We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of T-Rex

T-Rex
1676 East Buena Vista Dr., Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Lake Buena Vista)
407-828-8739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 3,095 restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Davenport, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loud!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

T-Rex is a great new concept for DTD. We have been her multiple times and have sat in both the Fire and Ice rooms. Make sure you get there early or be prepared to wait a while. Each room we have been in is Loud so be prepared!!! Food was Average and the Cottontini was great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    1,227
    973
    367
    163
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portrush
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great for Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Took my grandson here and he loved it being only 3 yrs old the place was packed full of dinosaurs which moved keeping his full attention .
The food was very good as well and the service excellent. Would fully recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good for kids, not the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The restaurant wouldn't be thriving without the dinos. We were very disappointed in the food. Drinks are pricey, but they give you a free glass to take home. Reservations are definitely needed, 6pm seems to be a good time. At first we were disappointed about seating in the Ice cave without the dino's but then we went for a walk and noticed the people stacked with no elbow room in the other locations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pretty good food. Very expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just like rain forrest cafe. The line to get in was ENORMOUS! We had a reservation for a family of 5. Still stood in line for 30 minutes before they had a table for us.

Food was pretty good. Service was fine. You are paying for atmosphere which is cool. Every 20 minutes or so they have a "meteor shower" that mirrors the dinosaur ride at animal kingdom.

So for a meal which wasn't overly extravagant the price tag was $275. Remember to bring your wallet. You'll need it.

I think we would have been just as happy eating at the Earl of Sandwich. We'd have saved a bundle of money too.

If you're in to the rainforest cafe experience, go for it. Just not my thing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you like rainforest cafe then you will like T-Rex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

They are very similar and I think owned by the same group. Food was ok. I had the brontosaurus burger which I ended up splitting with my daughter because she wanted to try ribs for the first time but didn't like them. I had her kids ribs portion and they were pretty good. She just hadn't ever had ribs before. My other daughter had the kids rotisserie chicken and really went to town on it. My wife had a chicken sandwich on flat bread that came in 2 pieces. That was huge and a solid value. If a person wasn't a super big eater it could easily be shared with another person to be a bit frugal. Kids love the growling Dinos and cool interior. Adults without kids could do plenty better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T-Rex also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to T-Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T-Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.