We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
Centennial, CO
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel lobby definitely had the wow factor we were looking for. The kids loved the pool and slide. The rooms are small considering the price, but this is Magic Kingdom territory. We loved the boat transport to the MK. We used it every day. The beach area is nice and so is the light/music show every night. At first we were disappointed with the view in our room since it overlooked a work area for staff, but we quickly changed our opinion when we realized we could see the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom. We were there for Halloween and opted not to do Mickey's Not so Scary Halloween Party and we were glad we didn't spend the extra money. The hotel had activities for the kids all day long and there was trick or treating in the hotel which was enough for the kids to get some treats but not too much that they were sick with candy. They also have nightly movies for the kids on the beach. Staff very great. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,614
    786
    226
    96
    35
See reviews for
1,799
359
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
121 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We paid more expecting to have more Disney feel in a Disney Hotel. We were disappointed. The staff are very friendly. Unlike the Contemporary Disney Hotel, you don't feel like you are in a Disney Hotel, and you can't get to theme park by monorail. Even to Magic Kingdom it's a longer drive than we expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What is there to say that hasn't been said...

This lodge is beautiful, grand and most importantly welcoming. The staff strives to make the stay as comfortable and warm as possible. The lobby is massive and overflowing with character. Every time I walked through I would find something new to marvel at. I found myself taking the long way sometimes just to talk through the lobby.

I stayed on the pool side and didn't regret it even though it can get noisy at times. The rooms on the opposite side of each wing probably provide a more wilderness feel as you are looking out over pine trees instead of the courtyard area.

The pool area is very unique with a waterslide and plenty of room to swim. My only gripe with this is that the poolside bar closes far to early.

Trying to think of negatives to make this a more balanced review and I just can not. The only gripe I have and understand this is extreme nitpicking is that it is not serviced by the monorail. Having the monorail run through the Contemporary, Polynesian and Grand Floridian is so convenient its a shame that they did not include the WL. This means guests have to take a boat to another area to catch the monorail or take the Disney bus to their destination. Again, this is the ony negative I have and it is really a non-issue since so many other transportation options are provided free of charge.

After staying in almost every Disney resort including the all of the big 6 this resort is quickly becoming my favorite and will be at the top of the list for my next trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this resort with my wife and two year old. Had a very nice stay. The room with two queen beds was a bit cramped, but still did the trick. There is a refrigerator in the room which came in very handy. The house keeping staff did a nice job each day.They even left towel animals in the room which are more common these days, but a nice effort. We also had a very nice balcony with a good view of the pool. We didn't use it though too much because of the ever-present fear of our climbing toddler getting out there alone.

Speaking of him, he loved the pool. The toddler wading pool was perfect for him, but he did also enjoy the "big boy" pool which had a nice slide. He was too young for it, but just letting you know. Also, Disney had as many as four lifeguards around the pool at all times. You don't get that too often. And, the pool was open long hours. I'd say from about 9 am until 11 pm. They provide toddler life jackets free of charge. There is a nice full service bar near the pool with a good TV for catching a minute or two of a game here and there. And, there's a rule, all alcohol must be at least 6 feet from the pool. Great idea. FYI, the cocktail prices were not too bad, at least by NY and Boston big city standards.

The resort also had a nice little playground for toddlers like ours. Nice too big, so bigger kids might get bored with it fast. Had a small sandy beach to relax in a lounge chair too. Just off from the beach was a hut to rent bikes and such for the bike trails.

The lobby is very impressive with towering totem poles, a little TV lounge for kids to watch cartoons, a few spots to sit by the fire, a nice expansive gift shop with a decent selection of food and beverage items.

The restaurant, Artist Point, is a top notch choice. Had the signature salmon dish there. Have to be honest. That dish was underwhelming. Overall though, a great restaurant. The fresh bread with lava salt butter was amazing.

They had a nice little "cafeteria" called the Roaring Fork with decent lower priced food options. That was open from about 6 am til midnight.

Resort also had a pretty good sized self-laundry service that was reasonably priced, two dollars a load in big machines. Nice to have.

The Whispering Canyon offered breakfast, lunch and dinner. No characters, which after sitting through several character breakfasts, became rather refreshing. The wait staff played their own charactor roles which were charming at times. Overall, service in the hotel was very good.

Concierge service as always readily available. Folks there were very knowledgeble and helpful.

Resort had a kids den which was quite nice. Offers babysitting service or just fun activities for kids.

One of the best things about the resort is the boat service to the Magic Kingdom and the Comtemporary Hotel. If you plan to spend most of your time in this area, you can't beat the boat service for transportation.
Getting to other resorts and attractions by bus is a little taxing and time consuming, but not too bad. But, we went off season. Your transportation in peak season might be a little more stressful.

Great, cost-effective choice among the deluxe resorts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When you enter the hotel, you would think it was rustic and camp like. In fact, it was elegant. Soft, comfortable beds. Great service. Good restaurants. A must for Disney visitors. It's more convenient if you have a car, but Travel by on-property buses was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Wilderness Lodge about 1/2 a Dozen times. It offers a great location and facilities. It also offers boat service to the Magic Kingdom Park and Disney Bus service elsewhere in the resort. The service is excellent but Disney Room Control is not very efficient and upgrades are not easy. Check-in Agents are required to call to get room changes and are not able to see them room availability in their computers as is customary most elsewhere. If you have a special request, you better make it clear at reservation time and even then it is not guaranteed. The best restaurant on the property is The Artist Point; pricey but very good. If you don't spent lots of time in your room and use the resort facilities, the lodge is for you.

Room Tip: Make you special room request clear at reservation time. Disney Room control is tight and difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family just enjoyed a wonderful, albeit brief, stay at the Disney Wilderness Lodge. The property is beautiful and clean, just like everything Disney. Our stay was quite brief, so I cannot comment about a lot of the resort amenities. I visited the store on the site, and it was nicely equipped with cute souvenirs and general food items. I heard very good things about the restaurants on site, but we did not try them. The pool area was beautiful and the views surrounding it were quite lovely. We had a Club Level room, and the Club lounge was excellent. The staff working in the lounge were superb, and really made us feel special. The beverages and food were excellent (we were there for mid-day snacks, evening "wine and cheese," and for the continental breakfast).

We stayed in a deluxe two room suite with two balconies which overlooked the lake. The room was very clean and very cute in the woodsy theme. The beds were comfy, and the bathroom area was nice and large.

I really have no complaints, and would definitely stay at this resort again. We previously stayed at a cabin at the Fort Wilderness Resort. It is also very nice, but a much different experience. It was much easier to get around the Wilderness Lodge, which I was told by staff is the smallest Disney property.

Room Tip: I was told that certain rooms on the higher floors have views of the Disney fireworks at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#22 Family Hotel in Orlando
#123 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.