We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Real Bargain Anymore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shades of Green Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orlando
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shades of Green Hotel
1950 W. Magnolia Palm Dr., ** Military / DoD only ** (see Details tab on this page), Orlando, FL 32830-2789 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Not a Real Bargain Anymore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I have stayed at Shades of Green numerous times and really enjoy the location and the experience. This time I stayed with my two adult children and found one room more than adequate. All of the personnel wer friendly; we had no problems. However, I am concerned with the constant increase in prices when other hotels are cutting prices or offering deals. Not only is SOG becoming more expensive but now you have to pay for parkng at the parks - previously a perk of staying at SOG. Also prices at the restaurants have really gone up. The breakfast buffet was $45 for the 3 of us and this was one place the service wasn't very good. Breakfast at the Express Cafe cost almost double what it did 6 months ago. It's still an excellent place to stay but not the bargain it once was.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    591
    255
    79
    31
    17
See reviews for
563
137
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redford, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

My family and I have been to Shades of Green at Walt Disney World resort five times now, and there is no place on the property I would rather stay. You'd have to pay at least twice as much to get comparable accommodations at one of the Disney resorts.

The resort has been remodeled and now boasts over 500 rooms. That being said, however, you still need to make your reservations at least six months in advance. They book up to a year in advance, so if you're thinking about visiting Walt Disney World during peak season (Easter week, summer months, or Christmas/New Years) you should book as far in advance as possible. Every military member can book up to three rooms, and each room has 2 queen-size beds and a sofa/hide-a-bed, so Shades of Green is pretty family-friendly.

The rooms are some of the largest on Disney property and have all been remodeled. They're very tastefully decorated and clean. The staff does an excellent job of keeping the rooms, the common areas, and the grounds of the resort clean and inviting. One advantage to Shades of Green is the cost of dining and shopping at the convenience store -- eating and buying souvenirs in the theme parks can get very expensive very quickly, but Shades of Green offers buffets, a bar and grill, a coffee stand serving Starbucks Coffee, a sandwich and pastry shop on the bottom level, and a full-service restaurant that all provide good (not great, but good) food at lower prices. The convenience stores have most of the things you would need like drinks, snacks, health/beauty aids, and souvenirs (both Disney and military) at good prices. Plus, no tax!

I was very surprised to read some of the negative reviews, and I would like to address some of the negative comments that were made:

(1) One reviewer indicated the food at the bar and grill was terrible, and that it took 2 hours to get their food in the Italian restaurant. We have eaten at all the restaurants at Shades of Green and have NEVER had a bad meal, nor have we ever had bad/slow service.

(2) A couple of reviewers complained about the staff, particularly when making reservations, checking in, or checking out. For starters, you can book online (and it's much easier than calling in). Secondly, not once have I ever encountered any employee at Shades of Green that was not friendly, courteous, or helpful.

(3) One reviewer complained that the buses that run from Shades of Green to Disney-MGM Studios or The Animal Kingdom run once an hour. This is true. However, the buses to the Disney Transportation and Ticket Center run every 10 minutes, so you have the option of taking a bus to the TTC and then hopping a Disney bus to any theme park or resort. Same drill for the return trip, just in reverse. The bus drivers for the Disney buses don't check, and since you're staying on Disney property you're entitled to use any mode of Disney transportation.

(4) One reviewer complained that the schedules are all done in military time...HEL-LOOOOOOOO!!! This is a resort for military personnel! Talk about a nit-picky gripe! If you're married to a military man/woman and you don't know military time, that's your fault.

TIP: The walk from Shades of Green to The Polynesian Resort is not very far, so if you're planning to go to The Magic Kingdom you may be better off walking to The Polynesian and jumping on the monorail. Besides, The Polynesian Resort has its own coffee and pastry stand and a couple of very nice restaurants you may want to check out.

BOTTOM LINE: When you consider the advantages of being on Disney property and having spacious accommodations that are some of the least expensive on Disney property, Shades of Green can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stayed at SOG for 6 nights, and everything was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly. Loved our first floor room, soooo quiet. A few feet away from the pool. I found everything there, from food to buses superb!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We have stayed here about five times now in the past year and as always we think the price is right for a Magic Kingdom Resort. We love having a balcony and the rooms are quiet compared to the Value and Moderate Disney Resorts. We were staying on the 3rd floor overlooking the golf course close to the quiet pool. As always we love the covered parking for our car and that there is plenty to do on the resort. We actually used the pool for the first time and love the salt water pool. The water was even warm for our night cool off swim after the hot night at Epcot. The pool has towels that you can sign out and no life guard. I would not recommend a room overlooking the pool because it got pretty loud outside at 11 pm. They have a security guard that comes around to make sure people are not drinking alcohol in the pool or glass bottles in the pool. The security guard actually had to calm some drunk men down and tell them no drinking in the pool, so I think they might have some cameras around the pool. The snack bar was open during the day for drinks and fast food items. You can always bring your own food and drinks to the pool (just make sure you don't use glass items).
The room was fine, but this time our bed was very hard. The first time that we were not happy with our bed. The bathroom was also smaller then what we have had in the past (booked the same room). One vanity and the bathroom was all in one where the other rooms we had had had the two sink vanity outside the bathroom.
Refrigerator, blow dryer, coffee maker, two chaired table, pull out sofa bed, iron & iron board and plenty of space in the room.
We walked to the Polynesian to catch the monorail to Magic Kingdom and Epcot and you can also catch the bus to Hollywood Studios, Animal Kingdom and Downtown Disney for the TTC area. We did catch the bus back to the resort one night from the TTC area and the bus was on time, but was very crowded. Lots of people were complaining about it, but I have stayed at other Disney Resorts and they pack you in like cattle, so it did not really bother us. I think sometimes people just like to complain.
We already booked our trips for Thanksgiving and New Years at the Shade of Green. We like the size of the rooms and hope to get a comfortable bed next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

This was our first trip to Disney World and apon arrival, we were like WoW! The breakfast-dinner package was absolutely great. The people were nice! The rooms were clean! We stayed pool side to that wonderful heated pool! Spa services are cheap! The shuttle service was very nice and reliable!!! This place is a must stay for military families! It's not a 5 star hotel, but they definately try!!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

This was my second time staying at the SoG. The rooms were clean, the laundry room convenient, and the staff helpful and friendly. Since my family and I were always out and about exploring the different parks we only ate at a SoG restaurant once. The Italien place had fair prices and was very tasty. I love the Exchange in the hotel where you can grab breakfast items, milk, water, etc to keep in your room and the ice cream parlor located in the same area. There is also a game room with Wii and PS3 consoles for kids/adults to play with at no cost but it closes at 2200 along with Exchange and ice cream shop. So all in all great stay and great value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed at the Shades of Green for a week and found it to be a wonderful place, very clean, excellent location, and a great value. The rooms are spacious and clean. They have 2 pool areas - one which is great for infants/toddlers. We added the breakfast buffet option to our package and I would highly recommend doing so. It was a great benefit to be able to have a good breakfast before hitting the parks. We found the quality of breakfast food to be much better than lunch or dinner options. For the most part, service was good. We only had a couple of experiences where waitstaff and/or coffee bar staff seemed miserable. The transportation was excellent - easy access to everything and consistent, timely bus schedules.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shades of Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Green Hotel

Address: 1950 W. Magnolia Palm Dr., ** Military / DoD only ** (see Details tab on this page), Orlando, FL 32830-2789
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shades of Green Resort is a military-owned resort within Walt Disney World and is exclusively for military guests and their families. Information on eligibility and reservations can be found on the Shades of Green website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shades Of Green Resort Disney World
Shades Of Green Resort Walt Disney World
Shades Of Green Resort Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shades of Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shades of Green Hotel to your Saves list