We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice for our business meetings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Florida Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
The Florida Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32809 (Florida Mall)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
US
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Choice for our business meetings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I am responsible for organizing and executing meetings for approximately 100 executive technology engineers; we meet in different locations world-wide three times a year for one week. The Florida Hotel and Conference Center has delivered some of the best service and infrastructure we have received anywhere in the world in the past twelve years.
Pros:
* Rock-steady internet in our meeting and sleeping rooms: Being a technology group, this is one of the most important requirements for a successful week. This hotel has the best internet we have experienced ANYWHERE. The technology service provider is PSAV; they installed and maintain a wireless system that is second to none. In our meeting room areas, we were provided with 30 Mbps of dedicated bandwidth. Not only was the connection fast, but it was very stable and the fee was reasonable.
* Staff attitude is exemplary from EVERYONE. All pleasant, professional, happy and smiling. Many of the Staff have years of service. The sincere and caring "can-do" attitude was so refreshing and enjoyable.
* Location is great: very convenient to the airport, and the hotel is attached to a mega shopping mall with everything making it very easy for shopping without having to drive. All the theme parks and attractions are fairly close by as well.
* The business center is brand-new with huge Apple monitors... it is clean and functional... probably the best business center we have encountered with many computers available without a wait.
* The exercise room has well maintained and newer equipment- it's as good or better than any paid gym you would encounter in your home town.
* In-house Starbucks: not your typical Starbucks hotel kiosk... this is a full-fledged Starbucks with everything a stand-alone Starbucks has to offer.
* Great in-house bar with a 2-for-1 happy hour on drinks and appetizers.
*Sleeping rooms have a refrigerator and safe large enough for laptops

CONS:
* It's really hard to come up with any "Cons" for this review... certainly none are the fault of this Hotel. If I had to come up with a "Con", I would say that it is the Orlando area in general.... it's just not my cup of tea. (but that's just my personal preference) For Florida vacations, I like the Tampa Bay area better because I like to be closer to the Ocean and I enjoy Florida's State parks.

CONCLUSION:
Whether you are traveling for business, a couples getaway, or family holiday, do yourself a favor and stay at the Florida Hotel and Conference Center!
PS: Don't forget to submit a customer comment card: the Staff really wants to know how you feel about their services, and they have a $50 daily drawing to encourage card submissions. If you are interested in trouble-free meetings or a Wedding of your dreams, be sure and ask for Salesperson Jim.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side have a view of downtown Orlando in the distance. Cab rides are about $35-40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,742
    963
    175
    47
    36
See reviews for
815
564
257
1,940
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Hotel was excellent, the ubication, the breakfast the staff, the room had safebox, was very confortable.
The Florida Mall is excelent for those who look for shopping options. Also is good for families who travel with kids, since you do not need to waste time on moving to another area for shopping choices.

Room Tip: it does not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I must say I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Florida Hotel. Even though it was for business, there was plenty to do literally right outside my door. The Florida Mall is right there, I could shop for my kids and wife as well as have a relaxing dinner and never need to leave the property. For others it is really centrally located and a short drive to many of the attractions, Disney, Sea World, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This Hotel is one of my favorites. We´ve been there 2 times always during New Year holidays. Location just inside The Florida Mall is excelent for those who look for shopping options. Also is good for families who travel with kids, since you do not need to waste time on moving to another area for shopping choices. As for the rooms and the atention of the entire personel, I have to say everyone does a great job and I did not find any wrong detail related to that.
I did not participate in any meeting or conference, but what I noticed is that even there were some of them during our stay, we did not felt unconfortable or even bothered by the participants. In general is a great place to arrive whenever you decide to visit Orlando.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Martin de Re, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

on my arival at the hotel we received a warm wellcome and service was excelent the frondesk starf was great. the house keping allso was very coaperative your internert service in room is very fast and acsesible the movies selection was wondreful most hotel should have that kinde of service . you guys are doing a wonderful job just continue the good work

Room Tip: corner suites are graet because you have less noise and are more realaxing after shopping in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This magnificent hotel not only have excellent service, wonderful staff, great location and amenities, It also have the most comfortable and updated conference rooms loaded with projector screen, stage, Internet, spot lights, ext. for you to have a successful business meeting.
I definitely recommend this hotel for business people.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Service throughout our conference was excellent. When reviewing various options for the location of next year's conference, we unanimously voted to return to The Florida Hotel and Conference Center because of the courtesy and service by the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Florida Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1500 Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Mall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#1 Business Hotel in Orlando
#7 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Florida Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at The Florida Mall, the Florida Hotel and Conference Center offers amenities not available at most hotels including a Starbucks in our lobby and direct mall access. Located just minutes from the Orlando International Airport, the Orange County Convention Center, and Walt Disney World Resort, we are at the center of everything there is to do in Orlando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Florida Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Florida Hotel Orlando
Florida Hotel Orlando
Florida Mall Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Florida Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.