We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Laurel MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned from a family vacation with 4 year old and 23 month old. We chose Wilderness Lodge because of its proximity to Magic Kingdom. The property was beautiful and is so child friendly. Our kids loved the kiddie pool area, the boat ride to Magic Kingdom , the marshmallow roasting,the geyser and the lobby in general. The rooms were nice, not overly spacious but about what one would expect. I found them very clean and nicely appointed. The last night we were there, they started to set up Christmas decorations and they were very impressive. The tree in the lobby was just beautiful. They only thing I didn't love about the property was the food. The whispering canyon is just not good at all. The roaring fork is fine for quick service, although after staying for 5 days , you may be a little tired of the limited choices. We did eat at artist point one night and it was by far better than the other choices at the resort. We plan to return next year and will stay at the Wilderness Lodge again. We just loved it and our children were so happy there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    676
    201
    87
    34
See reviews for
1,546
309
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is very cool. The lobby is beyond impressive and the pool is lovely. Staff at Wilderness Lodge were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, however smaller than I had hoped for a luxury property. The counter service restaurant area was very small for the size of the hotel, lending to long waits at times, but the food was good. We had a great trip and would definately stay at Wilderness Lodge again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I will sum up what I think are the good and bad points later in my review.

I will start by saying I love Disney and think every stay is amazing. The staff are faultless, the parks are immaculate and the whole concept of Disney is unrivalled.

The wilderness lodge is simply stunning. The lobby is grand and the grounds outside really do make you feel like you're in the great outdoors. Our room was clean and well maintained with plenty of room. The restaurant and bar are a tad pricy (thank god for Disney dining).

Good points:
Stunning hotel
Clean rooms
Clean pool and hot tubs
Consistent theme
In magic kingdom area
Lots of recreational activities
Pulled pork sandwiches are really really good

Bad points (not that bad):
Transport always goes to the Grand Floridian or Fort Wilderness after picking you up. This is the case even if the park is in the opposite direction to grand Floridian and adds 10 mins onto each journey.
Fitness center is a little outdated.
Disney is expensive for mercantile.

Would definitely return here but would love to make the Polynesian my next port of call.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is one of Disney's best - and I've stayed in almost all of them. There is nothing more atmospheric than this resort. From the music in the staggering lobby to the lanterns lighting paths to the boat dock at night, this hotel does not disappoint. Rooms are comfortable, views of the courtyard or "woods" are lovely, restaurants are fun, and even the shop is good. The location near the Magic Kingdom is ideal for families with young children. The boats also offer service to the Contemporary Resort for meals. And don't miss the chance to hop over to Fort Wilderness for some of their offerings. This is one of the less expensive deluxe hotels on property, and it offers a nice option for those who don't want to spend quite as much on their resort.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to a woods view. Ask to be near the lobby if you'll be struggling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Last December our Disney World vacation consisted of two nights at the Contemporary and four nights at WL. After enjoying our luxurious room at the Contemporary I was extremely disappointed with our room at WL. The carpet was worn and the bedding was old. Our courtyard view was extremely noisy even with the door shut. If it weren't for the beautiful grounds, magnificent lobby, location, and convenient boat ride to the Magic Kingdom I would have rather been at Port Orleans - Riverside (or as I still prefer to call it, Dixie Landings).

Due to a Disney Bounce Back offer that was too good to pass up we booked another stay at WL for this past October and I sure am glad we did! This time we got a refurbished room with a woods view and it was wonderful. New carpet, new flooring and new bedding made the room much more comfortable and worth the price we paid to stay at a deluxe resort. The beds were so cozy it was hard to leave them at the crack of dawn to start each Disney day.

If you book a stay at WL and are looking for a woods view I highly recommend the rooms in the vicinity of room 5030. A friend who frequents WL suggested we request a woods view room in the wing which overlooks a little pond as they had seen otters teasing an alligator during one of their stays. We got room 5030 and had a perfect view of the pond along with the fireworks from the MK. We didn’t see any alligators or otters, but we did spot a water moccasin swimming across the pond. Along with the nice view, you will be close to elevators and the laundry room, which is just a short elevator ride away.

We took advantage of the current Disney Bounce Back offer and look forward to returning "home" next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our family just spent 6 nights at Disney's Wilderness Lodge. We normally do a lot of outdoor and National Park vacations so were looking for something high end while still keeping us connected to the great outdoors. Everything about this place is FABULOUS!! The hotel lobby and rooms have the feeling of the Yellowstone Lodge. They even have a fun version of the Old Faithful geyser out back that blows off every hour or so. The property itself is located on a lake where you can take the ferry over to the Wilderness Campground or to the Magic Kingdom, which we did a few times. Both the campground and the lodge showed Disney movies outdoors at night, which our kids loved.

The Lodge has a beautiful pool with a waterfall, water slide and a cool river bed which flows into the lobby. The rooms are nicely decorated in the National Park theme with log bed frames, linens, etc. plus nice bathroom area and balcony - ours overlooked the pool and Old Faithful, which I would recommend. There were safe running and nature trails over to the campground, which I utilized plus bike & paddle boat rentals and a nice beach on the lake. The morning sunrise over the lake was stunning.

The dining options on property were very reasonable. We ate at both restaurants plus the grab and go place several times for a hot breakfast with lots of options (hot and cold) and did pizza for our kids one night. I thought their food was excellent and reasonably priced for a resort property.

My advice to anyone going to Disney would be to stay at the Wilderness Lodge. Adults and kids will love it!! I plan to stay there during my next visit to Disney. You cannot beat the quality and service of Disney!

Room Tip: Worth an upgrade to either a pool, lake or fireworks view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel, Disney details throughout with all the Disney conveniences. Very well laid out. However, HOUSEKEEPING WAS SUB-PAR. First night there, I found a pair of lady's hot pick panties crumbled at the foot of my bed sheets, which meant (1) the sheets were never changed; and (2) god only knows what else we were laying in! Ughhhh. We packed up our bags and went to lobby (in fit of rage! -- it was 1 am and I had to get my sleeping kids out of bed). Manager on duty did right thing by comping us one nite and also upgraded us to Club Level which had excellent service, own concierge, continental breakfast, but same sub-par housekeeping. I wrapped by 7 year old after his bath in a "clean" towel that had blood stains on it. Another Ugghhhh. When we complained about it we were told we "had exceeded hotel's compensation, " and were offered (this is true) a trip to the roof of the hotel for the view (!). In realty, we had exceeded the amount of grossness would could take. Can't make this stuff up. On Disney dining plan: we had a quick service meal at Roaring Brook -- was fine. Had a table service meal at Whispering Canyon -- was fine, but a very, very loud restaurant. If you want a quiet, relaxing meal, do not eat here. Did not eat at Artist Pointe at hotel which I heard from friends was very nice. Also, rooms are on small side. Terrace is a nice touch.

Room Tip: We faced pool/water. Nice view. Don't know about noise level as it really wasn't pool weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#12 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#24 Family Hotel in Orlando
#99 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Wilderness Lodge—inspired by the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century—is an architecturally grand Disney Deluxe Resort hotel honoring American craftsmanship and artistry, and celebrating the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.