We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than A Dining Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of T-Rex

T-Rex
1676 East Buena Vista Dr., Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Lake Buena Vista)
407-828-8739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 3,089 restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
McCaysville, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“More Than A Dining Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Located in Downtown Disney, this pre-historic themed restaurant didn't disappoint the adults or the children in our party. We were celebrating a child's birthday and the children were in awe of the atmosphere that featured life-sized animated dinosaurs and the "meteor storm" which occurred every 20 minutes. The food was expensive, as expected (it is Disney World), but we found our meal to be quite good and large servings. The food service was somewhat slow but with roaring dinosaurs, storms, diningrooms decorated like various caves and our server acting as our 'guide' there was plenty to keep us occupied. The special drinks served in light-blinking glasses and the dessert served to mimic an erupting volcano (with dried ice and all), the children had a time they will not soon forget! We felt that we got entertainment with our meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    1,219
    965
    363
    163
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sachse, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant for Family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

On our family vacation to Orlando we took our two boys, along with other family members to the T-Rex restaurant for dinner one evening. We did not have a reservation, but going early enough they got us a table of 9 within 5 minutes which was great! The atmosphere was very entertaining to our 10 and 4 year old as well as 5 year old niece. The meteor showers every 20 minutes got the kids excited. The food was a little on the pricey side, but very comparable to Rainforest Cafe. The pulled pork sandwich was awesome as were the cocktails. Our service from our waitress Kia was great and friendly. Highly recommend if you take a trip to Downtown Disney!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food we got was average and overpriced. Fish Tacos were average. Kids meals do not include side and drink. Everything is a la cart. Cha Ching every time an item was ordered. Prehistoric decor was cool but not worth the price. Tourist trap.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Over priced, especially for lunch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Yes the atmosphere was nice and the food was decent. However, $70 for lunch which consisted of 2 kid's mac and cheese, an appetizer, and baked chicken, was a bit steep. We had reservations for 11:30 am. The service was just okay. Considering they were not very busy and we had reservations, it still took around 30 minutes to be seated. The so-called meteor shower that happens every 20 minutes, was really just loudness and a darkening of the restaurant. Not impressed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Okay Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate a dinner at T-Rex in Downtown Disney. We got there around 6pm and were nervous about a possible long wait without a reservation because there was already a line just to put our name on the list. Thankfully, since there were only two of us, we were able to get a table in less than 3 minutes though others had to wait about 45-60 minutes. The inside atmosphere is very cool. There seemed to be different themes within the restaurant. There was a meteor shower every 20 minutes, which made the place very loud and hard to hear if you were talking to your wait staff. Patrick was very nice and attentive. He made us feel very welcomed. After getting our orders in, it took them about 25 minutes just to bring out our French Onion soup and a salad. People around us were getting their food first. The soup was very hot (temperature) and tasty. Our entrees came right after we received our soup and salad, so we sent them back. I don't know if they brought out the same food and let it sit in the kitchen, but once my entree came out again, my burger was not too warm. I hate when my food is not hot. Fries were also not too warm, either, so I wasn't really impressed by the food. It was definitely an expensive meal ($60.65 with tip) with a mediocre quality of food. I guess you are paying for the ambiance of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T-Rex also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to T-Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T-Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.