We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a brief stop in Orlando” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6825 Visitor's Circle, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Riande Continental Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good for a brief stop in Orlando”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Arrived here on a thursday, and checked out monday morning, and this was about as much as I would`ve wanted to stay. We only visited Orlando as we desperately needed to escape the UK weather and Virgin had a great sale on, and based on that, given the nightly rate, it was a great little trip. We were out of the hotel apart from just to sleep.

Its a great locale for Universal resort and Sea World (both a quick shuttle bus away) and the beds are comfortable and the staff enthusiastic and helpful.

However, its very dated, in need of a lick of paint, close to a noisy freeway and has no wifi in the rooms. (Everyone gathers in the lobby all day and all night to get their desperately needed Facebook fix).

For a random trip to see the highlights of Orlando, it is fine, however if you are coming here as a `once in a lifetime` family vacation, you will be massively disappointed...stick to the resort hotels for that kind of thing.

Room Tip: Try and get back facing as the front is full of wifi seeking guests chatting at all hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    301
    323
    133
    188
See reviews for
387
282
55
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I know it is cheap, and I was expecting ugly, but I think cleanness is just a MUST.
Shower was disgusting, the shower curtain shows no cleaning, towels are like yellow, and I felt I couldn't be bare footed on that carpet because Ill get an infection.

We arrived at 1am, and checked out at 8am
I am so glad my husband got a different hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

upon check in staff was friendly and place looked nice. when we went into our room, being a person who checks things out where I stay, I noticed some issues I wasn't liking. The metal around the faucet in the bathtub / shower was just hanging, it wasn't attached to the wall. The shower head was corroded with lime or something else in the water. The mirror over the sink was so worn it had spots in it that were not a mirror any more. On the wall next to the mirror was a sticker from a previous renter from clothing they has purchased( who knows how long that had been there).The comforters on the beds had more loose strings on them than ones that were actually holding it together. The pillows were flatter than a slice of bread. When I pulled the blankets back the sheets on both beds had spots on them,I don't know if they were stains or just dirty sheets. Thank god I brought my own. There were stains on the carpet. The mirror and picture on the wall in the bed area were both hung crooked. In the refridgerator there was a bunch of ice built up that had fallen throughout the fridge. I decided to put the do not disturb sign on the door for the duration of our stay because I knew I would do a better job cleaning anyway.The first few days were fine I had talked to the housekeeper and explained that I would clean the room just give us clean towels daily and she was ok with that. Then they put another housekeeper in that area and when I went into my room from the pool I found her inside our room. I said to her that the sign is on the door for a reason and she said "no english" so I pointed to the door and sign and she said "excuse me" . well thats english. I complained to the front desk and was told "she's new". It doesnt matter if the sign is there you don't go in.they also show a gift shop on site ,well I couldn't find it.I will not go back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I'll start off by letting you all know that when travelling in the UK we usually stay in cheap hotels (Travelodge, Premier Inn etc) but this hotel is the pits.

It wasn't all bad, so there are some small Pros.

Pros:
20 mins walk to Universal
Over the road from Wet n Wild
Very cheap
Walgreens just over the road, as is a KFC
Dairy Queen around the corner for yummy food
Comfy beds (really comfy)
Free WiFi in lobby

Cons:
Not particularly helpful staff
Noise constantly all through the night from iFLY
Theft - we stayed in two rooms and something went missing from both of them (staff didn't seem to care, we got one item back from a cleaner after bringing the Police in)
Decor - paint and plaster peeling from walls
Cleanliness - floors and bathroom wasn't cleaned every day (although fresh towels were available every day and beds were made daily)
Noisy hotel - constant noise from other guests

Summary:
So in summary, the thefts from maids is enough for me to recommend you don't stay here (we even know the maid was still kept on even after admitting taking the item!!!!).

Its in a good location but other better hotels are also in this area, so book those first.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The rooms are horrible. My htc desire s ( phone ) got stolen by one of the cleaners and the hotel did nothing about it. I'm about to fly home from my holiday and I never got the phone back. Never go hear. It is horrible . If you value your belongings don't go hear .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews on here didn't want to stay here but when I arrived I was pleasantly shocked. Hotel staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Rooms were clean and maid service was fantastic. Bedding changed daily and towels replaced daily. Had good fridge in room. TV channels are basic but who goes on holiday to watch TV. Swimming pool area was spotless. All guests were polite and you never had groups hanging around. Shower was always hot and air con was a great bonus. Very handy for shops and bus services. Free shuttle service to all theme parks were always on time. I have recently had a stroke so I use crutches which was not a problem at all. Always staff there to help if you needed it. I don't know how anybody could knock this hotel. It might not look the best but service is definitely 5*****. Could not ask for better. I have stopped in 5star hotels with a lot worse service. They have definitely got the correct staff working there

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is a 2 star hotel so expect the basics. Its got a heated pool, a laundry area, air conditioned rooms and helpful staff. The building looks like it was built in the late 70's as part of a first choice tour thing but is now independantly run i guess. Its a little bit shabby now but not dirty. Our room is clean but again the bathroom needs updating. We got clean towels each day and fresh sheets every 3 days. We stayed here for the week and had no problems the staff were freindly and happy to help with any query. There is a small supermarket across the street and a kfc next door. Wet n wild is round the corner its in a good location. We went there on honeymoon & had a good time together.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel

Address: 6825 Visitor's Circle, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Riande Continental Plaza)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi located only in lobby and pool areas. Free shuttle to theme parks Close to several attractions and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Plaza Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.