We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shades of Green Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orlando
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shades of Green Hotel
Save Saved
You added Shades of Green Hotel to your Saves list
1950 W. Magnolia Palm Dr., ** Military / DoD only ** (see Details tab on this page), Orlando, FL 32830-2789 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Lower Slower Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean and good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a 6 night stay at SOG. It is kept nice and is very clean. This was our third time staying at SOG. For anyone in the military this is a good value, especially with the military discounted tickets for Disney that they are currently offering. It does not have the same Disney feel as staying in a Disney owned hotel but for the price and location you can't beat it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    260
    81
    31
    17
See reviews for
589
140
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our second time staying here this past Thanksgiving with the family and just like the first time, the resort is great. It is clear that the whole staff is all about service, and from checking in, to the bellhops, valet attendants, maids and every person on the property, their goal is to serve with a smile and go the extra mile at every opportunity. We stayed I guess in the newer part of the hotel overlooking the the ponds that have the little wooden bridges and Gazebo, what a great view we had from our rooms. Rooms were plenty big, we were two adutls, two kids and a baby, and even with the crib there was plenty of space, and nice modern bathrooms.

This resort is great with kids, with the Disney movies showing all the times in the lobby, the big Mickey statue and the nice fireplace in the lobby, they even had a huge Christmas tree and they had Santa visit and gave all the kids a little toy when they sat on his lap and were giving away Hot Chocolate and cookies. How great was that! Also, they have a fun arcade for the kids, the kids pool was nice but cold, however the other pool near the golf course was heated and they also had a hot tub which was quite nice.

The buses to all the disney parks directly from the hotel is a huge plus and the schedule is very reliable, they even have buses to Downtown disney, so you literally can leave your car parked the whole time. We didnt get to golf but the golf courses looked fantastic. The fact that this resort is located on Disney property and such a short ride to all the parks is awesome. We would normally walk across the street to the Polynesian and take the monorail right to Magic Kingdom, but with the buses this is also very easy. We will no doubt be coming back, since the resort is excelent, well maintainted and kept, the service is superb, plenty of things to do, great price, there is nothing not to like about Shades of Green.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer part, great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Read some of the other reviews, and then bring your own soap and shampoo.There is even an exchange there to buy it. A Disney vacation is expensive enough,but this hotel makes it a lot more affordable.
We have stayed here several times and will be back. The rooms are large, the beds are comfortable. We have always had great service . You can walk to the Polynesian Hotel, or take one of the hotel buses to the transportation center or other park.
We did have the breakfast buffet on Sunday, plenty of choices, and again a great price compared to the any of the Disney park restaurants.
We didn't use the pools, but they look like they would be fine for taking a break from the other activities.
There is a sports bar we went to to watch a college game, not many people in there, ( I think they were all at the ESPN zone, we couldn't get in there) Big screen TV's, snacks, beer and ,mixed drinks available. There were video games and pool tables too.
This may not be the place for everyone, if you want all the "Mickey " feelings, but I think this is one of the best kept secrets out there.

Room Tip: We chose to face the golf course...it was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This place is perfect for a family trying to have an affordable, convenient Disney trip. Resort is attractive enough, rooms are big, and there are plenty of low cost dining options. The only downside is there are no fancy amenities. Rooms don't have extras like bar soap, lotion, facility/tv guides, etc. For example the hand soap for the sink was like a clear plastic bottle with no labels that they just keep refilling customer after customer and there was an automatic generic shampoo dispenser in the shower. Linens are minimal, only 1 pillow per person. Stuff like that. All the food options were just okay but they didn't cost much and kids can eat free a lot of the places so you don't really care. You can't get any closer to the Magic Kingdom than this resort for cheaper so it is what it is. I would still definitely stay here again with my kids. BTW, if you don't feel like waiting for buses to magic kingdom you can walk across the street to the Polynesian and get on the monorail or watertaxi there. It's like an extra 1/4 mile of walking but you don't have to deal with an extra bus and the ticket/transportation center.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff was wonderful. So respectful and helpful. The rooms where hugh and CLEAN.The price was great compared to disney hotels in the area.The sofa bed thing was actually comfortable.The beds were comfortable - ask for better pillows if you need them. The food in the buffet was just OK- filling and cheap compared to Disney.You can check your bags at the bell station and get your boarding pass- a real advantage.I think if you go at a busy time of the year it might be really difficult riding the buses. We had no problem- last of October is a great time to go.Cons: The swimmings pools were too cold to swim in even though it was 85 degrees. A whole pool rehab is planned -hope there.The hotel is hugh so look on the site map and plan what you want to be close to. If you travel with children-Rent a stroller from Magic strollers for the time you will be there or bring your own. The strollers at Disney are awful and so expensive!!

Room Tip: study the site map on line- we were close to mickey pool and laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I wanted to like this place, but got a real case of the blahs. There are some good features. Price (rooms, food, and amenities) is very reasonable. The rooms are quite large. It's nice to be around military folks who are like us - it's a very safe feeling place. The bus service is efficient and we never had a problem getting to the parks. The location is awesome. On the bad side, the rooms are dated-feeling and everything has a low-quality feel to it (like the Hale Koa). The A/C was freight-train loud and the housekeeping was spotty. The fitness center is the worst of all the Armed Forces vacation hotels. For comparison sake, this place feels like an old Ramada Inn. I know the military does a better job in Korea and Hawaii and Germany, why not in Orlando?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just returned from a trip there, and it was great! We had the family suite that was large enough to sleep 8. The bed in the separate room was very comfortable, but the murphy bed was not comfortable at all. The sofa beds had great mattresses on them, though. I would highly reccommend this hotel to others. It is very close to the monorail system on Disney, and they have a shuttle that takes you to any park. The military discount to Disney is great, and now there is a great military rate to Universal. The military member gets 3 free days in any park at Universal.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the south wing, it is closer to the parking garage, and has a great view of the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shades of Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Green Hotel

Address: 1950 W. Magnolia Palm Dr., ** Military / DoD only ** (see Details tab on this page), Orlando, FL 32830-2789
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 586
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shades of Green Resort is a military-owned resort within Walt Disney World and is exclusively for military guests and their families. Information on eligibility and reservations can be found on the Shades of Green website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shades Of Green Resort Disney World
Shades Of Green Resort Walt Disney World
Shades Of Green Resort Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shades of Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.