We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's All-Star Movies

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's All-Star Movies to your Saves list
Disney's All-Star Movies
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1901 West Buena Vista Drive Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Enough!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have previously stayed at Disney's Moderate properties, to save money on this recent trip we decided to stay at a Value resort since we knew we would not be spending much time at the hotel but rather the parks.
Overall the property was clean and well kept, everyone was really nice, the rooms were clean we had slight issues with the AC the first day, but just leave it alone and works well rather than messing with it. The outlets in the room did suck, nothing I plugged in wanted to stay in the outlet, they always slid out a little.
We stayed in the dalmation bulilding which is a preferred room which comes at an extra cost, but on this trip they upgraded up for free since we arrived early and a room in that building was ready. This building is close to the Fantasia pool (main pool), main building and food court (invest in the resort cups for free refills, comes in handy for powerade to hydrate and not breaking the bank at 3 dollars a bottle throughout the parks), also close to the bus lines.
The thing about the values is that the buses are usually commonly shared between all star resorts, there are lines all out front of the building in the sun, no shade what so ever and you wait in line for your buses to come. This is the number one con for me, at Port Orleans where we stayed before buses come to depots around the resort where everyone wait togethers, not in a line of any sort, for the bus of their choice to stop by all while waiting in the shade, This is not the case at the allstars, I would pay the extra money to not have to wait for the buses in lines in the sun.

Other than the line issues, this resort served us well. But it you don't want to stand in the beaming sun for upwards of 30 minutes sometimes longer, pay the extra money and stay at a moderate. Sometimes buses came quicky, sometimes we waited forever, but the time to travel to all parks and areas was not bad at all.

Overall this is great place to stay to save money, but if you get irritated by waiting in lines in the hot sun for buses, along with the waiting in lines in the sun at the parks all in a days work, stay at a moderate.

Room Tip: If you don't want a far walk each day to buses and to and from main building, try for a preferre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    1,415
    606
    242
    147
See reviews for
2,213
446
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We found this hotel to be highly overpriced. This place is a motel with hotel type prices, the room was small and the air conditioner did not work very well, the room was very uncomfortable. The one positive is that is is on Disney property and you get to use the Disney buses.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Decided to stay two nights after our fantastic Disney Cruise since our flight back home wasn't until Monday. Clean room but below what I am used to when staying at Disney. Normally I stay at a moderate hotel but these hotels were designed with family in mind and saving them money. I can never say anything negative about the staff at any of their locations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We went on our honeymoon looking for a hotel that was inside Disney and didn't have to travel far to get to the parks.
Pros: Disney has a great transportation
Service for their guests, never had to wait that long for the transportation to and from the parks. They also have transportation from and to Orlando international airport, the magical express... Great! They can even get your bags for you and deliver them to your room. Way to go in relieving you from that!
The rooms are not that big, but enough for someone who is jut staying their to sleep.
There is a laundry room, pool, and restaurants.
Wifi connection is great almost everywhere
Buy the refillable mug if you are a thirsty person! Soft drinks are expensive if you add everything you drink in the day.
If you buy in the parks they deliver your things to the hotel without having to drag the bags all day, great service!

Cons: the shower is in the same level as the toilet floor, kinda yucky if you ask me.
No business centre, so if you need Internet, wifi is al you get, not very good if you have to print some thing.
If you don't buy dinner plans when you buy the trip you can't get them when you re already there... Advice... Buy them, food is pretty expensive and you drink a lot of water in hot months. There's a mug that you can buy in the hotel for about 15 dollars, but it is only refillable in the hotel and not good for the parks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My cousin got married at Disney World earlier this month and our family stayed here during the wedding. I would definitely NOT recommend this for adults without children, elderly adults, or anyone who expects to hang out and relax when they vacation.

This is a very ordinary motel (doors open to the outside) and similar to a Motel 6 or a Super 8, but painted and decorated in a Disney theme. The rooms are not tiny, but I had one with 2 queen beds and couldn't imagine a family of 4 staying in it. The room was clean and the air conditioning worked fine, but it was very ordinary. Simply a place to stay inside the park.

There is no coffee maker in the room and no microwave - just a small refrigerator - so there's no way to have coffee in the morning. I have to have a cup of coffee when my feet hit the floor, so I had a real problem with this. Plus, the coffee they had was instant.

There is no full-service restaurant, but there is a sort of cafeteria or food court in the main building where you can get an assortment of items (pizza, hamburgers, italian, etc). There's also a section with a number of coolers and areas where you can take items to go (salads, pastries, cereals, bottled drinks, etc). When we first got there, it was relatively quiet and not too crowded, but by the weekend it was packed with nowhere to sit and super loud with kids running around everywhere.

I find it hard to believe that this is really that great a value for anyone. I paid $150 a night and the park is so spread out, we had to take a bus everywhere we went (the lines weren't long, but the ride is pretty lengthy - 45 min to the Grand Floridian, 1/2 hour to Epcot, etc). If I were to go again, I would stay outside the park and rent a car.

My uncle came with us and he is elderly and uses a cane. This motel and Disney World in general is not set up for anyone who has a mobility issue. They have wheelchairs you can use while you're there (for free), but everything is so spread out - even the distance from the main lobby to our rooms (we stayed in Fantasia) was pretty far for someone who has trouble walking. Plus, it's really hard to get around on the buses and monorail with a wheelchair.

I know people raise their kids very differently now, but one thing that really bothered me is that most of the kids were running around unsupervised. I genuinely worried that they would knock my uncle over and he would get hurt or we would run one of them over with the wheelchair.

Finally, I was really disappointed by the customer service (at the motel and throughout Disney World). I spent years with various companies that really emphasized customer service and Disney was always held up as the sort of "gold standard." I don't know if my expectations were too high, but overall I found the service to be very ordinary and at times even indifferent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've only stayed at 4 Disney Resorts (but many other non-Disney resorts), and this is by far the worst one. It is clean, beds comfy, and the service is friendly, but for the price of one room, you could stay at another Disney Resort or get a suite at a non-Disney resort. It is over crowded because it is cheap, and the grounds are not as interesting as other Disney resorts. The pool does not have a slide. The food service is cafeteria style, and you feel like you're at school because it's crowded and loud. It just needs updating.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the pool! It will be too loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My family and I were there last April and was a great time. The hotel is very nice and the room was some small but very confortable. Transportation for the parks are available all the time.
If you can go to Walmart before to buy food for breakfast or dinner go ahead. Food is very expensive in the restaurants and in the parks. You should take the lunch only in the parks. The rooms has refrigerator but not microwave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's All-Star Movies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's All-Star Movies

Address: 1901 West Buena Vista Drive Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#105 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#127 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's All-Star Movies 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1920
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort is a Disney Value Resort hotel featuring giant icons that salute classic Disney films—including Disney·Pixar's Toy Story, Fantasia, The Love Bug, The Mighty Ducks and One Hundred and One Dalmatians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Disney's All-Star Movies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movies Resort
All Star Hotel Disney
Disney All Star Hotel
Disney Movie Resort
All Star Movie Resort Disney World
Disney All Star Movies Resort
Disney All Star Resort Orlando Florida
Disneys All Star Movie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's All-Star Movies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.