice workout room. Transportation to the parks is easy either by bus or boat.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,267
    602
    178
    84
    32
See reviews for
1390
285
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed here at least 3 times and every stay is like as they say Welcome Home. This place is located in such away that its easy to get to many attraction. There are bikes to rent if your into that or little go cart type power boats (way Kool as my son put it.) . There's a good long trail that extends into the wildernes camp ground so you can run walk or bike for a fair distance. The suites are as always perfect and the resteraunt is very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We visited this property in May last year, ate BBQ buffet in the fun restaurant, and took a few minutes to walk around. We were absolutely blown away by this gorgeous property. We live not far from the actual rocky mountain lodges this resort is themed around, and it takes a lot to make charming what we have simply grown used to, if not bored of. Campfires, Sing-a-longs, trail rides, an amazing pool area with hot tubs, not to mention a dedicated boat access to magic kingdom. That said, I think Ferrari's are awesome, but I drive a GM and a Honda. What I wish Disney would explain is on what basis they set the $300+/night rates? What do they offer that a local Hilton or Marriott wouldn't? I guess this place caters to the "lots of money, but little time" crowd, as opposed to us "lots of time, limited money" gang. As the resorts continue to make money, and fill rooms, it's clear they don't need my (and maybe yours) business anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have stayed here several times. The beds are not very comfortable, the food is better than average but pricy. Given all this, the 4 story Christmas tree in the lobby is second to none. The fireplace is always going and there always seems a rocking chair is available at the hearth. You can catch a boat to the Kingdom that links you to all other parks and hotels. Of course there are busses at the front door. This place is great for kids and adults....

Room Tip: The cheepest room is still great because the Christmas celebration is first rate throught the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our 5th stay at the Wilderness Lodge and as you might imagine, we love the place. The Christmas decorations with its huge tree were in place and lent a magical touch to the entire interior. The staff was friendly as usual from being greeted at the entrance to the all the personnel on the Club level. All the rooms on that level have been redecorated with new carpet throughout. Bathrooms have been redone. The included amenities of course added to the pleasure of staying there. If you walk around to the correct side of the floor you can watch the fireworks over the Magic KIngdom castle from facing hallway windows. And hopefully we will return.

Room Tip: We prefer a room overlooking the courtyard/swimming pool area. It also gives you a view to the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Wilderness lodge was absolutely beautiful...the rooms were very nice and accommodating but not sure the price you pay to stay in this resort is worth the upgrade from one of the moderate resorts where you receive just about the same magic appeal. However we personally would definitely stay at this resort again because we had the best time.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at the Wilderness Lodge. We've also stayed at the Polynesian (long ago), Pop Century, French Quarter and 3 times at Port Orleans Riverside....The Wilderness Lodge is one of the cheaper Deluxe properties and in my opinion a great place to stay if you can afford the upgrade....if not the Riverside is a nice moderate! We gave this a 5 star because the things we don't like are not deal breakers on our trip, and the things we do like far out weigh the bad!
So first the BAD:
Buses were awful this visit (but due to my own fault of going during the busy summer season! I'd highly recommend making your trip NOT during summer or a holiday and you'll have a much better time!) We had long waits, but I don't fault the resort on this because I'm sure all resorts would have had this issue during this busy travel period!
Another annoyance that I actually called to complain about....if you are paying the upgraded price to stay at the WL your bus should not stop at the campground to pick up more people!! Picking up more people made the buses crowded and added to the commute time.... It's just a headache that the increased price should help you avoid!
Baby pool was closed several days of our trip, this was due to unscheduled maintenance....but I think they should have had workers there when the pool was closed to fix the problem! Not shut is everyday around noon so they could work on it again!
The GOOD:
The boat to MK is AWESOME!! Always a short wait, and a nice quick trip!
Awesome pool
Good food
Overall design on the lodge
Convenience to all amenities (boat, bus, pool, food) from any room
Pool activities
Cleanliness
Activities in the lobby on rainy afternoons
Staff was great!
Comfortable beds
Water parade from beach
Grounds

Overall I'd highly recommend a stay here, you won't regret it!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to amenities....ground floor room on the boat launch side would be really qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#10 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#26 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.