We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Florida Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Florida Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32809 (Florida Mall)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 327 hotels in Orlando
Schroon Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

this hotel was excellent! all of the staff were so helpful and accommadating! rooms were so clean and comfortable. the florida mall, being attached, was a definite plus. starbucks opening at 6a.m. was also a big big plus since i enjoy my coffee early in the morning. also enjoyed the fitness room. no complaints at all. ate at the crickets restaurant/bar and the food was excellent! service a little slow, but well worth the wait for the food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,339
    806
    153
    42
    29
See reviews for
677
488
245
1679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

On arriving early we were told our rooms were not ready, this was fair enough as there is plenty to do on site, however we were told not to come back until three pm which considering check in is from two seemed excessive. On getting into my room which was nice I found a bottle of cleaning detergent on the table, a bit unsafe with kids in the room, and some toenail clippings behind the door in the bathroom which was nice. On waking the next morning I had a bill pushed under the door for almost 4 dollars which was strange considering the room had been prepaid several months previous, on asking what this was for we got a mumbled reply about how the price had changed since booking, mmmmmm still don't know what it was for. All in all it's an ok hotel but very overhyped and not kid friendly which is a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front otherwise your view will be of the back roofs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier32819, General Manager at The Florida Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Karen T.,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit. Please accept my apologies for the mentioned housekeeping shortfalls. There is simply no excuse for the lack of attention to detail; this is embarrassing and will certainly serve as a strong reminder to be thorough in all aspects of our work to ensure the best experience for our valuable guests. With regards to the delay in getting settled in your room, the instructions were correct as check in time is at 4:00PM (and not 2:00PM as noted), however, I do regret any inconvenience this may have caused. I am glad that you found the room and bathroom to be nice despite the mentioned shortfalls. We will be in direct contact with you to resolve the additional charges. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Keith E. Wolling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have been here before with the Elks. This was a training seminar for the Elks but even still my experience was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was in great shape. I likw the idea of not having to change twel and things everyday. Very cost efficient. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quietrer. Even in the higher rooms the elevators are quick. We wre close to the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova scotia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We arrived very late! The front desk were very efficient and friendly!, we ate in the bar crickets and our server was super!
This hotel I attached to the Florida mall which is a good bonus! The fitness room had lots of tread mills a few ellipticals could use more but overall good!
Our room was fine ...no complaints at all
I would certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in march, what a great location for shopping and eating.

Hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel itself is clean and very comfy .

Rooms are light and extremely clean and comfortable too .

Great value and a great all rounder .



  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Courtesy of the Receptionist (Especially Analisa), nice location inside the FLORIDA MALL, great Green option program to save 5$ per day to have breakfast on Starbucks inside the hotel.
All good. It is just quite far away from downtown, but in a strategic position if you want to go to Disney WOrld/Sea World and other attractions!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very good hotel, and all staff are exemplary in every relationship. 've Been there many times and always the same atmosphere all invited and equipped to make your stay the best possible.
Next will be there with them in November 2013.

Room Tip: 1138 and Corner suites are large and sunny n 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Florida Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1500 Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#2 Business Hotel in Orlando
#7 Family Hotel in Orlando
#7 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Florida Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at The Florida Mall, the Florida Hotel and Conference Center offers amenities not available at most hotels including a Starbucks in our lobby and direct mall access. Located just minutes from the Orlando International Airport, the Orange County Convention Center, and Walt Disney World Resort, we are at the center of everything there is to do in Orlando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Florida Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Florida Hotel Orlando
Florida Hotel Orlando
Florida Mall Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Florida Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.