We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with a few hiccups!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Save Saved
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Findlay, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great stay with a few hiccups!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at the Wilderness Lodge. We've also stayed at the Polynesian (long ago), Pop Century, French Quarter and 3 times at Port Orleans Riverside....The Wilderness Lodge is one of the cheaper Deluxe properties and in my opinion a great place to stay if you can afford the upgrade....if not the Riverside is a nice moderate! We gave this a 5 star because the things we don't like are not deal breakers on our trip, and the things we do like far out weigh the bad!
So first the BAD:
Buses were awful this visit (but due to my own fault of going during the busy summer season! I'd highly recommend making your trip NOT during summer or a holiday and you'll have a much better time!) We had long waits, but I don't fault the resort on this because I'm sure all resorts would have had this issue during this busy travel period!
Another annoyance that I actually called to complain about....if you are paying the upgraded price to stay at the WL your bus should not stop at the campground to pick up more people!! Picking up more people made the buses crowded and added to the commute time.... It's just a headache that the increased price should help you avoid!
Baby pool was closed several days of our trip, this was due to unscheduled maintenance....but I think they should have had workers there when the pool was closed to fix the problem! Not shut is everyday around noon so they could work on it again!
The GOOD:
The boat to MK is AWESOME!! Always a short wait, and a nice quick trip!
Awesome pool
Good food
Overall design on the lodge
Convenience to all amenities (boat, bus, pool, food) from any room
Pool activities
Cleanliness
Activities in the lobby on rainy afternoons
Staff was great!
Comfortable beds
Water parade from beach
Grounds

Overall I'd highly recommend a stay here, you won't regret it!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to amenities....ground floor room on the boat launch side would be really qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,174
    549
    167
    79
    27
See reviews for
1280
262
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We've stayed at the Polynesian Resort before and thought we'd try the Wilderness Lodge this time. The facility is quite beautiful and the rooms are clean but small. The staff are all very friendly except for the girl that greets you at the baggage/car valet. Odd that they would put the most unfriendly person as the one you see first and last during your visit.
Transportation is easy to any of the Disney theme parks, with boat transport to Magic Kingdom and bus to all the others. It is the generally the first of 2 stops to the theme parks which makes for a slightly longer ride but you get good seats as the bus is empty when it arrives. At a subsequent stop at the Grand Floridian on the way to Epcot and Hollywood Studios, we noticed that they had very long lines as only a few people at a time could fit onto the bus when it arrives. They also have to stand for the rest of the trip.
There is a decent looking pool on site but we did not use it. We walked past it daily to get to the small hidden restaurant at the back where you could get a small quick breakfast at a decent price. $6.00 will get you a kids breakfast of 2 small waffles with strawberries and whipping cream, and a milk or juice. Adult portions are $9.00 without the drink included but you get 3 waffles. There is also a breakfast croissant sandwich for similar pricing.
Wifi is available throughout the hotel for free as well as all the Disney theme parks.

The only complaint I have is that the rooms are not well insulated for sound. We could here people walking and talking in the halls as well as in the room above us as if they were in our room. This made it difficult when our kids were sleeping and other guests came in later. We were bothered by the noise of people yelling in the swimming pool that we faced as it was open later into the evening. We also noticed the annoying sound of the boats sounding their horn as they came into the boat launch.

Would we stay here again? Probably not given that there are so many choices in WDW. We'd probably try something else just to experience the different themes. We weren't disappointed, but we also weren't overly impressed.

Room Tip: Don't get one that faces the pool as it can be noisy. The ones facing the lake get the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just spent 7 days at the WL and could not haven happier staying anywhere else! It was our first time at a deluxe Disney resort and definitely did not disappoint! Our on-line check-in worked out great and our room was ready when we arrived. In no time we were unpacked and off to the park. Can't say enough about the rustic lodge atmosphere and walking thru the lobby never got old! My 8 year old loved the boat ride to Magic Kingdom and liked it better than the monorail! The quick service at Roaring Forks offered the best Mickey Waffles (especially bananas foster); specialty sandwiches were great and loved the Wilderness Salad! Never felt too crowded like the value resorts.

Housekeeping was exceptional and got towel pets every other day. We were amazed by the elephant we found sitting on our bed when we returned one afternoon! Beds were very comfy. Staff was helpful and always friendly. Everything was just... magical! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had a woods view on the first floor which was very convenient to the quick service Roaring Forks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned from a family vacation with 4 year old and 23 month old. We chose Wilderness Lodge because of its proximity to Magic Kingdom. The property was beautiful and is so child friendly. Our kids loved the kiddie pool area, the boat ride to Magic Kingdom , the marshmallow roasting,the geyser and the lobby in general. The rooms were nice, not overly spacious but about what one would expect. I found them very clean and nicely appointed. The last night we were there, they started to set up Christmas decorations and they were very impressive. The tree in the lobby was just beautiful. They only thing I didn't love about the property was the food. The whispering canyon is just not good at all. The roaring fork is fine for quick service, although after staying for 5 days , you may be a little tired of the limited choices. We did eat at artist point one night and it was by far better than the other choices at the resort. We plan to return next year and will stay at the Wilderness Lodge again. We just loved it and our children were so happy there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is very cool. The lobby is beyond impressive and the pool is lovely. Staff at Wilderness Lodge were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, however smaller than I had hoped for a luxury property. The counter service restaurant area was very small for the size of the hotel, lending to long waits at times, but the food was good. We had a great trip and would definately stay at Wilderness Lodge again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I will sum up what I think are the good and bad points later in my review.

I will start by saying I love Disney and think every stay is amazing. The staff are faultless, the parks are immaculate and the whole concept of Disney is unrivalled.

The wilderness lodge is simply stunning. The lobby is grand and the grounds outside really do make you feel like you're in the great outdoors. Our room was clean and well maintained with plenty of room. The restaurant and bar are a tad pricy (thank god for Disney dining).

Good points:
Stunning hotel
Clean rooms
Clean pool and hot tubs
Consistent theme
In magic kingdom area
Lots of recreational activities
Pulled pork sandwiches are really really good

Bad points (not that bad):
Transport always goes to the Grand Floridian or Fort Wilderness after picking you up. This is the case even if the park is in the opposite direction to grand Floridian and adds 10 mins onto each journey.
Fitness center is a little outdated.
Disney is expensive for mercantile.

Would definitely return here but would love to make the Polynesian my next port of call.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is one of Disney's best - and I've stayed in almost all of them. There is nothing more atmospheric than this resort. From the music in the staggering lobby to the lanterns lighting paths to the boat dock at night, this hotel does not disappoint. Rooms are comfortable, views of the courtyard or "woods" are lovely, restaurants are fun, and even the shop is good. The location near the Magic Kingdom is ideal for families with young children. The boats also offer service to the Contemporary Resort for meals. And don't miss the chance to hop over to Fort Wilderness for some of their offerings. This is one of the less expensive deluxe hotels on property, and it offers a nice option for those who don't want to spend quite as much on their resort.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to a woods view. Ask to be near the lobby if you'll be struggling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Wilderness Lodge
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Wilderness Lodge Disney
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#17 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#18 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.