We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7474 W Colonial Drive, Orlando, FL 32818   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #202 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Charleston
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“We would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My daughter & her cousin, both in their 20s stayed here while working a job in the Orlando area...here are their comments:
It's in a decent area, not much for restaurants, but Logan's gives you a free appetizer if you show them your key card. The pool is nice and the hot tub is decent. Towels are available at the front desk, but small and very rough. It's the typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast, but no pancakes. The room was wonderful (basic Holiday Inn Express room). Because my reservation was originally for one person, the front desk had already arranged for me to get an upgrade to a King suite, but since I had another guest to add to the room, she was able to move me to a room with two queens. She tried to move me to another suite with a couch, but there was none available for one of our days of stay. The luggage carts were nowhere to be found. We ended up having to make about 3 trips (luckily with an elevator) to get our luggage up the 4th floor. Fortunately, on the final day of the stay we managed to find a cart for moving our things out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
22
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This hotel is in a awkward location location as others have said but there are alot of near by restaurants and it was close to where i needed to be for a business trip. The property was well kept and the staff was attentive. I was only There for one night during the week. If you not worried about you "view" this hotel is for you. If you are worried about you "view" or how close it is to the theme parks then you should probably pony up and spend some more money to stay somewhere else. The room was nice, the beds were a little harder then i like but i was still able to get a good nights rest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was good value, breakfast a little chaotic. Gym was out of use due to equipment being broken. Would guess this was due to kids using unsupervised. Pool area small with not enough seating. Lots of places to eat nearby, staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

decent hotel, but a really odd location. some restaurants around, but you're miles from whree you want to be. the room was fine, the view horrible, the breakfast ok. attracts families looking for a bargain, so prepare for kids everywhere and late at night.

Room Tip: west, north or south facing is best. east is looking over the short term storage units next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear jacksondc,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East for 1 night on our way from Fort Lauderdale to Atlanta. Hotel was booked through points (10.000). We chose this hotel due to is location in respect of International Drive Outlets.

Service and reception: Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.

Location: About 10-15 minutes from International Drive Outlets.

Rooms: The room was spacious, nicely decorated, but not exceptional. The bed was fine and comfortable. The room was not that clean, there was dust in various places. The shower was not very efficient, water was spilled on the floor and the toilet seat was not cleaned with traces of previous guest.

Food: The breakfast is standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast, with the delicious cinnamon buns, loads of coffee and as always great, the oatmeal.

If the room would have been in clean conditions, I would have recommended this place in case you want to be close to International Drive Outlets. Since the rooms were not that clean, which is in our opinion the most important factor when staying in a hotel, I would recommend to look around for another hotel in the vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
PUBLIC RESPONSE:

Dear Helsinki1972,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with your room. I will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. I am glad to hear you did enjoy our friendly and helpful staff. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you in the future.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 days based on the reviews I read.
Good: it is very convenient to the Disney Theme Parks, the hotel is fairly new (built in 2009), rooms are OK, nice furniture, large dining ears for free breakfast buffet, ample parking. Lots of stores heading WEST on SR-50. Large Flat screen TV, nice office chair if you need to work at the desk. Modern furniture. MIcrowave, refigerator, etc. Comfortable bed.

Not so good: The location borders an area known for some of Orlando's highest crime rates. (weast on SR-50 to Kirkman Rd and you will discover this. Avoid the the Metrowest area (Pine Hills, etc). The carpeting in my room looked very worn considering the hotel was just built in 2009 and being 3 years old. The shower head was old and the water flow was weak - again just OK, but it will take longer for showers, so plan accordingly. Wireless internet was weak (on the 3rd floor 20 ft from an elevator). Entrance to hotel is hard to see at first.

Conclusion. I've always had decent experiences with the Holiday Inn brand, but this was not one of the better places I've stayed in for 2 reasons: I was nervous about the location, and the rugs were loaded with allergens I got very stuffed-up in the room after only being inside it for a few minutes. However, the hotel is new and very nice on the outside. Parking seems to be plentiful, and Logan's Steakhouse is next door to the hotel. I still got a good value staying here and it was evident that they're trying to improve the hotel and customer service.

Tip: don't wear your shoes in hotel rooms - you bring all the allergens and dirt in from outside and it permanently stays in the rug). Walmart and other stores are located if you drive WEST on SR-50 towards Clermont (Panera, Walmart, Target, Starbucks, tons of restaurants).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Spacious rooms with nice padded desk chair. Bathroom has shelves to hold your stuff. Closet is very tiny and not deep enough to hold your clothes hanging straight. The room has that noisy wall a/c unit that naturally runs constantly. The bathroom light comes on with the fan, and that is also noisy. My room had a microwave and fridge, which was nice.
The bed had a choice of firm and soft pillows and was comfortable. However, there was only a sheet and light comforter, no blanket in the room at all. Free wireless and free parking.
The breakfast was much better than other hotels with eggs, gravy, biscuits. The front desk staff was very pleasant. There are several restaurants nearby. The business center is in the lobby so no privacy. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East

Address: 7474 W Colonial Drive, Orlando, FL 32818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Orlando/Ocoee, Florida, just 15 minutes from beautiful downtown Orlando. Conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers, our beautiful 104-room property is centrally located to some of the world's most famous family attractions such as: Walt Disney World, Universal Studios, SeaWorld, Aquatica, Discovery Cove, and Wet 'n Wild. Start your day with our Express Start breakfast or work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center. We provide a complimentary business center and meeting space for your social/business events. For our valued guests with allergies, our hotel is a non-smoking and pet-free hotel. Also, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Orlando/Ocoee is within short drives to several state-of-the-art medical institutions and Florida's largest public college, theUniversity of Central Florida. Central Florida Fairgrounds is also located close by.We are within walking distance to several area restaurants, including: Logan's Road House, Chuck E Cheese's, Ale House, Red Lobster, Chili's and Olive Garden Beautiful Starke Lake, located in Ocoee is close by for boating activities, such as fishing, tubing, water skiing, and jet skiing riding. On the shore of the lake are picnic areas and a dock for fishing. Let the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Orlando/Ocoee be 'your home away from home.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Orlando-Ocoee East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.