We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #141 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersGold level
Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here for 10 nights in January. On arrival I was impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of the check in staff. The hotel lobby was roomy, bright and modern and there was the opportunity for advice on Disney visits if you wanted it and tickets for sale.

The rooms are well set out round the grounds with good access for parking at the room nearest your door. Room staff very friendly.

I had a beautiful very spacious comfortable room with all I could have wanted in it. The room and bathroom were modern and decorated to a high standard. Seating area was comfortable and there was a large desk conducive to good working. The two queen beds were very comfortable. My only comment there would be small square pillows were to not too comfy. Bedroom areas were very quiet both in the corridors and outside rooms.

The pool area was good and the water lovely and warm. There appeared to be arranged activities for the children and young people. Pool towels were available.

Amenities in the hotel were excellent - business center with a printer, laundry facilities, shuttle service to parks, free wifi in the room, safe in the room. iron and ironing board, fridge and micro wave in the room, pool. hot tub and a well stocked shop in the hotel.

It was great having Applebees adjoining the hotel and several other good restuarants within walking distance.

All in all an excellent place to stay and I hope to be back in April.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    369
    144
    54
    45
See reviews for
507
175
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here in late January 2013 and loved the large, spacious room, comfortable beds, quiet hallways and friendly staff. There is a $14/day resort fee added to your bill -- surprise! -- but it was too cold to use the pools. I did use the fitness center one morning. It was adequate but there were no window coverings (i.e., blinds, curtains) so the sun coming in through the windows was very uncomfortable. Our only complaint was that it was not easy to get in and out of the resort because of the traffic on 535. Of course, that's not the fault of the hotel. We would definitely stay here again if we got another good price. I have one suggestion for the hotel: Please make it easier for guests who must elevate the head of the bed for health reasons. My husband carries risers just for this purpose, but when the hotel bed is on a platform it is nearly impossible to use them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel were away from the road noise from busy 535.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nicest Holiday Inn ever. Great updates. Beautiful heated pool. Loved the Tiki Bar & getting Applebee's poolside. Thanks Christine at the bar. Dan & Daniel led fun hourly activities for the kids poolside, so adults could relax - bonus, this service was free - super surprise! Mini-mart gift shop was helpful. Fun kids movie theater off lobby. Front desk staff superior service - sorry I didn't catch names...
We were on top 5th floor, which may have helped to reduce noise during this busy stay weekend...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I arrived and saw the sign valet parking 12 per day, I choose to self park. MY confirmation stated 12.oo valet per day so I figured no 12 per day charge. I asked what the 12 charge was on my bill and the agent said for the amenities I asked what amenities, no coffee in lobby no bfst, you can go to apple bee's and buy buffet for 12.00. The agent replied for self parking, that is to funny. I asked for a foam topper for my bed as it was hard and lumpy, no pad, the next day I asked again, and they gave am a mattress topper, one bed in my room had a 3 inch foam and mine was again hard and lumpy, honestly I got tired of asking. I stay at both Holiday Inns for business last week in the area and they were both great! and NO 12 fee to self park. will not stay again, very poor service . The hotel is worn once you pass the lobby

Room Tip: why do you ask about the bfst when you dont offer one, its at apple bees and they clearly define the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Pagrif,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay. The hotel apologizes that we were not able to meet your needs on the mattress comfort level. I have sent an e-mail to you to find out the room type you were in to be able to better address the mattress issue. The hotel is a full service hotel and does not provide a continental breakfast in the lobby or coffee as one would find at a Holiday Inn Express but the Applebee's does serve the full Holiday Inn Breakfast menu with a much wider seelection as well as their buffett breakfast.

Once again thank you for your time and comment and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista while enjoying a dad and son golf holiday. We also took in a couple of Disney Parks, along with Downtown Disney. There were only two of us, me and my then 8 year old son. We loved the pool area, my son met several kids his own age and had a great time playing. When we arrived they made him feel special and welcomed with tokens for the small but fun arcade on site. The room was quite spacious and featured the usual things one comes in expect in a 3 star hotel. The location was ideal, we had several day trips to golf or to a Disney Park and there were lots of dining options close by. There is also a couple of mini putt parks nearby which came in handy. Overall we were pleased with the location, accommodations and staff. Our only real let down was the Applebees on site, kids eat free which was nice however while the location was great, the food and service was not up to the usual standards of the chain. We often waited over 30 minutes for breakfast when there were only a small handful of guests in the restaurant. We found it easier and quicker to hop in the car and hit any one of a dozen other options nearby for breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This area makes the travel to and from the parks very easy. While I was worried about other reviews complaining about the traffic, it was not bad enough to complain about. The room was clean and very comfortable. This is NOT a resort as claimed to be, but I don't get to define the word and they collect another $13 for free wifi and parking. Housekeeping forgot to restock soap and shampoo, quickly delivered to the room even at 1am. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rack rates are high, check Priceline for a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My s/o and I decided to take an impromptu overnight trip with our two little ones (3 and 2.) I booked a hotel, blindly, on hotwire.com for an AMAZING rate ($57) and this was the hotel given to me upon booking. We had spent the day at Sea World, so didn't arrive to the hotel till around 7pm. Check in was a QUICK breeze and Heather and Doris were very friendly!! Great smiles!! Our room was #153. When I enter a hotel room, the FIRST thing I do is get the A/C crankin'. Well, the A/C in our room didn't work. It is a wall unit controlled by a thermostat on the wall. The thermostat wouldn't even turn on. I called the front desk and maintenance came rather quickly (within 15 to 20 mins.) Priscilla even called the room twice to see if maintenance had arrived yet. Unfortunately, the very nice maintenance man wasn't able to fix the A/C. Almost INSTANTLY security was at our door with two brand new keys to a brand new room that was right next door (#154). I was VERY satisfied with how this matter was handled and the A/C in our new room worked wonderfully!! Our girls were pretty hungry from a day at the park so we decided just to eat at the Applebee's on grounds. Kids eat free DAY AND NIGHT!! Service was great!! Casey was our waiter and he had a smile throughout the entire service, even when my 2-year-old started to get cranky and overtired!! He was very patient! Food was good and kitchen time was quick!! The ONLY minor "complaint" I have is that the beds are VERY uncomfortable. They are VERY firm. Now, this is only MY opinion and someone else might enjoy a very firm mattress. I am 7 months pregnant and just couldn't get comfortable!! Overall though, we were very pleased and had a good time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Address: 13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Orlando
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#104 Business Hotel in Orlando
#133 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#136 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Holiday Inn Resort® Lake Buena Vista, you are so close to the entrance to Walt Disney World® Resort, you can almost feel the Magic! This official Disney Good Neighbor hotel is fresh from a multi-million dollar makeover, making it perfect for your visit to the Walt Disney World® area. Take advantage of scheduled shuttles to the Disney parks, Sea World®, Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Orlando Premium Outlets shopping and the Orange County Convention Center! After a busy day, come back to spacious, generously-appointed accommodations. Choose King or Queen-size bedding with 37" HDTV televisions, high-speed Internet, refrigerator, microwave, granite top vanities and upgraded bath amenities. Families love our KidSuites, a room-within-a-room that lets kids enjoy their own space within their parents room. Relax at the expansive, tropically-landscaped outdoor sundeck with plenty of lounge chairs, oversize heated pool, Splash Pad and two whirlpool spas! There is plenty to do onsite including outdoor pool tables, playground, basketball court, ping pong, fitness center and an arcade/game room. PLUS - a Daily Scheduled Activities and Movies program for kids and adults! Enjoy great dining at Applebees® located onsite, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pinkys Market Place and Gift Shop is in the hotel lobby. Free high speed internet access helps you stay connected, and on-site meeting rooms are available for special events. Explore the Lake Buena Vista and Downtown Disney area’s plentiful dining, shopping, nightly entertainment and picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Sunspree Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.