We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #170 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

If you are looking for a good value hotel close to Universal then stay here. The hotel is currently being renovated and as a a result we were in a one bedroomed suite which was clean spacious and had everything we needed for our 2 night stay.
The reception staff were very helpful as we turned up very early and our room was not ready which we expected so they stored our luggage in a secure room to allow us to go and spend the day at Universal and come back to check in. On returning they remembered us and checked us in quickly.

The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to Universal studios and although it is across a large highway there is a pedestrian crossing so it is not difficult to get across. In all honesty it takes almost as long to walk from the far end of the car park in Universal as it does from the hotel!!

All in all the hotel is great value for money and is as close as you will get to Universal without staying in one of the resort hotels which will be far more expensive.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    424
    204
    68
    71
See reviews for
450
247
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wynantskill, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We returned yesterday from a week long stay at the Holiday Inn Universal. Yes, the place is older but are undergoing a billion dollar renovation - inside and out. The staff could not have been more helpful. We had a suite which was cleaned thoroughly every day. The beds are comfy and the bedrooms are quiet, I never heard anything from the hallway or from outside. This is the place to stay for Universal and I can't wait to go back next year to see the renovations!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel is within walking distance to Universal Studios, but it's a LONG walk.
There is 1 bus in the morning going to Universal and 1 returning, catch it, it's better than walking. A taxi is a good option at $7.
The whole feeling of this hotel is DO NOT expect to be pampered.
If your goal is to spend the day at Universal and you just need a place to crash, this place is fine. The hotel is well worn. There is a very mediocore TGIF restaurant attached.
Not recommended for people with small children.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

I am not a hotel snob. I will stay at a 3 star hotel if it is clean. Honestly a clean room is always my main concern because I spend very little time in the room except to sleep and shower. Before I unpack I do a check of the room that I learned watching one of the news programs. I first check the bed by pulling back the blankets and sheets and check the folds of the mattress (I even do this in 4 & 5 star hotels). When I walked into this room it looked clean but when I lifted the fold of the mattress can you guess what I saw!!?!?! Two bed bugs just waiting for me to lay down so that they could begin their feast. Needless to say I went to the front desk let them know that my room was already occupied and that I would be leaving. The night manager was very apologetic, but he was not as surprised as I would have liked him to have been. My husband even brought one of the little critters down in a plastic cup. So if you don't mind sharing your room with icky bloodsuckers that may decide to hitch a ride home then this may be the hotel with you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

...and that's about it! the staff was nice, but the place itself is a dump! when we first arrived we were welcomed to sinks, photos, pipes, and other random things scattered about on the lawn. it looked like a yard sale that someone took a metal bat too. so after that i wasn't expecting anything special. our room had the view of a back-lot. and the curtains are incapable of closing, so be prepared to rise with the sun! the table in the room was set, but they left dirty dishes in the dishwasher. we got this room because not only can you literally walk to the park, but it said that they had a kitchen. HOWEVER, the stove tops don't work because they decided not to make them functional. why? it's a mystery that the staff doesn't even know about. the room we had was pretty big and spacious. 2 beds a living room/bathroom/wash area. the sink in our vanity was not only falling out of the countertop, but it was clogged since the day we got there, and we kept asking for them to fix it. ....that never happened. needless to say when we left it didn't drain at all! last, but not least (i'm sparing your time by not telling you everything that happened) there were multipul trays of leftover food from applebees that someone didn't want to finish, just chillin out in the hallway, waiting 5 days for someone to pick up. yup. ...it was nice being so close to the park. so we didn't have to pay for parking. and that's really the only thing positive i can say about it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

When I read the reviews I was afraid because I had already made my reservation to this hotel. But we were very happy with our room. Our reservation was for a room with two double beds (for 4 persons) and we had the surprise to have a kitchenette (fridge, dishwasher, table) and a sofa. We had plenty of place and it was clean. And it is easy to walk to universal studios, it took 10-15 minutes. (but they have shuttle if you want)
We had a great time :)

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I think that some of the previous reviews of this hotel do it a major injustice. Granted, it is not the newest hotel in the area, nor is it the most luxurious, but it does have some excellent advantages:
1. Location
Situated right at at the entrance to Universal Sudios and an easy walk of about 10 minutes to both parks. The property also has a TGI Fridays on site and is roughly 2 minutes in the car from the heart of International Drive.
2. Price
Excellent rates and far cheaper than many similar standard hotels in the area.
3. Rooms
Not the most modern, but extremely spacious and with all the required extras. We had a 1 bed suite, and this included a small kitchen, microwave, fridge and 2 TVs.
4. Staff
Very friendly and helpful. There is also a Universal Studios desk in the hotel selling park tickets and a car hire desk (I think it was Budget).
Overall the hotel "does what it says on the tin". If your looking for a cheap, clean and spacious hotel right next door to Universal then choose this one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#145 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Sea World and Wet n' Wild. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando, Sea World and Wet n' Wild. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.