We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High on Value, Low on Luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shades of Green Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orlando
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shades of Green Hotel
Save
You added Shades of Green Hotel to your Saves list
1950 W. Magnolia Palm Dr., ** Military / DoD only ** (see Details tab on this page), Orlando, FL 32830-2789 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“High on Value, Low on Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This place is perfect for a family trying to have an affordable, convenient Disney trip. Resort is attractive enough, rooms are big, and there are plenty of low cost dining options. The only downside is there are no fancy amenities. Rooms don't have extras like bar soap, lotion, facility/tv guides, etc. For example the hand soap for the sink was like a clear plastic bottle with no labels that they just keep refilling customer after customer and there was an automatic generic shampoo dispenser in the shower. Linens are minimal, only 1 pillow per person. Stuff like that. All the food options were just okay but they didn't cost much and kids can eat free a lot of the places so you don't really care. You can't get any closer to the Magic Kingdom than this resort for cheaper so it is what it is. I would still definitely stay here again with my kids. BTW, if you don't feel like waiting for buses to magic kingdom you can walk across the street to the Polynesian and get on the monorail or watertaxi there. It's like an extra 1/4 mile of walking but you don't have to deal with an extra bus and the ticket/transportation center.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    301
    95
    38
    22
See reviews for
733
164
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff was wonderful. So respectful and helpful. The rooms where hugh and CLEAN.The price was great compared to disney hotels in the area.The sofa bed thing was actually comfortable.The beds were comfortable - ask for better pillows if you need them. The food in the buffet was just OK- filling and cheap compared to Disney.You can check your bags at the bell station and get your boarding pass- a real advantage.I think if you go at a busy time of the year it might be really difficult riding the buses. We had no problem- last of October is a great time to go.Cons: The swimmings pools were too cold to swim in even though it was 85 degrees. A whole pool rehab is planned -hope there.The hotel is hugh so look on the site map and plan what you want to be close to. If you travel with children-Rent a stroller from Magic strollers for the time you will be there or bring your own. The strollers at Disney are awful and so expensive!!

Room Tip: study the site map on line- we were close to mickey pool and laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I wanted to like this place, but got a real case of the blahs. There are some good features. Price (rooms, food, and amenities) is very reasonable. The rooms are quite large. It's nice to be around military folks who are like us - it's a very safe feeling place. The bus service is efficient and we never had a problem getting to the parks. The location is awesome. On the bad side, the rooms are dated-feeling and everything has a low-quality feel to it (like the Hale Koa). The A/C was freight-train loud and the housekeeping was spotty. The fitness center is the worst of all the Armed Forces vacation hotels. For comparison sake, this place feels like an old Ramada Inn. I know the military does a better job in Korea and Hawaii and Germany, why not in Orlando?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just returned from a trip there, and it was great! We had the family suite that was large enough to sleep 8. The bed in the separate room was very comfortable, but the murphy bed was not comfortable at all. The sofa beds had great mattresses on them, though. I would highly reccommend this hotel to others. It is very close to the monorail system on Disney, and they have a shuttle that takes you to any park. The military discount to Disney is great, and now there is a great military rate to Universal. The military member gets 3 free days in any park at Universal.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the south wing, it is closer to the parking garage, and has a great view of the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited DisneyWorld in April of 2012. Hotel had some special prices at the moment and no other hotel could offer anything even close to the price of Shades of Green. The monorail was just a quick walk away and bus service was very convenient too. The rooms or hotel didn't have anything Disney themed (except a big Mickey in the lobby) but we had enough of that in the parks. We purchased the meal plan and kids liked eating at the hotel. We had very friendly staff. Thank you, Erica, for always being so friendly to my kids. I liked the fact that we had little fridge in the room since my two year old needed his milk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night as we attended the Wine & Food Festival. Our room was spacious & clean. Had a flat screen tv, fridge, nice outside sitting area for our room (first floor), enough lighting in our room, comfortable beds & pillows, & a ceiling fan. The bathroom was spacious too--double sinks with large counter top (that's important to me), lighted magnifying makeup mirror on wall, & plenty of plush towels. The hotel grounds are well kept. Looking forward to future stays as we now live in Florida.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

As others have said,the prices and amenities of Shades of Green can be beaten elsewhere- but not on Disney property itself. If you value being near the monorail, having access to early and late hours at the park, good bus service, covered parking, and security, this is the place for you. As far as walking , go look at the Polynesian. It's a lot farther from their outlying buildings to the lobby or your car.
I stayed at Shades the last week in October when there were lots of activities for children- trick or treating, face painting, a balloon man- Plus the children's buffet at breakfast and dinner.There was a pumpkin decorating contest in the lobby. Pumpkins were decorated by the various staff departments and the public voted for their favorites My sister who was visiting me, liked the pumpkins so much she came back another day and voted again..My room was clean; the towels new; and there was a small refrigerator. I pre-ordered my tickets for the parks and they were waiting for me at the desk when I arrived. I do wish they had real soap and shampoo and that the lighting in the bathroom was better.I really liked the breakfast buffet. I have stayed at this hotel many times and always felt safe and enjoyed it. As far as the cost, they often have specials including the breakfast buffet for less than the usual price of a room. The room charge also varies according to the service member's rank.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 329 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walt Disney World Resort
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades of Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Green Hotel

Address: 1950 W. Magnolia Palm Dr., ** Military / DoD only ** (see Details tab on this page), Orlando, FL 32830-2789
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 586
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shades of Green Resort is a military-owned resort within Walt Disney World and is exclusively for military guests and their families. Information on eligibility and reservations can be found on the Shades of Green website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shades Of Green Resort Disney World
Shades Of Green Resort Walt Disney World
Shades Of Green Resort Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shades of Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.