We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Florida Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
The Florida Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32809 (Florida Mall)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“surprise visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My trip to Orlando ended with an unexpected stay at the Florida Hotel when the airline I was leaving on found it didn't have a flight crew available, thus requiring us to stay an extra night. It was the night before New Year's eve, and all the hotels were full, so everyone was surprised when we discovered that the airline had found us rooms in an excellent hotel.

We arrived in a large group over a period of about 30 minutes as taxis were able to bring us, not knowing what kind of reception our hotel chits would get us. The reception desk, located in the large and attractive entrance lobby, handled everything smoothly, with no fuss whatsoever. Within 3 minutes of arrival we were on our way up to our rooms, having been helped by the very fine front desk staff. Both then and the next morning the staff were pleasant, cheerful and helpful.

The room was excellent - clean, attractive, comfortable with a largish washroom. The entire hotel was clean and bright.

I had dinner in Crickets that night during "happy hour" when drinks and appetizers were half price - the food was excellent and the prices quite reasonable (can't say that for the other hotel I stayed in). Ted at the bar was very helpful. Breakfast in the hotel the next morning was also excellent. I had the hot buffet with an omelet made for me as I watched, lots of fresh fruit, etc. Again the price was reasonable.

On the side of the lobby they have a room with at least a dozen computers for the guests with 30 minute complementary internet. Since this isn't linked to a room, there is no limit to the number of sessions.

I checked out the exercise room and the outdoor pool - both were clean and not crowded. The pool is fairly large with lots of deck chairs, and there is a hot tub as well.

The location is beside the Florida Mall, a short drive down the toll road from the airport near its intersection with the I4. It is easy to get to, sort of in the centre of all the attractions (Universal, Disney, Wet and Wild, Sea World).

Everyone I talked to who was sent to the Florida Hotel by the airline agreed with me that they were pleasantly surprised, had no complaints at all, and were definitely going to consider staying there next time they were in Orlando.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,739
    963
    173
    47
    36
See reviews for
814
562
257
1,938
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northern ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for our first night in Orlando and was very pleased as we approached it on our drive from the airport. This hotel looks good both outside and in.
Parking was free and there is a 'hotel only' assigned carpark just outside the hotel entrance. The doorman was very welcoming and friendly also.
The room was clean and a good size for the 3 of us. We had a queen bed and a sofa bed, but we found the bed to be too soft and lumpy.
The bathroom was clean, but the water was only warm, which was disappointing as I like a hot shower.
We were woken in the middle of the night by a heating system or water tank, which was very noisy.

The Starbucks in the hotel lobby was great to have breakfast in before entering the Florida Mall for some retail therapy! There was also free internet in your hotel room.

We paid for our stay using Avios and when we left we had to pay an extra $20.25 for services??? We didn't use the gym or any other service as we arrived early evening and left the next morning and felt this charge unwarranted.
So really we paid for the internet and the car park!!

Overall a good hotel, which depending on price we would stay in again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The room was very clean, spacious, had great mattresses on beds, and had all other amenities you would expect in a modern hotel-room. The room service was great, and the front desk staff was very helpful.
The hotel was attached to a big shopping mall, which in my case, turned out to be a big plus; I was there for a conference. Usually you pay an arm and a leg for dining in a hotel with a conference, but this one had reasonable prices in the restaurant & there were also other eating places close by. The Sushi bar was a plus and there was also an Italian restaurant. You could also eat at the food court in the mall during the day.
The exercise room was well equipped, and the pool looked great, but I did not swim there.
If you are like me, too lazy to go to shopping malls, here you just take a stroll after your meal, and voila! You find the things that you were looking for but did not get a chance to take the trip.
If I go to Orlando again, I will definitely stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a beautiful 5 star hotel with service to match. The lobby was spectacular with their Christmas decorations, and although there on business it was still nice to have the Christmas spirit surrounding me. Their customer service from the front desk to valet to baggage help was superb. The room service was excellent. Check out was automatic and no need to stand in line to give back the keys. I would definitely stay there again.
The rooms were spacious and clean and the flat screen tv, mounted on the wall was a nice touch. There was plenty of counter space in the bathroom, important for women and the shower was great. The in room coffee wasn't bad and as I had a fridge and brought my flavored creamer I thought it was delicious.
I would give it 5 out of 5 stars.
The only negative is parking in mall parking. They have separate parking for hotel guests but to get to the hotel you have to wind your way around the mall. Not the most fun. Otherwise it was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is central to all of the attractions in Orlando. About 15 minutes from downtown, 15 minutes from Disney and Universal, and is attached to an extremely large shopping mall that has all of the upscale stores and restaurants. The parking lot had controlled access and was free. The pool area was surprisingly large, nice, and quiet. The rooms were very clean, staff was friendly. We did not use the business center or fitness facility, but they seemed very nice. My only complaint was that it was very busy for a few days and one of the elevators did not seem to work. That slowed things down considerably.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines. We arrived at 10:30 the morning of Dec. 22nd fully expecting that they would hold our luggage until a room was ready. We got there and they had our room ready, had paperwork for our cruise pick up the next day ready and were genuinely happy we were there and had chosen their hotel.
It is attached to the Florida Mall. Great shopping, great restaurants and everything you would need for a holiday (pharmacy, clothing, boutiques, bars, etc.) If you have a car, the location is excellent. Disney World, Universal, Amway Center, downtown Orlando, Titusville, Cape Canaveral are all easily accessed from here.
Be sure to bring a GPS or rent one!! A lot of traffic and short-cuts definitely help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Good Services, good to sharing with family and friends. Complete clean area. Excellent services, and the room very clean. Starbuck coffee has excellent coffee. Also have good pantries. The buffets in the restaurant was good and excellent food. People are very polite. The Business Center have the modern facilities with Apple Computer. The restroom are completely cleaning every single day. Excellent area for do meeting with family and friends. For me is the best nice hotel in Orlando to stay for various days and good also to do shopping specially in the holidays . The Mall around the hotel is big and have all the article that everybody needs. Thank you for good services and also to be center of all restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Suites are very good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Florida Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1500 Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Mall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#1 Business Hotel in Orlando
#6 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Florida Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at The Florida Mall, the Florida Hotel and Conference Center offers amenities not available at most hotels including a Starbucks in our lobby and direct mall access. Located just minutes from the Orlando International Airport, the Orange County Convention Center, and Walt Disney World Resort, we are at the center of everything there is to do in Orlando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Florida Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Florida Hotel Orlando
Florida Hotel Orlando
Florida Mall Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Florida Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.