We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay up for better quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Florida Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
The Florida Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32809 (Florida Mall)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pay up for better quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

They charged me $18 for complimentary service! I didn't ask if it was optional (i was tired and it was late) but I encourage you to ask for it. Why pay $20 for 2 bottles of water, parking inside a bar gate (there's tons of other parking and I felt the area to be quite safe).
They were supposed to give me a newspaper I think but there was none at my door.

Front desk was great! No complaints!
Lobby is super nice, nice gym, business center - although I didn't use any - they all looked good.

Everything was clean. Room was great.

Bed was OK not great.

For everything above I paid about 150 bucks something total with the stupid $18 service fee and couple $ in taxes. I booked through hotels.com. For a single guy, I think I could have saved staying somewhere else. But for family or couples, it may be great!

I would definitely stay here again and recommend my family to stay too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,860
    1,005
    181
    48
    37
See reviews for
850
581
261
2,033
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
218 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel does have a great exercise room and the pool is very nice. I will say that the staff was very friendly.The rooms are super small and for $160 we got 2 double beds. The hotel has no free breakfast and that will run you $11 for cold or $15 for hot. The food is not very good and stays the same every day. The hotel is connected to the mall and you can get dinner at Ruby Tuesday's. The restaurant is connected to the mall and the food is very good.
If you want to go to Disney there is no shuttle service. The cab round trip will run you between $90 and $120.
The hotel room offered nothing special. The double beds were not even close to as nice as a Hampton Inn or a Holiday Inn Express. I am a business traveler and I have never even seen a double bed while traveling. Bring you own shampoo and soup because the hotels is not good at all. The conference rooms and food we not special at all. I went to a work associates room and he had a king sized bed, but the same small room layout.
There is a grab and go store in the hotel, but prices are much better in the mall. We also had a pick pocket following us through half of the mall. When we asked locals they said that the mall is in a high crime area. The last time I was in Orlando we had a conference at the Twin Dolphin and it blew this hotel out of the water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier32819, General Manager at The Florida Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear “Rob2222”

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on your visit to Orlando and for highlighting the friendliness of the staff in our hotel, the great exercise room and the nice pool area . I am truly very sorry that you were not equally impressed with the other areas mentioned and regret any shortfall of expectations. I can assure you that it is not for a lack of effort from the entire team to provide the best possible experience to you our very valuable guest, but certainly understand that we were not a well suited match. Being attached to the Florida Mall is one of the great pluses of our hotel and your five-star rating of the mall is right on! Regretfully, we all must be prudent no matter where in the world we travel to preserve the best experience. Again, thanks for taking the time to write a review, and I do hope that your next visit will be more delightful.

Sincerely,


Keith E. Wolling, CHA
EVP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Often times as a traveling business professional, I find a hotel property that is immaculate, pretty, and well situated. But it's unusual when the character of the staff and the service they provide are in line with the facilty. Staying at the Florida Hotel and using the Conference faclities was a positive experience to the extreme. From the time I left the parking lot, the staff demonstrated a mantra that must be we want you to be comfortable here because we are a different home away from home. The food provided by the banquet and catering staff was 5 Star and they made sure that things were prepared as expected.
Even when some of my colleagues got a little rambuncious during the football game, the staff took it in stride, made their request for enthusiasm at a lower level. This was really impressive to us as a group.

I look forward to repeating this experience at this fantastic facility.

Mark F.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel was beautiful, the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating, the pool and hot tub were wonderful, Crikets bar was inviting and had delicious food with wonderful staff, the starbucks in the lobby was very convenient and also friendly, the store downstairs was very helpful and friendly. I did not use the restaurant for breakfast at all but saw many people eating every morning. I love the option of going green and skipping the room clearning for a day and receiving a $5 gift card to use at starbucks (or hotel store or breakfast)...wonderful idea! Having the hotel attached to a wonderful mall was a major bonus to our trip. They had all the stores that we could ever want and many restaurants to choose from. The location was great, 10-15 minutes from the airport. Also convenient to local restaurants and entertainment. Hope to stay there again and again!

Room Tip: Much better view if room is facing the pool, other side of the hotel looks at the top of the mall bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a flight home to Canada cancelled recently and our airline (Wesrt Jet) was kind enough to put us up for the evening at the The Florida Hotel and Convention Centre. We were so impressed with our stay at the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly, welcoming and efficient. The location is terrific and the mall was wonderful. The room was very lovely and clean, with a comfortable bed. We ate supper and breakfast in the Crickets restaurant and thought it was fantastic, and a great value. The business centre was beautiful - large, bright, and offering everything you could need. Our stay at the Florida hotel was a unexpected surprise to the end of our vacation, and it left a great impression. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have eaten here for the last two years for breakfast once a month. I have never been disappointed and the omelets are GREAT! The service is simply outstanding and the people are friendly and polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Recently I stayed at the Florida Hotel and Conference Center. The hotel staff at all levels were very friendly and professional. I arrived Sunday afternoon of Super Bowl and most of the dinning choices had closed early for the event. I used room service and was very pleased by the food and service provided and with a phone call to see how the food was and if I needed anything else. The room was very clean. The location is great for shopping (connected to central Florida's largest mall) and very close to the area theme parks.The pool area is very nice and the business center contained numerous new computers and printed. Great place for families or business guest. If flying in and not renting a car, I would recommend that you buy a ticket to the airport shuttle as a taxi is a little pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 329 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Doctor Phillips
Drury Inn & Suites Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florida Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1500 Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Mall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Orlando
#2 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#8 Family Hotel in Orlando
#23 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Florida Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at The Florida Mall, the Florida Hotel and Conference Center offers amenities not available at most hotels including a Starbucks in our lobby and direct mall access. Located just minutes from the Orlando International Airport, the Orange County Convention Center, and Walt Disney World Resort, we are at the center of everything there is to do in Orlando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Florida Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Florida Hotel Orlando
Florida Hotel Orlando
Florida Mall Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Florida Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.