We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable lodging in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista to your Saves list
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8800 Vistana Centre Drive, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #51 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable lodging in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days in this resort, but didn't spend much time on-site, instead taking advantage of its great location mins from Disney etc. Our 2-bed apartment in the Palms area was comfortably furnished, and the bathrooms were very good. It was a bit overwhelmed by the very dark furniture and was therefore a bit gloomy. I was concerned by the location close to the very busy main road, but we didn't hear any traffic noise and the view onto the lake was nice. Cleaning service was good, grounds immaculate and the market place store convenient but very pricey. We didn't think much of the on-site eating options but there are good places nearby. Pools were very good and the fitness room very quiet! We ignored the daily call inviting us to a timeshare sales breakfast ( they leave messages, but don't call, which is a plus).

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It is indeed a delight to read about your positive and encouraging vacation experience at the Sheraton.

We are glad you chose the Sheraton to spend your vacation time and appreciated all the kind comments for our landscaping crew, our helpful service team and the cleanliness of your accommodation. Your feedback is valuable and will be shared with pride.

Thanks for recommending the Sheraton to others, we are looking forward to host you again soon.
Best Wishes

Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,076
    1,315
    388
    186
    127
See reviews for
2,551
414
23
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Overall my family had a great time. The resort is very nice and the room was also upgraded and up to date. However, the mattress was too hard and the furniture was a bit dusty. We got a 2 bedroom which was perfect for my family of 4. The master had plenty of room, my son slept in a crib in the other bedroom, and my daughter slept on the couch bed which she loves. Our room was in the Palms area which was a long walk away from the nearest pool.
The hotel provides a free shuttle to the Epcot park. The times aren't the greatest but hey it's free.
Overall the room was really good but the service really lacked. From the moment you walk into the lobby, you don't know which side to go to check in. Then, each side has two different types of employees. The ones that can check you in and the ones that are trying to get you to come to their 90 minutes timeshare presentation.
We had asked twice for a crib and high chair, I called a day before and at check in. About an hour and a half after we checked in there was still no crib and high chair in our room. I had to call again and the rep told me there was no request made. finally they brought it.
We went to Disney world everyday but one. That day we decided to hang out by the pools. We got to the Falls pool, which has a tiny kids pool and and cool water slide for kids ages 5+. They were out of towels. We asked the bartender to call for towels which he said he did. After 45 minutes I decided to walk to another pool close by and pick up towels from there. We also ordered food from the house phone at the pool. Only to find out that I had to drive over to the restaurant to pick up the food myself! BTW-the boneless chicken wings are not that good. At that point we decided to go check out another pool. We went to the cascades pool which was actually really nice. They have a great kid friendly pool area. No slide though but a bunch of water fountains which my daughter loved. The last part of the service we didn't like was the housekeeping. We are from the west coast so we were waking up around 10 AM which was 7 AM our time. Housekeeping would always knock around that time waking us up. Two days we told them to comeback later which they never did. Finally the 3rd day we told them we didn't want service and we got a call from housekeeping. We told them to comeback later which they finally did that day.
I wasn't asking for anything out of the ordinary or extravagant, just what you would expect from a resort especially of Sheraton's caliber. However I was very disappointed when it came to their service.
Would I stay here again-I guess I would, hoping the service would be better. We really did like the room, however
I would look at other hotel options first.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your vacation experience with the Trip Advisor Portal
We are delighted to learn that you and your family were comfortable in your Palms Villa.

Our mission is to exceed your expectations by offering you unparallel service, and a safe and comfortable accommodation.
We are sorry to learn that our service fell short this time, but want to assure you – it will be improved on your next visit.

Your comments were already escalated to the respective Management Team for awareness and needed focus.
Please know that we extend our apologies for any inconvenience, it is not our intent.

May I encourage you to please give our staff an opportunity to rectify any/all situations while you are our guests.
Mattress can always be exchanged for your comfort, just make that call to our Guest Services team.
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton, we look forward to welcome you again soon.
Best Wishes,

Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My family stayed for 3 weeks! The service given was outstanding. All staff said good morning, good evening as you walked past them! The apartment we were in was a little older then the ones we had seen so we asked to be moved and we were moved into the cascades which were much more updated however slightly smaller! But the move was done very quickly and we was greatful for the advice given. The views from the balcony were beautiful. The grounds are superb and the pools are always clean and pool towels daily! They offer massages by the pool and hair braiding for girls even though this is very expensive! The only issue i would point out is that the drinks at the bar are fairly pricey, and you would think they would be slightly cheaper to gain more customers at the bar in the evening! As guests can go else where for cheaper evening drinks which is a shame as its nice to stay at your resort at the end of the night! Beautiful stay, couldnt of asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It is our pleasure to ensure you are safe and comfortable and we are so glad you found our caring staff to be mannerly and attentive. Our mission at the Sheraton is to ensure all guests are welcomed and respected with our gracious hospitality.

Your comments are valuable and appreciated. The Management Team takes pride in sharing these awesome accolades with the staff. Your opinion expressed were escalated for consideration.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon to another “Beautiful Stay”.

Warmest Wishes

Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Set in 125 acres but split up into smaller communities it is a wonderful complex! There are good and bad points but if you ignore the bad...constant sales calls, checkin counter sales talk, food at Zimmies bar, everything else is wonderful. The Tacky tiki bar plays music all day and night and has a fun vibe and also does lovely food with great service. Its worth buying the refillable soft drinks bottle as then refills are only $1plusr the 'pint' glass to get a decent sized alcoholic drink. The pool at fountain gate is warm and has a great family atmosphere and waterfall. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable (we stayed in a two bedroom in fountain gate), 5 min drive to Disney, 192 or international drive. The complex is secure with barrier entry only via room key card. The Market shop is good for those missed essentials, plus a Starbucks to get you going in the mornings. We are rebooking for next year and will be ignoring all voice messages for the sales meetings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for choosing the Sheraton Vistana Resort, a 130 acres complex with 9 Phases of different floor plans.
We are pleased that you are planning to return to the Sheraton and we can assure you, we will improve our menu at Zimmies Bar. Thanks for the kind comments on the Tacki Tiki Bar, which was recently re-opened for your enjoyment and pleasure.

Stay well, and we look forward to welcome you home again soon.
Best Wishes

Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
29576
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just returned from 7 nights at the Sheraton Vistana Resort, Cascades section. We own time share there and go every other year. The resort is great although I would like to see a more upscale restaurant on site. For the first time we were disappointed in the cleanliness of our unit - sticky spots on kitchen floors and counters, dusting needs improvement. Also, the furnishings and carpets are beginning to show their age. Overall, the stay was very enjoyable with only a few annoyances that didn't exist here during former visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Your comments and suggestions have been noted for improvement.
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable opinions.

It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to meet your expectations on your next visit.

Please remember to tell our staff if you are displeased with your villa maintenance and cleanliness. We are however pleased to learn that you enjoyed your vacation at the Sheraton .


Best Wishes,

Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just finished a 5 night stay at the Sheraton Vistana. Stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the Palms section.

Pros:
Clean, spacious and renovated units.
Huge resort with 7 pools and tons of tennis courts.
Close to Disney.
Close to shopping, dining and grocery stores.
Staff onsite were very helpful and nice.
Very minimal timeshare sell, and no calls to rooms - all calls were messages only which was greatly appreciated.
Pool area in the Springs was nice and quiet.
Great screened in balcony facing lake and fountain.
Free internet, with no connectivity problems.

Cons:
Asked to be assigned a unit close to a pool, instead was assigned a unit in one of the only areas without a pool. (was a RCI trade if that had anything to do with it)
Beds were extremely uncomfortable. Really uncomfortable.
Unit was very close to 535 (main road) and guests staying in 2nd bedroom complained of noise from road.
Toilets are very loud - you can hear them flushing throughout the whole building.
Poor sound isolation between units.

All in all, this was an OK stay. Clean, renovated and convenient. Now that I have a better idea of the resort, I would make a much more detailed request for location next time. I would consider staying again, however, will try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the middle of the resort to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Sheraton Vistana Resort to spend your vacation. We appreciate your candid feedback with the pros/cons.

We can assure you, this experience with all the CONS can be improved on your next visit.
We are glad to learn that you appreciated the spacious/renovated unit with modern amenities.. Sorry about the uncomfortable mattress.
In the future, please let our staff be aware in the event you are uncomfortable with your mattress.

Your comments are valuable and were already escalated for needed improvement and awareness.
With 7 heated pools nestled amongst 1682 villas, oftentimes it’s a challenge when everyone wants to be located by a pool. Please let our staff oversee your villa accommodations.

Warmest Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotels grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very nice and spacious, and the location is perfect for Disney. However, upon check-in, the hotel staff sends you to talk to a vacation services sales representative before leaving the check-in counter. These people want you to attend a breakfast so they can haggle you into buying a timeshare. We have traveled all around the world and have stayed at numerous resorts in the past and we knew that we did not want any part of this vacation service. After repeatedly saying no thank you to this guy, and giving plentiful of honest reasons as to why we did not want to attend this breakfast, he would not take no for an answer. He starting calling us names, criticizing us and was the rudest and most obnoxious person we have ever encountered in all of our travels around the world. This was the worst possible start to our vacation and when we called the Sheraton hotline after check-in to voice our complaint, neither did Sheraton headquarters or the hotel staff do anything to make our experience better. Not one person at this hotel gave us a positive experience, never again.

Also, for being such a family resort, the vistana does not give away any freebies. Upon entering the lobby, there is a scent of fresh popcorn being made but at a cost of $2 each. Then you head to pool and bingo is being played at $5 a game and all different art & crafts and family activites are going on but at a fee of $10 or $20. So get ready to pay the high ticket prices of Disney as well as the activites at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
das51, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sheraton.
We are very, very sorry to learn that our staff was less than pleasant to you during your check in experience.
This is not our typical WELCOME experience we offer at the Sheraton. Please know we are very disappointed to learn about the over zealous team member.

Please rest assured, your comments were shared with the Marketing Director for awareness and improvement on our welcome process.

Please contact our Management Team at svrgm@starwoodvo.com to share some additional information about your experience.
Again, please accept our humble apologies for this isolated experience, it was definitely not our intent. While there is a small fee for certain activities, most of them are free of charge as stated in the Weekly Activities Guide.
We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully under brighter circumstances.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista

Address: 8800 Vistana Centre Drive, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#38 Family Hotel in Orlando
#43 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#101 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each villa features Sheraton amenities and special touches, like bathrooms with whirlpool tubs and screened-in patios or balconies. Close to theme parks, exceptional golf and world-famous beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Orlando
Sheraton Vistana Orlando
Vistana Resort Orlando
Sheraton Vistana Resort Lake Buena Vista
Sheraton Vistana Resort Florida
Sheraton Vistana Resort Orlando Florida
Orlando Sheraton
Sheraton Vistana Florida
Sheratons Vistana Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.