We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of T-Rex

T-Rex
1676 East Buena Vista Dr., Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Lake Buena Vista)
407-828-8739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 3,093 restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food we got was average and overpriced. Fish Tacos were average. Kids meals do not include side and drink. Everything is a la cart. Cha Ching every time an item was ordered. Prehistoric decor was cool but not worth the price. Tourist trap.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    1,222
    968
    364
    163
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Over priced, especially for lunch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Yes the atmosphere was nice and the food was decent. However, $70 for lunch which consisted of 2 kid's mac and cheese, an appetizer, and baked chicken, was a bit steep. We had reservations for 11:30 am. The service was just okay. Considering they were not very busy and we had reservations, it still took around 30 minutes to be seated. The so-called meteor shower that happens every 20 minutes, was really just loudness and a darkening of the restaurant. Not impressed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Okay Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate a dinner at T-Rex in Downtown Disney. We got there around 6pm and were nervous about a possible long wait without a reservation because there was already a line just to put our name on the list. Thankfully, since there were only two of us, we were able to get a table in less than 3 minutes though others had to wait about 45-60 minutes. The inside atmosphere is very cool. There seemed to be different themes within the restaurant. There was a meteor shower every 20 minutes, which made the place very loud and hard to hear if you were talking to your wait staff. Patrick was very nice and attentive. He made us feel very welcomed. After getting our orders in, it took them about 25 minutes just to bring out our French Onion soup and a salad. People around us were getting their food first. The soup was very hot (temperature) and tasty. Our entrees came right after we received our soup and salad, so we sent them back. I don't know if they brought out the same food and let it sit in the kitchen, but once my entree came out again, my burger was not too warm. I hate when my food is not hot. Fries were also not too warm, either, so I wasn't really impressed by the food. It was definitely an expensive meal ($60.65 with tip) with a mediocre quality of food. I guess you are paying for the ambiance of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrodsville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool place for the kids... and big kids :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We came here very late for dinner, we went to downtown disney for night and had no reservation so we waited and got ice cream before eating and didnt get seated til about 10:45. Despite the hour wait and late time we had a FABULOUS server and the food was good. Fries were good but on the greasy side, the chicken dinner and guac double burger were tasty. Since it was so late we didnt want huge meals, we shared our meals with the 2 kids that were awake and it was plenty of food for us and server didnt mistreat us for not getting kids meals for all (yes that has happened before in restaurants when we explain we want two or three appetizers and two side salads and want to share it all... why waste money on nuggets when our kids like wings and calamari?). It was loud, but was super cool for kids, we walked around and they took pictures of the dinos. I'm not a disney fan, we were only there this time because it was a company trip, so I highly doubt that we would be back, but if we ever did, I'd eat here again and ask for seating in the ice area, kids loved how it changed colors and it was like being in a big cave!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun Theme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

After reading many of the previous reviews, we were nervous about the food and service, but wanted to take our kids out for a fun dinner. We had none of the negative experiences mentioned. We had a reservation and were seated within 5 minutes. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive, checking back often. I had the guacamole burger, my wife had the shrimp on a skewer, and kids had kid meals. The food was all delicious (but pricey). Of course, the dinos were a hit with our kids (and me;) We really enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T-Rex also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to T-Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T-Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.