We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, magical honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, magical honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Wilderness Lodge for our honeymoon at the end of June. We booked in January and explicitly asked for one of the 2 (there are four) honeymoon suites that face the lake and Magic Kingdom. Upon arriving, I was weary simply because the bell hop that took us to our room really didn't know what I was talking about. In fact, our view was one that you could see the fireworks from! Our arrival was fairly easy, we came into the main lobby and talked to the club Level check-in who had a bell hop come escort us up to our room. Since I had checked in online and already tied a credit card to our cards, the keys were easy to get and we were ready in minutes. Our room had a little towel Mickey and some chocolates and a little letter of congratulations upon arrival. Our room, 7084, was lovely and offered a nice view of the Magic Kingdom fireworks over the trees at night. You could see the contemporary resort as well as the very tip of Space Mountain from our room, but mostly it was nice wooded trees. The room itself was clean - I found nothing left over and everything sparkling. The only thing I suppose one could complain about is that in the shower, the stainless fixtures show some wear from calcium deposits in the water - but honestly it's not dirt, it's just natural. Our room was kept nice and clean, and our "mouse-keeper" even put our little bride and groom mouse ears on the bed on the pillows and made cute little towel animals. The jacuzzi tub was a nice touch - albeit the most difficult thing to get in and out of and you will get water EVERYWHERE when you take a shower, but the mousekeeper always kept our room clean. also, the jacuzzi tub is a bit confusing. The way to turn it on, at least in our room, was a finicky disc that you had to have just the right touch to get. One finger, not too soft, but not too hard, on the left side. Now, we couldn't figure that out on our own. So after the first night, we asked the concierge on the club lever to check it out. He told us to cover the disc with our hand and hold it there for three seconds. That failed, so that evening we went to the front desk, and they told us to fill the tub up to the disc and that would turn the jets on. Again, a fail. So finally, the front desk sent up a technician who showed us how to do it. It was annoying simply because the club level concierge didn't know. We also had a few issues with them giving us wrong information, such as the wrong Magic Hours for that day (turns out Magic Kingdom was open to 3am the NEXT day....) and wrong hours for the pool (they told us 24 hours a day! Indeed, it was 7am to midnight). At the end, we waited 30 minutes to be checked out because the concierge told us we did not have the express checkout (which we should have had) and to come back in a bit. By that time, he was helping someone else. After 30 minutes, we went down to the front desk where I checked out in less than a minute with express check out. So yes, the only disappointing part was really the concierge having wrong information. They did manage to get us a good shuttle to Universal though and quickly get us extra hangers. The mousekeepers, Disney's house keeping, were great though. As I said, they just did adorable things that changed each day. They also kept restocking our toiletries, like the Disney brand lotion, soap, and what not, even though we were not using them. So we got to go home with a few extra travel sizes. Our mousekeeper even figured out we didn't like the comforter and kept it off and folded in a corner we never had it on the bed, which was just great. The bed itself was a large king size and we got SUCH good sleep. I would just lay down and fall asleep without meaning to! Sheets were always fresh and clean. Since it was a club level suite, we got access to the Old Faithful Club. They had a good breakfast - we got croissants, bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, juices, and water before heading to the parks. We loved the 5pm - 7pm cheese and wine time - they had DELICIOUS offerings then, including duck potstickers, a goat cheese dip, chili, hummus, and more. It changed nightly and was always good. Then 8pm-10pm desserts were a good offering of brownies, magic bars, and cobbler. We didn't run into too many rude people here like other reviews I have read. I never saw anyone take an entire bottle of wine or anything. We just had one run in with some really rude kids who took my husbands bagel and threw it on the floor, but that's not the hotels fault what so ever. You have to almost expect that kind of thing at Disney. But we loved the food and were so happy with it. We always love Disney resorts, and enjoyed the service we got here. Many cast members and guests always stopped to congratulate us - we couldn't believe how many people stopped just to say congrats with only the little buttons on. It was really sweet and gave our honeymoon a nice special touch. All in all, I would suggest it for a honeymoon, especially if you like the more Wilderness-y feel. It was lovely and very sweet. They seclude the honeymoon suites from the rest of the rooms so it is super private, and your balcony isn't visible by really anyone. Very nice, very private. Just be sure to ask for a room facing the Magic Kingdom / Bay Lake, as you really can see the fireworks at night which ups the ante!

Room Tip: Call early! Read forums about your hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    757
    223
    95
    35
See reviews for
1,712
343
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We go to Disney often, and have stayed at many different hotels on property, and this was our favorite. We were actually down for our wedding, and stayed the first half of our trip at the Grand Floridian. We have visited the Wilderness Lodge before, but staying here was even more special. The lobby is absolutely stunning. The pool is my favorite at Disney, the hotel itself is just so relaxing. You have the convenience of being in the MK area, but feel as if you are a world away. It's so nice after a long day at the parks to return to such a relaxing resort. We ate at Artist Point which was great, and our room had an amazing view of the castle and fireworks. We were able to watch the electrical water pagent from the pool, and getting to the parks was pretty easy. Compared to the other Deluxe hotels at Disney, we feel this is by far the best value. We would highly recommend staying here, especially for a winter stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, RI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We chose the Wilderness Lodge for its sheer beauty and the hotel is reminiscent of the great wilderness. While the lobby is captivating, and the theme is right on point, there are some things that may not be a fit for everyone. Once outside the lobby going to the grounds of the pool and beyond, there is an incline which would not be suited for elderly. I took my 85-year-old mom and she had issues with this. My 2 teenage children accompanied me and I was given a very small room with bunk beds, again something I or the staff should have picked up on. My son at the time was 5'9" and not good at all. when we presented this to the desk, they took no initiative to change this at all.

All in all, I would emphasize care when booking a reservation here because this is not a 1 size fits all .
Lastly the restaurant is very loud in the lobby and the pots and pans will be banging until 10 or so, again something to consider when trying to sleep in a bunk or otherwise.

A good experience, but thoughtfulness is required when booking....the staff will not point this out unfortunately. at least in my experience, so somewhat less than magical for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Wilderness lodge is good for visiting the Disney Parks. The Lodge Main entry is beautifull and replicates the lodge in Yellowstone. The rooms and halls are a bit aged but maybe that adds to the rustic style of the lodge. The hotel store is convenient to get drinks and food (saves a little money for breakfast and lunch items). The transportation (bus or boat) from the Hotel to the parks can be hit or miss. We had some waits of the less than 5 min and one wait of 50 min (ave of 20min)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We have stayed at nearly all the Disney Resorts (from value to Deluxe) and can report that the Wildreness Lodge was wonderful!! We booked a standard room on the Club Level, the accomodations were very comfortable. The rooms are nice but don't expect to see the same furnishings in these rooms as you would at the Beach Club or Boardwalk Inn, after all the rooms are intended to resemble a lodge. Our room was located on the 7th floor it had a generous balcony which viewed out on to the courtyard with the streams, we also had a great view out to the left of the pool and lake. The best part about staying on the club level in my opinion is the Old Faithful Club which offers snacks, wine/beer/cheese/appetizers, desserts and breakfast options. The staff were running around to make sure everyone was taken care of, they weren't hovering or being annoying (which has been our experience at the Boardwalk Inn). They were prompt to refill the refreshments! The pool was very nice! One word of caution, watch out for the geyser- it is subject to drench you should the wind blow!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We'd been to the lodge before and though there's a lot to like about it - the themed decor, the lobby , the kid friendly restaurant, the bike riding - I'm afraid there are a few things I just don't like. Number one is the bedding and towels. The only word I can think of "yicky". Thin towels, thin blankets and old fashioned bedspreads that were scratchy and unpleasant.
Though the bed was comfortable and the room decent sized, bedding was just bad and really needs updating. Transportation, as reviewers note, is problematic too. They just don't seem to be on a schedule, and when asked if they stopped at the Floridian, the answer was decidedly "maybe". On the plus side, artist point is excellent and the boat to the magic kingdom quick and pleasant, albeit like everything else at Disney, there are lines. Overall, wilderness lodge is fine but please management, for the money, give us linens worthy of a deluxe property. Oh, and no 3G or wireless? Haven't seen an Ethernet cord in a major hotel in awhile.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

First of all, if you can't enjoy this property, at Disney World?? the HAPPIEST PLACE ON EARTH??, I seriously question the individual and not the resort.

My family arrived from a 20 hr road trip for 6 jam packed days of magic. We arrived right at 3pm (check in time) with wife and 4 children 14, 12, 10 and 8. We were taken upstairs by the hotel manager to the club level. Wife and I were introduced to the club level concierge team. Both ladies did a great job of making us feel welcomed. Asked tons of questions about our kids printed pictures for them to draw and walked them over to the snack area while wife and I received hotel tour.

First room was on bottom floor on far side of hotel. View was non existent. Trees and shrubs only. Pretty disappointing. We called the front desk to ask for an upper floor and within 20 minutes received a phone call offering a different room. This room was in the main tower on the 6th floor. The view was priceless. Overlooked the bay, geyser, beach and pool. Again, nothing better than feeling the breeze off the lake at night and waking up the water and trees each morning. Insist on a bay view. It's worth the money!!!

The resort itself has enough to consume your vacation. Two of the most memorable amenities were (1) The pool. I'm not usually a fan of public pools, but the pool was clean, lots of lifeguards, plenty of lounge chairs etc. great for families. (2) Club level service. What better way to power up before or after a day of Disney theme parks. Light breakfast in the AM, snacks in the afternoon, appetizers in the evening and desserts shortly thereafter. This was a must. The only regret was not having enough time to take advantage of all the hotel has to offer. Boat rental, watching Cars or Beauty and the Beast outside under the stars each night, great arcade, and much more.

The only, I repeat only real complaint was no internet service. REALLY???? Disney come on. We paid an unGODLY amount of money for this trip and it was well worth it, but 10.00 per night for internet at a DISNEY property should be considered a crime.

Book this hotel, pay the dough. Your children like mine will remember it for the rest of their lives.

Room Tip: WF restaurant is extremely overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#11 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#28 Family Hotel in Orlando
#111 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.