We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service not a resort” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #138 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“poor service not a resort”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I arrived and saw the sign valet parking 12 per day, I choose to self park. MY confirmation stated 12.oo valet per day so I figured no 12 per day charge. I asked what the 12 charge was on my bill and the agent said for the amenities I asked what amenities, no coffee in lobby no bfst, you can go to apple bee's and buy buffet for 12.00. The agent replied for self parking, that is to funny. I asked for a foam topper for my bed as it was hard and lumpy, no pad, the next day I asked again, and they gave am a mattress topper, one bed in my room had a 3 inch foam and mine was again hard and lumpy, honestly I got tired of asking. I stay at both Holiday Inns for business last week in the area and they were both great! and NO 12 fee to self park. will not stay again, very poor service . The hotel is worn once you pass the lobby

Room Tip: why do you ask about the bfst when you dont offer one, its at apple bees and they clearly define the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Pagrif,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay. The hotel apologizes that we were not able to meet your needs on the mattress comfort level. I have sent an e-mail to you to find out the room type you were in to be able to better address the mattress issue. The hotel is a full service hotel and does not provide a continental breakfast in the lobby or coffee as one would find at a Holiday Inn Express but the Applebee's does serve the full Holiday Inn Breakfast menu with a much wider seelection as well as their buffett breakfast.

Once again thank you for your time and comment and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    371
    144
    55
    45
See reviews for
511
175
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista while enjoying a dad and son golf holiday. We also took in a couple of Disney Parks, along with Downtown Disney. There were only two of us, me and my then 8 year old son. We loved the pool area, my son met several kids his own age and had a great time playing. When we arrived they made him feel special and welcomed with tokens for the small but fun arcade on site. The room was quite spacious and featured the usual things one comes in expect in a 3 star hotel. The location was ideal, we had several day trips to golf or to a Disney Park and there were lots of dining options close by. There is also a couple of mini putt parks nearby which came in handy. Overall we were pleased with the location, accommodations and staff. Our only real let down was the Applebees on site, kids eat free which was nice however while the location was great, the food and service was not up to the usual standards of the chain. We often waited over 30 minutes for breakfast when there were only a small handful of guests in the restaurant. We found it easier and quicker to hop in the car and hit any one of a dozen other options nearby for breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This area makes the travel to and from the parks very easy. While I was worried about other reviews complaining about the traffic, it was not bad enough to complain about. The room was clean and very comfortable. This is NOT a resort as claimed to be, but I don't get to define the word and they collect another $13 for free wifi and parking. Housekeeping forgot to restock soap and shampoo, quickly delivered to the room even at 1am. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rack rates are high, check Priceline for a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My s/o and I decided to take an impromptu overnight trip with our two little ones (3 and 2.) I booked a hotel, blindly, on hotwire.com for an AMAZING rate ($57) and this was the hotel given to me upon booking. We had spent the day at Sea World, so didn't arrive to the hotel till around 7pm. Check in was a QUICK breeze and Heather and Doris were very friendly!! Great smiles!! Our room was #153. When I enter a hotel room, the FIRST thing I do is get the A/C crankin'. Well, the A/C in our room didn't work. It is a wall unit controlled by a thermostat on the wall. The thermostat wouldn't even turn on. I called the front desk and maintenance came rather quickly (within 15 to 20 mins.) Priscilla even called the room twice to see if maintenance had arrived yet. Unfortunately, the very nice maintenance man wasn't able to fix the A/C. Almost INSTANTLY security was at our door with two brand new keys to a brand new room that was right next door (#154). I was VERY satisfied with how this matter was handled and the A/C in our new room worked wonderfully!! Our girls were pretty hungry from a day at the park so we decided just to eat at the Applebee's on grounds. Kids eat free DAY AND NIGHT!! Service was great!! Casey was our waiter and he had a smile throughout the entire service, even when my 2-year-old started to get cranky and overtired!! He was very patient! Food was good and kitchen time was quick!! The ONLY minor "complaint" I have is that the beds are VERY uncomfortable. They are VERY firm. Now, this is only MY opinion and someone else might enjoy a very firm mattress. I am 7 months pregnant and just couldn't get comfortable!! Overall though, we were very pleased and had a good time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

1st time at the Holiday Inn. The overall hotel was nice (but I wouldn't call it a resort). The hotel charges a resort fee of 13.95 a day to cover Shuttle fees to various parks, Even if you don't use the shuttles you get charged. They should just raise the room fee because they charge you the fee no matter what. Otherwise the hotel is very clean and quiet and the ladies at the guest services counter were very kind and helpful. The pool area is very large and nice for relaxing.The location is great to Universal parks and DIsney parks. Just 15 minutes to Disney and 10 minutes to Universal. Very easy access to highways and many dinning areas close by. They only down side was the resort fee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Johnfromhermitage,

Thank you for great comments about the resort and your thoughts on the resort fee! We do apologize that your impression was that the fee was only for the shuttle to the parks. The resort fee also covers items like free local phone calls, the safe in the room, free printing in the 24 hour business center, the kids movie theatre and the family favorite of supervised activities at the pool! We will soon be starting our Dive Inn movies as the weather continues to warm up and have even more fun and entertainment to be had poolside.

Thank you again for your honest thoughts and if I can be of any assistance please feel free to contact me at kdinatale@hiresortlbv.com

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our second trip to this holiday inn. Our last trip was in 2007. The hotel has been completely renovated since then and is remarkably nicer. The restaurant is open late which is nice for those staying late at the parks. We stayed in the double bunk room and my adult sized teenager slept comfortably in one of the twin bunks. The king sized bed was a bit firm, but after walking around all day that was helpful. Guest services do not guarantee early check in but they did get us checked in early and put us in a room with a nice view of the pool. This is an alright place to stay and was comfortable for a large family on a budget. Only issue we had was with the kids TV. They were some how connected and the kids kept losing their channel when the other TV went under a certain number.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location to access the parks -- right off Interstate 4. Easy walk to 7-11, Wendy's, and of course Appleby's is attached to the hotel. 5 of us stayed in a suite with two sets of bunk beds. All of the families from our soccer team were put together. The rooms were clean and very solid. The pool is partially heated with two hot tubs. It's a huge pool and worked well. The arcade room's games are dated and the theatre is a little disappointing. The wait staff is great, the food is the restaurant was fair though the service was spotty. All is all, we had a positive experience and the kids had a blast.

The main complaint is that all of our clothes has a horrible musty, mildew smell when we got home -- we didn't notice it so much when we there although my son seemed allergic to something in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Julian1092,

Thank you for your feedback of our hotel. I am happy to know that you found our location to be suitable for your needs. Despite this, I am sorry to know that you were inconvenienced with the experience with our room accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again, many thanks for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Address: 13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Orlando
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#104 Business Hotel in Orlando
#131 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#135 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Holiday Inn Resort® Lake Buena Vista, you are so close to the entrance to Walt Disney World® Resort, you can almost feel the Magic! This official Disney Good Neighbor hotel is fresh from a multi-million dollar makeover, making it perfect for your visit to the Walt Disney World® area. Take advantage of scheduled shuttles to the Disney parks, Sea World®, Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Orlando Premium Outlets shopping and the Orange County Convention Center! After a busy day, come back to spacious, generously-appointed accommodations. Choose King or Queen-size bedding with 37" HDTV televisions, high-speed Internet, refrigerator, microwave, granite top vanities and upgraded bath amenities. Families love our KidSuites, a room-within-a-room that lets kids enjoy their own space within their parents room. Relax at the expansive, tropically-landscaped outdoor sundeck with plenty of lounge chairs, oversize heated pool, Splash Pad and two whirlpool spas! There is plenty to do onsite including outdoor pool tables, playground, basketball court, ping pong, fitness center and an arcade/game room. PLUS - a Daily Scheduled Activities and Movies program for kids and adults! Enjoy great dining at Applebees® located onsite, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pinkys Market Place and Gift Shop is in the hotel lobby. Free high speed internet access helps you stay connected, and on-site meeting rooms are available for special events. Explore the Lake Buena Vista and Downtown Disney area’s plentiful dining, shopping, nightly entertainment and picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Sunspree Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.