We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After 10 years, we've found our resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shades of Green Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orlando
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shades of Green Hotel
Save
You added Shades of Green Hotel to your Saves list
1950 W. Magnolia Palm Dr., ** Military / DoD only ** (see Details tab on this page), Orlando, FL 32830-2789 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“After 10 years, we've found our resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My family usually stays in a condo and goes back and forth to the park and have the intention of cooking meals to save money. (yea right!) After many recommendations by friends, we finally decided to try Shades of Green and WOW were we impressed. It was very relaxing to know there was a bus available to take you anywhere on the Disney property you wanted to go to. We literally parked the car when we arrived and didn't see it again until the day we left! The resort is VERY large and can be a challenge to navigate at first, but everything is very clean and beautifully kept. They were remodeling while we were there, but even the crews were very friendly and said, "hi" as we passed in the halls. I highly recommend giving Shades of Green a try, as I think you'll end up like us, and planning a trip back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    271
    85
    33
    19
See reviews for
624
147
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went to Shades of Green for 6 nights while in Orlando. We got the red white and blue package that included breakfast and dinner. It was amazing! The food was GREAT! The staff were super helpful, and polite! The room was HUGE, and clean, and comfy! We wished we would have stayed longer to be able to enjoy the pool and the other amenities. The last night we were there they had a circus theme dinner with a balloon artist, she was soo good! We will be staying here again!!

Room Tip: Best rooms are closer to the parking garage, so you don't have to lug your stuff everyday from c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. Millinocket, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here while he was at conferences, and we had a wonderful time! The rooms were so big, and our room (Palm rooms wing) looked over the golf course which besides being beautiful was surprisingly quiet. The buses to Disney were so convenient as well. We can't wait to go back with our family! Wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Our room in the Palm Room wing overlooking the golf course was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Thanks to my son, our whole family of 12 from all over the country was able to stay at this magical hotel on a tiny budget. April Military Child rate was spectacular and included breakfast. The grounds of this hotel are breathtaking and the space inside and outside our adjoining ground floor rooms were wonderful playgrounds for our handful of preschoolers some of which are indeed a handful. The room was huge and clean. The pull out was a real twin bed. We only used the pool until 12 but it was huge, empty and warm enough. We walked to the Polynesian to use the monorail with our mega strollers and never took the Shades of Green bus.
The problems: 1. Checking in and using the desk is much slower than at a typical hotel 2. The breakfast wait time was ludicrous since the breakfast room was mostly empty. Send an able bodied runner down to put your name on the list and have him wait instead of the whole family waiting. 3. Bring your own shampoo, etc.
Enjoy. We will be back.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor with outside access to the lawn for the kids to runaround.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had to get to the hotel late and when we got there we were in love! Beautiful property, everyone was so nice and the rooms were really big at a great price! It's awesome to take shuttles everywhere. We had an awesome trip!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lewis, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Biggest rooms on property, easily sleep 6 with no issue... I love how the bathroom has an area to get ready and a door on the toilet so more then 1 person can get ready at a time, all rooms have balconies that you can walk out on... Hotel over looks the Magic Kingdom and we had an amazing view of the Wishes fireworks show from our balcony! It was wonderful to sit, sip wine and watch the fireworks after a long day :) loved it so much I'm going back next week!!! The ONLY thing I didn't like is that you can't take the Magic Express from the airport so you have to have a car and they charge $5 a day for parking

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and were very impressed. The staff was friendly, the amenities were endless and the overall atmosphere was great. We have a three year old and between the pool, the little playground and everything else, she was quite entertained. Getting to disney is a breeze because of their daily bus shuttles and if you choose to go outside of Orlando, you can easily rent a car from the Almo which is on site. The breakfast buffet was perfect as there are tons of food options to choose from. We will be back and would reccomend this resort to anyone coming to Florida, especially those with kids.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shades of Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Green Hotel

Address: 1950 W. Magnolia Palm Dr., ** Military / DoD only ** (see Details tab on this page), Orlando, FL 32830-2789
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 586
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shades of Green Resort is a military-owned resort within Walt Disney World and is exclusively for military guests and their families. Information on eligibility and reservations can be found on the Shades of Green website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shades Of Green Resort Disney World
Shades Of Green Resort Walt Disney World
Shades Of Green Resort Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shades of Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.